1984 Mazda B2000 SE5 Sundowner 2.0

Summary:

Cheap to buy, cheap to own! Tough little truck

Faults:

Clutch went out at 50,000 miles (Brother's fault; didn't know how to drive).

General Comments:

Bullet proof! I drove the wheels off this little truck! 78K in 24 months. It had a tiny engine, no air, a five speed and got over 30 MPG; In 1985! Gave it to my sister and her family when I shipped overseas (Navy). It never gave me a single problem that wasn't induced by bad behavior! $5995 brand new!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2017

1984 Mazda B2000 SE-5 2.0

Summary:

I love my Mazdas, they are AWESOME!

Faults:

Had to remove and clean the gas tank.

Top A frame bushing was worn out.

New starter, alternator and radiator.

Just normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

I have 4 84 B2000s; 2 for parts and 2 drivers, and I drive them hard and they just keep on keeping on. I have had my longbed 16 years and my shortbed 11 years, and will leave them to my son when I'm gone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2017

1984 Mazda B2000 Sundowner Short Box 2.0

Summary:

A tank, built like a mini truck

Faults:

Slave cylinder at six months.

Master cylinder at a year.

Spark plugs every six months, but I drive her hard.

Really worn seats since the owner before me.

General Comments:

Love every minute of driving this little truck. I have another big truck, and would still pick the B any day.

Drives like a race car and works like a horse, but I never have to fix anything big.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2013

10th Aug 2015, 00:47

I had the privilege of using one at work hauling high dollar floppy disk machines. The truck never let me down. I would drive one again if it's the 1984 model. I rate it a 10.

1984 Mazda B2000 SE-5 2.0

Summary:

Built to last

Faults:

The dome light housing rotted away.

Had to replace some thirty year old ball joints, tie rod ends, and shocks.

Drivers door bushings wore out.

Overall, not a lot, considering.

General Comments:

It has been a great little truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2012

1984 Mazda B2000 Sundowner 2.0L Carburated

Summary:

Practical, cheap, affordable

Faults:

Muffler wore out, alternator and starter. All very easy to replace.

General Comments:

Cheap truck to buy, cheap truck to own, repair and maintain. Still lots of parts out there for it.

Fuel efficient (26/33), peppy and easy to work on.

Loud.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2009

1984 Mazda B2000 SE 2.0 litre

Summary:

The biggest, and best small truck. As long as you don't destroy it by slamming it to the ground

Faults:

I had to replace the stock clutch, around 130,000 miles.

I replaced the original starter after it took a dump.

I replaced the original alternator after I fried the voltage regulator.

I have replaced the clutch master and slave cylinders.

I replaced the rotors and calipers on the front brakes.

I also replaced the transmission at 140,000 miles; my fault, it would have lasted much longer. I went for a drive up in the hills when there was 3 foot of snow; did fine till I went to turn around and got stuck in a 5 foot snow drift. I spent 2 hours playing the first, and reverse game till I got free, and made it home. However I destroyed half the teeth on first gear, and the teeth that were now free to move around seized the trans up 3 months later.

General Comments:

I guess I should be lucky; everyone else I hear talk about these trucks say they get 18-20 mpg. However I get 29.5 mpg on the highway, and 24 mpg in town. Now I don't understand how my truck can be more fuel efficient than the rest. My calculations have been checked 2 times per tank of gas, and I did it for ten tanks in a row.

Handles like a sports car!!!

OK, not really, but close enough for a small truck.

Could be a more comfortable ride. That will be fixed once I get some bucket seats put in the old girl.

Paint is really faded, will be painting sometime next summer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2008

8th May 2009, 16:29

I also get 30 mpg with my Sun-downer. Best $800.00 I've spent.

23rd Oct 2009, 20:29

I have owned three B2000s. Bought all of them used, had from 40k to 92k on them when I bought them. I got 29 to 31 mpg with all three. They all had over 200K when the carbs wore completely out and couldn't be adjusted anymore. The purchase price plus repairs (less gas, tires, and oil) averaged out at about 5 cents per mile on two of them, and an amazing 2.5 cents per mile on the other.

Gosh, I wished had another one. I loved those trucks!