1998 Alfa Romeo 156 Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1998 Alfa Romeo 156 TS 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carBMW 7 Series

Summary:

Stylish and fast!

Faults:

Intermittently stutters, possibly clutch problem.

Original Alpha Romeo radio is a joke.

Alpha sill-trim/body-kit starting to come unstuck.

General Comments:

I love this car!

It's amazingly fast for a 2.0 litre and it sounds almost like a V6 when accelerating away. Much faster than my ST24!

The handling is superb around corners and it gives you total feedback from the road surface.

It has its faults and some things seem to be made cheaper than they perhaps should have been..

But, all faults are forgiven when you park it in the company car-park amongst the rash of boring, German-styled, exec-mobiles and Japanese runabouts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2002

30th Nov 2007, 07:14

Ditto re: dealers, I really really want to buy another Alfa, but my time with the dealers has been such a miserable experience it's very unlikely simply because there is no independent garage/mechanic in my area. I mean we're talking about a main dealer once refusing to replace a head gasket for gawd's sake! (I know I should have learnt, but I didn't)

1998 Alfa Romeo 156 1.8 from Portugal

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance86000 kilometres
Previous carLancia Y

Summary:

The best car money can buy

General Comments:

This was a suprise to me. nothing was wrong ever with this car.

Since the first day until now it's just a matter of petrol and oil and that's it.

It looks great, it runs great and it is very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2002

1998 Alfa Romeo 156 Twin Spark 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carBMW 320i Coupe

Summary:

Excellent car, dealers questionable

Faults:

Brake pad warning lamp came on occasionally. Cured at second attempt.

Brake discs and pads warped after 18 months & 13,000 miles. Replaced under warranty.

Power steering hose leaked.

Brake discs and pads warped after another 1 year & 9000 miles. Had to pay for replacements.

General Comments:

Superb car let down by serious faults. Excellent performance and handling, ride firm but acceptable.

Local dealer can't cope with all the cars that have been sold. OK with common faults but hasn't the expertise to deal with more complex problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2001

3rd Mar 2001, 11:15

I can only agree with your comments on dealers - my local Alfa dealer is unhelpful, unreliable, pricey and generally has a bad attitude!

1998 Alfa Romeo 156 Twin Spark Kit Sport 1.8 TS 16v from Belgium

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 TS 16v Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance49850 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 156 1.8 TS 16 V

Summary:

Great drive at a nice price

Faults:

Servo oil pipe leak.

Rattle in the dashboard.

General Comments:

Unique design and competitive price (compared to BMW, Audi,...).

Quality significantly improved (compared to previous models).

Scope for improvement in dealership service level, 20.000 KM servicing quite expensive.

Suspension insufficient when loaded (3+ passengers and luggage).

Braking power insufficient for performance driving, ABS functions too early.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2000

1998 Alfa Romeo 156 2.5 V6 24V from Finland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 24V Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance65000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 155 2.0 16V TS

Summary:

Superb car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Great car, looks good, superb handling even in winter times. Hope everyone gets change to test drive it.

If you like more sporty suspension go for the sportspack with lowered suspension and low profile tyres.

Build quality is good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2000

1998 Alfa Romeo 156 TS 2.0 16V gasoline from France

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 16V gasoline Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 kilometres
Most recent distance55000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

It's a genuine Alfa : the sports saloon!

Faults:

Nothing wrong at this time, except little squeaks from the dashboard and right front suspension.

General Comments:

Every day is sunny, when you drive this car, it's fast, safe, and has Italian charm. What I like the most, it's the funny Bimmers face when they try to race me, and fail.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2000

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 17 reviews