2001 Oldsmobile Aurora Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 2

2001 Oldsmobile Aurora 4.0

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

Superb!!!runs and handles like a dream!!!1

Faults:

One very minor problem with the button that holds the cargo net stripping. The replacement cost is $50.00 so I put it on another screw to hold.

General Comments:

This is the very best car I have ever driven. I have always had Oldsmobiles and always aspired to own the coveted Aurora. I purchased it as a used car and have nothing, but rave reviews for this high performance giant. It corners like no other car I have driven. This car should have been the standard by which all other Oldsmobiles were designed and they would have continued to be in business. Absolute perfection in a car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2006

28th Dec 2006, 18:26

I have an Aurora identical to yours, and the only thing that I can say here is that GM was too dumb to know a good thing when they saw it!

2001 Oldsmobile Aurora 3.6 V8

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.6 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Convertible

Summary:

The Value-Shopper's Cadillac! =D

Faults:

Brakes and tires replaced at 40,000.

Coolant leak at 62,000.

Rear driver's side window and passenger window motor went out at 65,000.

Battery Change 70,000.

Stereo button broke 75,000.

Stalls and has had repaired, needs fixed again, short in transmission relay causing car to stall 82,000.

75.

General Comments:

I have driven this car into the ground and I believe it has held up well. It's smooth to drive and the standard options are great. The only unexpected problems were the constant window motors going out and the fact that the batter was under the back seat which cost more to replace. I would buy another one if I could and I think it's a great deal for the money! I hope I get a V-8 if I buy another one! =D.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2006

13th Feb 2006, 14:41

GM made its biggest blunder when it discontinued the Aurora!

15th Sep 2009, 18:35

I've had the 3.5L/V6 for 4 years, which I had bought as used. I've never had any major problems with the car. It's a fun car and offers great value for money with all its luxury features..

2001 Oldsmobile Aurora V8 4.0L

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V8 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 kilometres
Most recent distance157000 kilometres
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Smooth to drive, somewhat pricey to maintain

Faults:

Rear window motors require replacement

Short in wiring harness led to needing new alternator and battery 130,000 km

Sunroof stuck open (fixed myself)

Load level sensor at 150,000 km

All brakes replaced (maintenance) 155,000

Some interior lights out

Replaced outside bulbs.

General Comments:

Over all good car, seems expensive to maintain partially due to parts and complexity of systems. Fun to drive, looks great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th January, 2006

13th Feb 2006, 01:01

I'm interested in learning about the short you had with your altnator, I have 180,000 miles on it and the only problem I have with my car is that it stalls on occassion when starting. Did you have this problem?

13th Feb 2006, 08:31

That stalling might be due to bad crankshaft sensors.

1st Mar 2007, 13:51

The Aurora 1995-1999 is basically a rebadged Cadillac, due to Oldsmobile's dire sales results. The mini Northstar 4.0L engine is your first clue.

Check out the number and prices of these vehicles on the used car market, especially those with over 100K miles. There are a lot. For some reason, people continue to love this car as a second vehicle in the fleet.

Yes, there are a ton of expensive maintenance issues. Check out the Edmunds.com Car Forum.

But when the car is working and you can drive and enjoy, you might feel that the grief is worth the aggravation.

I have a 98 bought new, now at 74K miles and just got nailed for about $1800 for an A/C compressor and related parts, and then the "while we have the car apart" preventative expenses for other stuff. The car under the hood is a nightmare to work on; thank you GM engineers for your under the hood space management.

Before that, got nailed for non-functioning power seat issue and a power antenna that quit. And let's not get into the car's sensitivity to an out-of-round tire/wheel vibration situation.

Go to Edmunds.com and find out the problems and solutions for yourself.

We have chosen to stay with the car and do the maintenance. It is our "dog" car and it looks like new.

10th Aug 2008, 18:02

Brakes and bulb replacement at 150000? C'mon man. that's normal wear and tear for a car!

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 8 reviews