1990 Mitsubishi Mighty Max Reviews from North America

1990 Mitsubishi Mighty Max 2.1 4 cylinder

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.1 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance49400 miles
Previous carFord F100

Summary:

A very good little truck

Faults:

At 27000 miles, the computer went out and was replaced at a cost of 600 dollars.

At 35000 miles, I had to replace the idler arm at a cost of 45 dollars.

The seat belt holder is not working on the drivers side, so I use the passenger side holder.

The check engine light comes on after I drive it around 10 miles, but has no effect on the way it runs; this has been going on for around 3 years.

It passes its inspection as good as a new car. I had a guy check it with a hand held D checker, and he could not find any thing wrong.

General Comments:

After I retired in 97, I only drive this truck on the average of 300 miles a year.

It is a very good driving truck, and will speed up to 80 miles an hour with no problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2011

1990 Mitsubishi Mighty Max 2.4

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Previous carMitsubishi Mighty Max

Summary:

Nice

Faults:

Bought it with blown head gasket.

General Comments:

Rebuilding whole truck for show..expensive, but I love it. I am tjtulsa49@yahoo.com and I have some questions for anyone familiar with this truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th June, 2007

1990 Mitsubishi Mighty Max 2.4 Liter

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 Liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance193966 miles
Previous carGMC Safari

Summary:

A Great Buy and Dependable Truck!

Faults:

Seats are not in good condition.

193960 Fuel pump or whatever the issue is I'm trying to fix it.

Spark Plugs three times.

Radiator 193940.

Fuel Filter 193966.

Had to put a radio in (did not have one) 193600.

General Comments:

Great handling, no power steering : (, Still a great truck!

Never had to replace the clutch or anything serious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2006

29th Aug 2006, 15:03

Great truck, I agree with you.

1990 Mitsubishi Mighty Max V6

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance9900 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Very tough, reliable vehicle

Faults:

Replaced shifter at 75,000 miles

Replaced steering gear box at 50,000 miles.

Replaced idler arm at 90,000.

Recovered seat at 75,000.

Replaced brakes once at 60,000 miles.

Replaced the battery 2-3 times over the years.

General Comments:

This truck still runs today as well as it did 14 years ago when it was new. It has been used mostly as transportation to work and to haul small loads since 1992. Replaced it this year with a full sized truck because now I need to haul larger loads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2004

1990 Mitsubishi Mighty Max

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance122300 miles

Summary:

A real bargain - Worth every penny paid

Faults:

Lower ball joint at 34,000 (Driver's side) starting "squeaking" so loud you could hear it down the street - Mitsubishi & dealer replaced for free.

Water Pump began to leak at 85,000 and replaced.

Broken bolt on shifter linkage at 65,000.

Gas hose connecting between tank and fill split replaced at 65,000

Started at 92,000 to "puff" a little smoke on startup (not always, just sometimes) probably Valve Guide seals.

General Comments:

Have had brakes changed only once, done at 54,000 at dealer recommendation. Probably they could have lasted longer; the current set is on approx. 68,000 and still has good bit of meat left.

NEVER changed the clutch.

NEVER needed to change ALTERNATOR.

Never needed to change Starter.

Spark plugs have only been changed once, at 54,000.

Front end only aligned twice. Once at 56,000 and again at 110,000.

Solid vehicle, but I do wish that the seating was more comfortable. Long drives will get to you.

Overall, I have well gotten my money out of this little guy. Original purchase price was $6,000 then added the AC for $850. 13 years old, still being driven with over 122,000 miles and has a book value of about $1,500. Hey, who could complain?

I wish the were still making them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th April, 2003

1990 Mitsubishi Mighty Max 2.4L

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired77650 miles
Most recent distance77749 miles

Summary:

I wish the computer never existed

Faults:

I just bought this truck used.

I was told the computer had a problem.

The engine has to warm up for about 30 minutes.

Once this happens, everything is OK.

But if the engine is cold, I cannot get over 15 miles per hour out of first gear.

Second gets limited speed also and so on.

Once the engine warms up the truck runs fine.

I just spent 784.00 and the mechanic could not find the problem.

This is a complicated system.

General Comments:

This vehicle seems too complicated for the average mechanic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th October, 2002

8th Oct 2004, 02:37

My 90 Mighty Max with 144K miles was running fuel rich (fuel injection system). Truck starter turned engine, but no spark. Dealer did a diagnostic and said the computer had no output signal. We replaced the computer ($415) with no improved results. Dealer wants another $65 to do another diagnostic.

What would you suggest I do next?

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 12 reviews