Lexus GX Reviews from North America

2003 Lexus GX 470

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

No problems at all.

General Comments:

Best SUV I ever had.

When I purchased my GX470, it had little over 19000 miles back in 2004. Now in 2011, with a little over 165000 miles, I never had any problems with the vehicle, standard maintenance always done, I paid lot's of money for my GX470, but it's well worth it.

I do my own maintenance on it, anyways this GX still drives like new. I'm looking to buy new LX570, need more room and all the new features.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2011

2005 Lexus GX 470 4.7L

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.7L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carHonda Odyssey

Summary:

Perfect size for a family of 5

Faults:

Had the rear driveshaft replaced under warranty. Solved the "bump from behind" problem common to GX470.

General Comments:

Very smooth and quiet ride.

Interior fit and finish is quality, and what you would expect from Lexus.

3rd row seats are for children only.

I don't mind the barn-door style rear door - we had a CR-V for many years, and were accustomed to this style.

Engine is well suited for the size of the vehicle - good acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2010

21st Dec 2012, 04:01

I just purchased that year and model. The truck is great, but the rear suspension is awful... bucks sometimes and isn't consistent. What did you do to fix this issue?

Many thanks, Phil.

2005 Lexus GX 470 4.7L V8

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.7L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance16300 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Overdressed and overpriced 4runner

Faults:

Rubber seal around right passenger door started to come off.

General Comments:

I do not own this vehicle, but since I have been staying at my future in-laws, I've had a chance to drive this vehicle extensively.

This feels like a traditional body-on-frame large SUV's. The GX feels like a boat, around turns it starts to feel like it wants to roll over, generous amounts of body lean, does not matter whether the suspension is on sport or comfort setting. Additionally, pure sport made the ride very choppy and bouncy, allowing the passengers to feel every imperfection in the road, while the comfort setting made the vehicle even more floaty and unstable.

The tire and the wind rush intrude markably at 70 miles per hour, and the Mark Levinson sound system produced disappointing quantities of bass and treble. People who respect the Lexus badge and the dealer experience might prefer this vehicle for the brand name alone, but in today's world with today's fuel prices and atrocious fuel economy, this vehicle is a prime choice only for those who don't understand much about driving dynamics and cars, and can be easily persuaded by an upscale dealership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd June, 2008

2003 Lexus GX 470 4.7

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carAudi A6

Summary:

Excellent Car. There aren't many other cars that rate this good

Faults:

Transmission clunk or jerkiness is because the drive shaft needs to be greased from time to time.. There really is no defect with the tranny or any parts around it. This clunk will not break or damage the vehicle, so just live with it, or go to the dealer and they will put some grease on it. I have the problem many others do too. I got used to it. No BIG deal!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2008

2004 Lexus GX 470

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles

Faults:

After coming to a stop, vehicle will suddenly clunk like it is changing gears while stopped. This does not happen consistently.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th April, 2006

2003 Lexus GX 470

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Previous carLexus GX470

Summary:

Looks better than it drives

Faults:

I have had 3 instances where the car as left me stranded. One due to a tire, one due to the gas cap not being tightened correctly (yes, it can stall the vehicle), and one due to a bad battery.

All the comments with regard to the transmission/drive train are true. I've driven the 2003 GX470 and 2004 GX470 (loaner), and both have the same problem. When stopping, the rest of the transmission stops a second or two later with a minor, and sometimes not so minor jerk. You always look in your rear view mirror to see if someone bumped you.

My car was checked and I had almost the entire drive train replaced. It seemed to correct most of the problem, but now after a year, the problem is starting to come back. And yes, Lexus says the transmission/drive train is very complicated, doing a bunch of things, so it's not unusual for it to continue doing things at a stop. Hard to believe, but that's exactly what I was told by the dealer.

General Comments:

They say Lexus has a 90% approval rate. Well, I'm one of the 10% who is disappointed. There are a few lemons in every batch, and I was unlucky to receive one of them. Would be scared to buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th April, 2006

7th Apr 2006, 14:10

I went from my 2003 GX470 to a 2005 GX470 and my new one doesn't have the "clunk" problem. I loved the car when I bought it in 2003 so I learned to live with the clunking when you stop. I drove the car 47,000miles and traded it on a 2005. I trade all my cars no matter what when they hit around 50,000miles. I lost some money during this deal, but I paid the difference for the 2005. Lexus dealers out here in California are very snobby. The only dealer I trust is Crown Lexus even though its around an hour from my home. Lexus Mission Viejo is only 5 minutes, but I always have a problem with them. My wifes LS430 never is in the shop except for oil changes. I can't wait for the new LS460 and the GS450h hybrid.

2003 Lexus GX 470 V8

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carToyota Landcruiser

Summary:

The best Suv to have

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

It's the best Suv I've ever driven. The smoothest ride ever. There is nothing better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2005

2004 Lexus GX 470 4.7

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance180 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

This truck is worth every penny

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

In cabin, this vehicle is like flying first class.

Amenities like no other in it's class, first class workmanship, first class materials, first class ride.

This is no overpriced 4runner, based on same platform, but built different.

New KDSS suspension makes a big difference, rear camera instead of a beep that you never hear if listening to music, navigation, sound system, I was driving at 90 miles per hour and didn't notice it.

Please don't compare the GX with the 4runner there's a humongous difference.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2004

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 8 reviews