1992 Buick Park Avenue Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1992 Buick Park Avenue 3.8 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

Excellent car. Well worth the cost and upkeep

Faults:

Air conditioning pump went out.

General Comments:

This car has very good gas mileage, around 22-26 miles per gallon. She drives smooth and quiet like you would expect from a Buick. Overall, it's a strong running car with the reliable 3800 engine. And yes, I would buy another again, if I could find a Park Avenue close to this one's condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st November, 2008

1992 Buick Park Avenue 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

She will surprise you

Faults:

Rear turn signal bulb burnt out.

Interior lights would not turn off unless I removed fuse.

General Comments:

Overall great car. I was surprised how much power the car had. Its greatest down fall was with the handling. It felt like a wet sponge. I never had a major problem and the only part that I can see was replaced was the power steering pump. It looks like it is an old lady's car, but she will treat you right. It was also credited with saving my life when I was broadsided. If you can find one with low millage pick it up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th November, 2005

1992 Buick Park Avenue Ultra 3.8 Supercharged from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 3.8 Supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired198000 kilometres
Most recent distance320000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

Great reliable car

Faults:

Water pump, alternator, serpentine belt, brakes twice in 5 yrs, rusted hood latch, EGR valve and leaky rad all had to be repaired. Interior plastic liner unglued, the radio button got lost somewhere and the gas gauge only registers a min of 1/2 tank regardless of how empty it is.

General Comments:

Very fast, reliable and comfortable car on highway. I do 800 km on a tank so pretty good on fuel consumption. Good sized trunk, and basically and all-around fantastic car. For 5000$, I've driven it for 5 years and I really can't complain. What do you want more?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2004

1992 Buick Park Avenue 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

Smooth, comfortable and quiet

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong while I've owned it, but it came with a few problems.

The gas gauge, tachometer, and the other guages are all out right now.

General Comments:

I bought this car from a couple in their 80's, for $4,000. Its in perfect shape with low miles. I paid a lot, but did so partly based on the good reviews Park Avenues get on this site.

The comfort, quiet, and smoothness are wonderful. The car handles better than my 1984 Olds Delta 88. However it definitely seems less sturdy.

It has adequate power, but is reluctant to downshift out of overdrive. Mileage is excellent at about 25-30. Ice cold air which is important in Missouri. The biggest reason I bought this to replace my Olds Delta 88 was the Old's air is out. Also that car is a gas hog.

I'm hoping to get the gauge problems fixed and get at least 100K miles out of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2004

1992 Buick Park Avenue Ultra 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired900 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

Great in it's day

Faults:

Rear brake cylinder leaked 9000 miles.

Front left door control panel replaced at about 10,000 miles.

Rear window motors (both) out at 50,000 miles. Replaced one.

Three alternators replaced in 80,000 miles.

Supercharger bearing out at 40,000 miles.

Supercharger gasket out at 70,000 also freeze plug.

Water pump out at 95,000 miles.

Starter just replaced at 102,000 miles.

General Comments:

The interior and exterior on this vehicle have held up extremely well.

It rides well even, though it needs new struts.

Gas mileage on this vehicle is better than most economy cars for its size.

On the road it still gets 25 to 27 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th May, 2003

1992 Buick Park Avenue Ultra 3.8 supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carLotus Esprit

Summary:

Surprisingly powerful luxury bargain

Faults:

The air conditioner and other ventilation components died at around 40,000 miles.

The anti-lock brake system failed at 5,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car has very loose steering, however the power assist kicks in fairly hard to make that bearable. The overall handling of the car is fine, nothing exceptional, but fine.

The acceleration of this car is amazing. Most people wouldn't expect a 3600 pound luxury car to be moving very quickly, but this car is a great counter-example. I can vouch for the quickness of this car, as a stop and go driver.

The cabin is very roomy, to say the least, the leather very soft. The passenger climate control works well, and the general comfort level in the car is superb.

The Park Avenue is nice enough by itself, but with the ultra modification (supercharger), it certainly meets any expectations you might have.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2002

1992 Buick Park Avenue Ultra 3800 Supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3800 Supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired161799 miles
Most recent distance161500 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

A performance car trapped in a luxury car body

Faults:

Leaking battery terminal in first week.

Needed new struts.

On the third week I owned it, the harmonic balancer went. And, of course it needed a tune up. But you expect these sort of costs when you purchase a used car.

General Comments:

Other than the initial glitches, the car runs beautifully. The supercharged motor is amazingly powerful. The transmission shifts well, but there is an odd thunk noise when in park, and sometimes it lurches, as if it's trying to jump into gear while fully engaged in park. Will have it checked soon. I have only owned it a month, but I absolutely love the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2000

13th Sep 2001, 19:22

Would you mind sending me a picture, I have been looking for a picture but I never find one. It is psiruschamps@aol.com

Thanks.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 9 reviews