Saturn LS Reviews from North America - Page 4 of 9

2000 Saturn LS 200 6 cylinder

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

Poorly designed vehicle, don't buy one

Faults:

Mass flow air sensor out and transmission solenoid failed causing rough shifting at 72000 miles.

Passenger rear outside door handle quit working.

Rack & pinion is now going out.

General Comments:

Avoid buying one used because problems will likely be ahead of you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th March, 2008

2000 Saturn LS LS1 2.2 4 cylinder

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles

Summary:

Decent car with a peppy 4 cylinder engine

Faults:

I bought the LS1 with 132,000 miles on it from a neighbor who is a salesman. Most miles are 70-80 mph highway miles. Recently a rocker arm broke. Rocker Arm fixed and Mechanic noticed how good the timing chain looked, it is original according to the original owner. With all the timing chain complaints I've read I just wonder if the higher speed highway miles have preserved the chain with lots of oiling due to higher higher engine rpm.

General Comments:

Nice looking car, but I still admire Honda's and Toyota's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd January, 2008

2000 Saturn LS 1

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Faults:

My timing chain broke on my 2000 Saturn LS1 and valves in the engine were bent. I am now getting a replacement engine.

When I checked the internet to see if others had similar problems, I was astounded to see that this is a recurring issue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st January, 2008

2000 Saturn LS

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carDodge Spirit

Summary:

I would buy this car again

Faults:

Oxygen sensor went out. Water pump recently replaced. Air conditioning O-ring replaced in 2006 and compressor replaced in 2007. BCM needs to be replaced now.

General Comments:

Very comfortable to drive. Small, but doesn't feel small inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2007

2000 Saturn LS

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired7 kilometres
Most recent distance109810 kilometres
Previous carDodge Omni

Summary:

Overall it's a great car and I'm highly satisfied

Faults:

Steering rack needed replacing at only 64000 km.

General Comments:

Wind noise at highway speed can be a bit of a nuisance, but only when travelling above 110 km/hr.

The trunk is huge and the fold-down rear seats mean I can easily transport a whole bunch of 8 ft. long 2x4's within the car.

It has plenty of acceleration, especially in 2nd gear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2007

2000 Saturn LS LS2 3.0 DOHC V6

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 DOHC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.7 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Don't buy it!!!

Faults:

What hasn't gone wrong with it!!! The transmission shifts erratically, coolant is leaking into the intake, and I have had to replace the EGR Valve, the fuel filter and front tires due to wear in less than a year. The tape deck, CD and AC have all stopped working and on top of that, it still isn't running properly. I have parked it in my yard until I can find someone else who wants to put the $2300 price tag, the dealer quoted me on fixing it into it and bought myself another vehicle.

Anyone wanna buy an LS2 REALLY cheap?

General Comments:

Nice looking car, good smooth ride, and nice pick up when its needed. Excellent gas mileage as well. Overall on the surface, I would recommend the car, but it has way too many problems once you get past the initial attraction.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th June, 2007

2000 Saturn LS 3.0 DOHC V6

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 DOHC V6 Automatic
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Very disappointed in saturn will never buy another one

Faults:

Mass Air Flow Sensor- caused trans to bang really hard into gear

Crankshaft Sensor- caused the car to turn off while driving

O2 sensor-

Interior lights will not work repeatedly blows fuse

Drivers side front window will not go down automatically

Taillights had to be replaced multiple times

Front door hinge is broken causes the door to crack loudly when open.

General Comments:

Very disappointed in Saturn will never buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th May, 2007

2000 Saturn LS 4 cylinder

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carSaturn LS

Faults:

In 2003 the electrical system ignition module was recalled and replaced. In 2006 the engine light came on and the car caught fire. Again, it was the same problem. We paid the cost of repairs. Saturn refused to pay for repairs. ($2000.00)

General Comments:

If you are driving and the service engine light comes on, and blinks rapidly, get out of the car and call a tow truck immediately. It will catch fire.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th February, 2007

2000 Saturn LS LS2 V-6 3.0 Liter V6

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance62526 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

Great car, if you can put up with the Jekyll and Hyde personality

Faults:

I had to take the vehicle in to the dealer, for a BCM problem. My car doors wouldn't unlock when I took the key out of the ignition, the car wouldn't shift out of park, and none of my gauges worked properly. I had the car towed to the Saturn Dealership, where they took TWO days to figure out it was the BCM module that was causing the issue.

I've had the problem before (similar symptoms), and kept complaining about it to the dealer while the car was still under extended warranty. The dealer claims nothing is wrong with the car, and sent me on my way. The warranty expired recently, and finally, they discover the problem? Odd, from my point of view. Cost me 620 dollars to fix.

General Comments:

When it runs, it runs great - when it doesn't run, it's extremely frustrating.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th November, 2006

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 35 reviews