1992 Mitsubishi Mighty Max Base

Summary:

Very reliable and practical small pickup

Faults:

ECM broke, but was very easy to fix at home.

Serpentine belt broke on a long road-trip.

Runs a little hot. It won't overheat, but it just runs hot. Lacks the power need for larger payloads.

General Comments:

Extremely reliable. Other than a dead battery, this truck has started every time.

A little 4 cylinder pickup like this combines the great gas mileage of a smaller car, with the payload capacity of a truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2010

1992 Mitsubishi Mighty Max 2.4

Summary:

For a 2wd truck, it's the best small one I've ever driven

Faults:

Replaced the radiator at about 250.

Had to replace the bed from being hit by a Dodge Ram last year.

Water pump went out last year too.

General Comments:

This is a very dependable, excellent small truck.

5 speed trans shifts good, and the engine has a surprising amount of power.

Comfort isn't great, but it's a small truck; what do you expect?

Ours is still running strong with no problems, gets decent fuel mileage, and seems like it will last forever, as long as we keep the oil changed. That's really all we do to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2010

1992 Mitsubishi Mighty Max 2.4L

Summary:

Crappy, I got smart and got a Chevy

Faults:

ECM, the mechanic claimed that was the problem. It started up three days after purchase.

Valve seats were shot at purchase.

Transmission slipped horribly and would not even attempt to shift into overdrive.

Engine would not fire all cylinders all the time.

Would not start 2/3 of the time.

All of these problems at purchase.

General Comments:

Slow.

Cheap.

Could not handle 5 sandbags in the bed.

Had nice wheels (American Racing... very after-market)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th December, 2006

24th Dec 2006, 19:44

You got a used and abused truck, what did you expect?

25th Dec 2006, 11:11

Agreed. The reviewer clearly knew about all these problems, yet he bought the truck anyway...?

Sounds like the reviewer "got smart" after being "not smart"

14th May 2007, 12:32

Why a Chevy?

6th Oct 2007, 23:04

Why would you buy a abused vehicle like this one in the first place?I bet, if taken care of, these truck are very reliable, after all-they were made in Japan.

17th Jan 2011, 00:40

I love my little 5 speed... I loaded a cord of wood, which is about 1000 pounds... the truck's towing capacity... and the little truck surprised everyone while chugging up a mountainy place called Aska... the motor has well over 300,000 miles, still runs great... Thinking about putting a V6 in it though for even more great performance.

1992 Mitsubishi Mighty Max 2.4L

Summary:

Great truck

Faults:

I've had to replace the Timing belt, Starter, Altanator, Clutch has gotten stuck a time or two.

General Comments:

I can't believe Mitsubishi stopped making these great trucks! My truck as small as it is has performed better than all of my friends, Z71's and other big trucks. It has great acceleration and just right for the high school such as myself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2006

1992 Mitsubishi Mighty Max 4X4 3.0 litre

Summary:

Great reliability, good looks and hearty little power plant

Faults:

Alternator went out at 70,0000 miles.

Clutch was replaced at 92,500 miles.

Steering gear started leaking and was fixed with stop leak at 65,000 miles. Leaking started again at 114,000 miles with new seals replaced at 115,000.

All other items have been maintenance issues. Brakes twice all around, serpentine belt and timing belt replaced at 114,000 miles.

All parts were replaced with genuine Mitsubishi and were expensive and at times hard to locate.

General Comments:

I have used this vehicle for a work truck/transportation vehicle for 7 years in rugged and all weather driving. I have regularly driven in snow and hot city stop and go driving. It uses gas (average 18 mpg) but has good pick up and is very, very reliable. It looks good with the factory original deep blue paint, but has had to be reupholstered. The plastic seat belts have broken causing sharp edges to be exposed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2002

1992 Mitsubishi Mighty Max 2.4L EFI

Summary:

Dependable work vehicle

Faults:

Had to replace the front brake calipers and pads at 100K, right side was sticking.

Been through two clutches, one was Borg-Warner, second was Hy-Test. Both wore out same way after 30K miles. Small springs in the center of the clutch disk wear through the retainers and fall out. Last failure caused a hole in bottom of the bell housing from shrapnel. Poor design of clutch disc.

Replaced alternator and water pump at 120K, both failed.

Replaced ECM (engine computer) at 140K. Design flaw on the circuit board caused it to failure. Installed a "repaired" unit with 18mo. warranty.

General Comments:

Truck is normally very dependable. Always starts right up.

Gets good gas mileage, though drops off in the winter. Averages about 24mpg.

Truck is heavily built, has 6-bolt wheels, oversize rear brakes, and heavy rear suspension. It will haul its rated load.

Concerned about the clutch discs failing after 30K miles -- I do not feel this is normal. No one has a clue.

Engine ECM (or ECU) is ranked as "notorious" for failures. Cost for repaired unit about $350. Buyer beware when dealing with outfits on the 'net for replacements.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2002

6th May 2010, 15:14

Have a 1992 Mighty Max, 2.4L 160,000 & never had the clutch apart. Has been a GREAT truck.