1989 Pontiac Tempest LE 2.8L Multi Port

Summary:

Tough, and a Diehard; I miss it terribly

Faults:

Transmission (170000 Km).

Alternator (2).

Thermostat.

Water pump.

Front struts and rear shocks.

EPROM.

Fuel pump.

General Comments:

Excellent, could be the coldest day, and first turn of the key, and it would start.

Original radiator, original starter, original A/C, and it worked until I sold it for parts; A/C never was serviced or recharged.

Sold it for parts, because at 306000 km, the body was rusting, it needed a fuel pump, new gas lines, two fuel injectors and a head liner.

For the mileage and the years I had her, I could challenge anyone with an import to challenge me on the reliability. Every car, import or domestic, needs TLC, and that's how I treated her and every car I own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2011

1991 Pontiac Tempest V 3.1

Summary:

Great first or family car

Faults:

Headliner was very saggy.

Brakes needed to be worked on.

Water pump needed replacing.

General Comments:

This was my first car, and it has a special place in my heart. I learned to drive on it, so I have to start with the handling. The turn in at any speed was neutral and quite sharp, which was good for learning the twisty roads.

Mine had the 3.1 V6 engine. This gave great gas mileage and very respectable performance. It was a very comfortable car as well; the suspension was a bit on the soft side, and the seats were very supportive.

This car gave me my first motoring memories. I drove it hard, and it never needed anything back in return. When I reached its top speed on the highway, the water pump blew, so that was my fault. Unfortunately, when an Ex was driving it, the oil pan was ripped to pieces, so I had to get rid of her.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2011

1990 Pontiac Tempest 3.1L

Summary:

An excellent, safe, and relaible car

Faults:

Breaks need replacing

CV joints are wearing out.

The wiring to the CD deck was VERY difficult to figure out. I had my whole dash pulled apart for at least a week.

Faulty wiring to the interior lights. They only work if you unscrew them from the roof.

General Comments:

This car is amazing! The v6 engine makes it fairly cheap on gas and quick on the get-go. Very smooth performance.

I have very high mileage on this car, and still no leaks of any kind. It runs like new.

I only spent $495 on this car, but it was well spent! It is a great winter beater. Safe, reliable, and cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2007

2001 Pontiac Tempest 2.2L 4 cylinder

Summary:

Not likely a good used car buy as maintenance might run high after 5th year

Faults:

Electrical problems for which the dealer could not help. This resulted in 4 starter motors until I finally figured out myself that the green wire was not connecting at the neutral safety switch.

Problems of corrosion of gas line and brake lines started in about 8th year (despite several undercoating treatments).

Front brake rotors wear often, but are not expensive to replace.

Interior lighting is great. Lots of lights.

I still love this car after 14 years!

General Comments:

A/C failed after 5 years, but still have the original radiator.

Handling improved when I replaced the original tires with Michelin.

An excellent aerodynamic style and good interior space for a young family. Too bad GM does not make something comparable today.

The plastic gas tank is nice as it does not corrode.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2005

21st Feb 2005, 01:34

I don't think Pontiac made a 2001 Tempest- did you get the model year right?

23rd Feb 2005, 00:23

Never mind that, the reviewer seems to think that 2001 was 14 years ago!

1990 Pontiac Tempest 4 cylinder.

Summary:

Good, reliable vehicle

Faults:

Some paint loss on hood, roof and trunk.

General Comments:

A really good car, ran great. I should not have sold it. Good gas mileage too, with the 4 cylinder engine. Two months later the new owner rolled it. Totaling the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th September, 2004

1991 Pontiac Tempest 3.1 F1 V6

Summary:

A comfortable, powerful car with some chronic problems

Faults:

2 alternators and battery.

Many brakes (I have to remove the ABS because of that)

Water enter under driver's side floor.

One muffler at 130,000km.

The gas cover is going alone of is position (in the garbage)

I think the front shocks will need a replacement in a short time.

General Comments:

This car is amazing!!! I receive it from my grand-father in gift and, from this time, I have nothing to do out of changing tire.

The V6 is powerful and cheap on gas, a really rare thing. Not like the 4-cylinder, but it's good. 30mpg, I think it's great. I pull my wood with and never the transmission slip.

The rear seat is comfortable, but you have to find place for your leg. With that, 2 big person (not tall) can take place comfortably on this seat.

Only bad things of this car is:

-The handling is really poor because of the bad steering and the smooth suspension.

-Alternator was strong as a baby who try to walk for the first time.

-The wings start to have hole, but it's cheap to repair.

Out of that, the Pontiac Tempest is a great solution for who, like me, want a cheap and reliable car to go to college, to work or like a winter car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th January, 2004

28th Jan 2004, 08:35

Is the Tempest the Canadian equivalent of the Grand Am? The Tempest name has not been used in the US since about 1970.

This is the first review I have read that compares an alternator to a baby lol.

4th Mar 2004, 09:45

Tempest is same thing than the Chevrolet Corsica, but, like other Pontiac car, with more fashion thing outside and inside. And, in the same time, I will said that that I love this car, not dislike!

22nd Feb 2006, 19:14

For the leak of water in the driver side, remove the plastic grille under the windows at outside, where the wiper take place. seal the joint, we have a technical bulletin at general motor and when the customer come, that rule the problem. try it, it easy to do, just seal with silicone the joint.

Patrick Jr.

4th Jun 2008, 12:30

I just bought a 91 TEMPEST with 90.000km. It belong to a old guy that drove it to the store once every two days. I really like it, very nice ride and the ac works great "bonus". I can't say just yet what it's like on gas. It's a small V6. No rust what so ever and only paid 800.00 bucks. It still smells new on the inside. The good thing about this car is that it has a timing chain so you don't have to do your timing at 100 clicks or so which I think is great. Over all what I have seen on people's comments about this car is that it's a great car. My email is galleyb@hotmail.com if anyone has any questions. Great car so far.

7th Jul 2008, 20:20

I bought that car today. It's a 3.1 l with 6 cylinder and it has 268 000 km but the mechanic seems pretty young. The battery is new, the alternator too. I got it for 600 bucks with 4 summer tires and 4 winter tires. Very good deal! I hope I could ride with it for at least one year.

Your comments convinced me to buy it. Thanks.