1996 Mazda B2300 SE 2.3L 4 cylinder 2WD

Summary:

Gutless but EXTREMELY reliable

Faults:

Dash lights have burnt out and are nearly non-existent.

The door ajar switch always thinks the door is open.

The rear ABS doesn't work. Changed the rear brakes myself, and they no longer lock up like they used to.

General Comments:

This is the cheapest vehicle I have ever bought, and it is one of the MOST reliable. I purchased it for $1,000 four and half years ago, and the only thing I've had to do is put a clutch in, which I kind of expected when I bought it.

Other than that, I have taken numerous trips to the mountains, and loaded the thing down so much that the rear mud flaps drag.

GUTLESS but stinkin' RELIABLE!!! I've put almost 40,000 miles on it just around town and with trips to the cabin, and it just won't stop. Runs like the day I bought it.

I have nothing but great things to say about this little pickup. It fits my body well and the seats are more fitting and comfortable than my Mercury Marquis, which is designed to be a plush ride.

I wonder how long it will last. I'm not getting rid of it until it dies! Love my Mazda pickup, I would definitely buy another Ranger and/or Mazda pickup. So handy to move little things due to the low bed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2014

1996 Mazda B2300 2.3

Summary:

Not going to stop driving it till it totally dies

Faults:

I replaced the timing belt at about 180,000. It started cracking and I didn't want it to break on me.

I replaced the water pump, since I was already there changing the timing belt.

General Comments:

I have done nothing to this truck besides the normal oil and filter every single 3000 miles (Castrol 10-30) and Motor Craft oil filter, spark plugs, wires, air filter, brakes, changing antifreeze, belts, and a few batteries and tires.

Very reliable.

There's at least one dent and scratch in every fender of the truck. People look at it like it's a POC... But I know it's paid for itself a number of times. And I know how many miles are on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th December, 2012

1996 Mazda B2300 SE 2.3

Summary:

Awesome!

Faults:

Absolutely NOTHING mechanical... I did have to replace the driver side seat belt buckle.

General Comments:

Tougher than nails... dependable... just won't quit!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd March, 2010

1996 Mazda B2300 SL 4 cylinder

Summary:

My truck is always dependable and happy

Faults:

Check engine light kept coming on. The dealer did not know what to do. Finally I put more miles on the truck and the check engine light did not come on any more.

The gas mileage is awesome. About 29 miles per gallon on the highway.

Love my truck. Now it still runs like new. Just put new tires on it and new brakes. Like new.

Love my 1996 Mazda B2300 truck.

General Comments:

Still handles like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th January, 2010

1996 Mazda B2300 2.3

Summary:

The most useful vehicle I've owned

Faults:

The headliner is wearing poorly.

I've just had to replace the clutch.

General Comments:

I love my truck, and even though I'm looking for a new car, I don't intend to give it up. It's too useful.

I do have to add ballast into the back for the odd ice day, but, other than that, the handling is fine.

This has been the best and cheapest car I've ever had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2008

1996 Mazda B2300 Extended Cab 2.3

Summary:

I wouldn't trade my Mazda for anything, well maybe convertible Beemer

Faults:

My Mazda finally died for the first time the other day. I think it is the alternator, but I am still in the process of figuring that out.

Very little power.

General Comments:

Until recently, I have never had a problem with my Mazda, other than routine maintenance issues. I have put over 100k miles on it and plan to hopefully put another 100k on it.

It has been a real workhorse. What it lacks in power, it certainly makes up for with reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2007

1996 Mazda B2300 Ext cab 2.3

Summary:

This is good, mechanically solid, transportation

Faults:

The expensive spark plugs wear out too fast.

The rear end is too light on gravel roads.

Changing dashboard lights is nearly impossible and hugely expensive.

General Comments:

I love my truck and have done so for almost 200,000 miles. 'Replaced the original clutch at 206,000 miles. Since I do a lot of driving (can't you tell?) I've averaged 24-24.5 miles per gallon. It does a little better with the middle grade gasoline.

The only major drawback is the feeling of lack of control on gravel roads. Without having 300 pounds of sand in the back, you get little to no traction in snow or mud. If this truck had front-wheel drive, all of this would be non-existent.

With gas approaching $3 a gallon, one wonders why they stopped making the extended cab in the B2300 model. One would think Ford/Mazda would be thinking more miles to the gallon instead of less with the B3000 and B4000 models.

Trying to find a replacement B2300 with an extended cab has been very difficult. Nobody is giving them up!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2006

25th Mar 2006, 23:03

Light rear ends are just part of owning a truck.

1996 Mazda B2300

Summary:

Bargin

Faults:

Nothing

General Comments:

Very reliable, no power, cab is small, but cheap. It is worth it if you poor like me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2004

1996 Mazda B2300 Base 2.3 Liter four cylinder

Summary:

Solid as a rock and cheaper than dirt to run

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the truck.

General Comments:

The truck has no power assisted steering. Great for building up your arms.

The cabin is a little cramped, but that's what you get when you pay peanuts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2001

5th Aug 2001, 10:07

I have a Ford Ranger with 2.3 in it, it's the same truck as a Mazda cause Ford owns Mazda, but it has been a good truck too. I have no power steering either, sometimes it gets on my nerves, but I just think to myself it's one less thing to tear up on it, if anything ever tears up on it.

10th Jul 2002, 14:27

About 10 years ago, I worked at a commercial truck fleet shop.

One of the "shop trucks" we had was a 1984 Ford Ranger Diesel P/U.

It looked a little rough, but I sure enjoyed driving it.

Only a 4-spd manual trans, but I never felt like I was overreving the engine, even on the freeway.

The engine had acceptable "seat of the pants" power to it and I never felt this truck was under powered.

It did everything asked of it, never complained and I think it averaged about 30-35 MPG, even with though some of the people who drove it had a fairly heavy right foot.