2001 Mitsubishi Montero Sport Reviews from North America

2001 Mitsubishi Montero Sport 3.5

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance15500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Avalanche

Summary:

Hunk of crap, stay away

Faults:

I thought 12000 miles was low, so I jumped on it and got this SUV.

I loved it for the first 2 days, until it left me stranded on the way to Seattle from Spokane. The transmission literally ripped itself apart. The dealer told me that the warranty was non-transferable.

I got a transmission out of a junk yard and put it in, everything goes fine for a few days, and then the engine starts running rough, and there was a huge white cloud behind me. It blew the head gasket.

$3500 later I'm back on the road when a cam snaps. Dealer said that the cam broke, and I need a new engine at 15496 miles. I basically said I'm done with this, I need a new car. Sold that hunk of crap for parts and got me a new Hyundai Santa Fe; I've got 150,000 miles on that now without one single problem.

General Comments:

Comfortable and cool looking.

Biggest hunk of crap on the planet. Will never buy again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd March, 2011

23rd Mar 2011, 13:37

Sorry to hear about your bad experience with your Montero Sport.

I have a 1998 Montero Sport that I bought new and still have today. It has almost 142,000 miles on it and has been the best and most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. The only major repair has been a new clutch at 137,000 miles.

Mine has a 4 cyl. and 5 speed manual.

21st Aug 2011, 22:03

I will have to agree with you. My brother has an 02 Montero Sport with 285,000 plus miles, and it's still going strong. Any vehicle that passes his ownership test is a vehicle for the ages.

1st Aug 2012, 14:59

I bought a used Mitsubishi Montero Sport. I buy, repair, and sell the cars after I buy them from auction. I will never buy one of these vehicles ever again. The design and clunkyness of the whole vehicle... It's just a box of crap. Burns oil through valve seals. Transmission is clunky. Suspension is clunky. Engine compartment is not friendly for us mechanics.

2001 Mitsubishi Montero Sport XLS 3.0L V6

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired47 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

A reliable car

Faults:

Had a problem with the horn pad one winter night; the horn just beeped. The dealer changed the airbag and horn pad. Under warranty till 36,000 miles.

General Comments:

Runs great, a good reliable car. Although the handling is a 7/10, and my uncle said the backseat is a bumpy ride.

Other than that, it's a wonderful SUV. I say maintain it, take care of it, and it will take care of you too. That goes for all car owners out there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2006

22nd Sep 2009, 20:17

Good vehicle, but the rear seals start leaking at 150k.

2nd Aug 2011, 12:21

I agree these are very good SUVs. I have had my 1998 Montero Sport ES since brand new, and it is still going strong. I have had it so long, it's part of my family, and I can't imagine not having it. Think I'll keep it forever, it will probably last that long. Most reliable vehicle I have ever owned.

2001 Mitsubishi Montero Sport ES

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Very reliable vehicle

Faults:

Oxygen sensor failed at 39000 miles; dealer fixed under extended warranty for $100.

General Comments:

This has been an extremely reliable vehicle. Other than the sensor, nothing has gone wrong.

Gets good gas mileage for an SUV. For the price I paid, I feel I could not have done better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2005

2001 Mitsubishi Montero Sport ES

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired150 miles
Most recent distance65500 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

A very nice looking money pit -- beware!

Faults:

Front brakes replaced at 12,000 miles!

Rear brakes at 20,000.

Serpentine belt snapped at 20,000 miles.

Replace tires -- worn to a dangerously low tread at 20,000 miles.

Out of alignment from day 1, and frequently have to realign.

Transmission is possessed! Shifting from 2nd to 3rd (automatic) revs up to 4000 and 5000 RPM.

Climbing hills transmission is unreliable, and unpredictable in its up and down-shifting.

Popping noises in front suspension when stopping.

Air conditioner fails on a regular basis with "no reason" found by 3 mechanics. Dealership is looking over today.

Dealership service excellent at first, then downhill -- crabby workers, unskilled techs, etc.

General Comments:

I would be very hesitant to buy another Mitsubishi Montero Sport. While the vehicle has overall been fairly reliable, in getting from point A to point B. However, it has been sort of a "nickel & dimer" from the word go.

A vehicle should not have this many problems within two years of ownership.

I travel extensively in the summer, and bought this vehicle hoping it would be reliable and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th July, 2003

2001 Mitsubishi Montero Sport XLS 3.0 V6

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance22500 miles
Previous carNissan Quest

Summary:

A handsome 4x4 that does not blend in with the mainstream styling

Faults:

Not a single thing has gone wrong with this vehicle.

General Comments:

A solid value overall compared to many other luxury brands. It feels solid, and gives you confidence while driving on highways or city roads.

The ride is a little on the hard side, and it could use a few more horses to boot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2002

4th Feb 2004, 14:45

I just purchased a 2001 Mitsubishi Montero Sport XLS with 42000 miles a few days ago, but I have heard only good things about this suv.

21st Jun 2004, 10:40

I also, have just purchased a Mitsubishi Montero Sport XLS. (2001) I am happy to have read something positive about the vehicle, here. It seems as though plenty of Montero owners are unhappy. I'm happy with my purchase as I trust my own judgment. It is not only pleasing to the eye, it is a dream to drive and very comfortable.

2nd Aug 2004, 14:47

Last year September 2003 I purchased the 2001 Montero Sport XLS at 45000 miles on the used vehicle. I have been very very happy with it's style and performance. Why couldn't other previous year and year after could be as good as the 2001. We have had very minor problems due to normal wear and tear. Hopefully when we buy another one it will be as good or even better than your 2001 Sport XLS. This is my first SUV, and I just LOVE IT!

2001 Mitsubishi Montero Sport XS 3.5 V6

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired350 miles
Most recent distance1100 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

You need this car

General Comments:

First I would like to say go to the dealer. I looked at this on the web, it said 32,000$++, went to the dealer, 27000$!

I LOVE THIS CAR, IT'S GREAT!! BUY THE ENGINE, IT IS WORTH IT.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2001

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 6 reviews