Chrysler Conquest Reviews from North America - Page 3 of 6

1988 Chrysler Conquest TSI 2.6 turbo

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.6 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carChrysler Conquest

Summary:

This car is totaly awesome, but like anything else has its share of problems

Faults:

When I first got the car, it had a melted exhaust valve and a cracked head. Not to mention a completely smoked clutch. But from what I've heard the heads are crap and the clutch is pretty much doomed after 100,000.

General Comments:

This is truly an amazing car. It handles like a dream, and for a 4 banger it's got some power. I've never felt comfortable in any of my other cars taking a sharp corner at 75 miles an hour, but in this I don't even worry about it; I just sit back and the car does the rest.

It is truly a modern day car from the 80's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2008

1989 Chrysler Conquest TSI 2.6 inline turbo

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.6 inline turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Fastest car I have ever owned

Faults:

Regular wear and tear for an older vehicle. When I purchased the car it was in pretty solid condition, though I did have to replace most all of the hoses and belts.

General Comments:

Great car. Very fast. It handles pretty well and will be a point of conversation. You will catch the unaware off guard and find Conquest and Starion fans everywhere. It is no lie to say that I had 4 or 5 serious offers from people to buy the car just while driving around or running choirs. For the money to purchase it is well worth it. Will out perform much more expensive vehicles.

Warning

This car is not for those who don't take care of their vehicles. It is not easy to service and harder to find someone who knows how. If you don't care for the car, it will soon be a fast looking Dodge Daytona.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2008

1987 Chrysler Conquest TSI 2.6L turbo-intercooled

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership1987
Engine and transmission 2.6L turbo-intercooled Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance32380 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

Out of this world FAST

Faults:

Someone liked it better than I did. It was stolen.

General Comments:

It was a rocket, right out of the showroom. Mine was all black.Outside-All windows tinted as dark as they could be-All black leather/carpets etc. My buddy bought a brand new Trans-Am GT that year and the little 2.6 smoked it. Litter-ally ran circles around it going down the highway. Fastest car I ever owned, and I've had some muscle cars in my day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2007

1989 Chrysler Conquest

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Summary:

Best looks, power, comfort, for 1/2 the price of anything close

Faults:

Over heated due to mechanics not putting hose back correctly after fixing turbo. Blew the head and bearings.

General Comments:

This car was awsome, I had an 83 84 and then the 89 inter-cooled. A blast to drive and look at. The cabin was like a space ship. I used to shoot from L.A. to Palm Springs with it being the highlight of the trip. I have yet to get the same thrill from my 911 other than the ego part. I wish I never sold her. They really messed up when they went with the ugly 3000 gt. They should have put a v6 turbo into the conquest in 1990 and could have sold MANY at $25000 the 89 new was only 18k.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th October, 2006

1987 Chrysler Conquest TSI 2.6 turbo

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.6 turbo Manual
Distance when acquired99236 miles
Most recent distance99250 miles
Previous carFord Mustand

Summary:

Ahead of it's time

Faults:

I would like to know, if anyone has had a problem like I have?

I cannot get anymore then 7 lbs of boost from my turbo. Don't have an answer, please help.

General Comments:

I love my conquest. Can't wait to get it working 100%.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2006

25th Apr 2006, 03:20

You have a boost controller (little black box) by your battery. It makes it only get seven pounds of boost.

13th Jun 2007, 00:05

Go to starquestclub.com and you should find out how to fix your 7lbs boost and a lot of other good stuff.

1988 Chrysler Conquest TSi 2.6 turbo

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.6 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired124094 miles
Most recent distance189120 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

If they still made it, I would buy one now!!

Faults:

Full leather interior is beginning to dry out, but under the circumstances it is in good condition.

The A/C clutch quit on me.

Tires wear exessively.

Power antenna is messing up.

Paint is terrible.

General Comments:

I adore this car like my own child.

This car hauls the mail like no other four-banger.

It isn't a luxury or comfort car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2005

1988 Chrysler Conquest TSi 2.6 turbo

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.6 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance117512 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Unique and fast

Faults:

The seat backs are torn from the seat belts rubbing against them, but that is expected after almost 20 years.

The fuel pump is starting to act up. Left me stranded 50 miles from home.

General Comments:

I bought my conquest with a few major upgrades on it. The previous owner had money, but didn't know much about cars. When it is running right it flat out be scary how fast that 4 banger can move a car that heavy.

The interior is very nicely laid out and real modern even to todays standards. Although the age is catching up with it. The leather on the front seats is getting hard from age. Also the foam itself in the seats is getting flat. 18 years is along time for seats and leather so I'm not really complaining. I just don't plan on taking another 4 hour trip in it until I get the seats redone.

The motor really is so easy to work on. I am currently rebuilding the motor on another conquest right now. Other cars out there share the same motor so parts are easy to find if you know where to look. When you first buy a conquest make sure you have all the filters replaced. There are 4 of them in the car. The on in the tank on mine basically fell apart from age and was sucked into the aftermarket high flow fuel pump destroying the pump.

Over all the conquest are so unique and fast it is worth buying just to see it in your driveway. I stopped counting the number of people that asked what the car was.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2005

8th Jun 2005, 16:09

You could get the same effect by driving a Renault LeCar.

The level of automotive ignorance in the general public is appalling.

20th Jun 2005, 10:30

I have had a 1988 Conquest since 1989 LOVE IT! Every year I am asked repeatedly if I would like to sell it. It looks as good today as it did the day it rolled off the line. It still smells new inside and runs great. You have to drive it to understand how it feels.

21st Nov 2005, 10:12

I just bought a 88 conquest for $500 and even if it has no slave cylinder, no interior, and the kid who I bought it from could not fix a car to save his life I think it was one of the best cars I could have bought.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 23 reviews