1996 Citroen ZX Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1996 Citroen ZX Reflex 1.4I from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4I Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

Comfortable, economic car that can occasionally be quite fun

Faults:

The middle and rear section of the exhaust system fell off at 40,000 miles.

Cylinder Head Gasket leaking at 35,000 miles.

Gearbox can be a little clunky - have a feeling something may go tragically wrong, but I may be worrying too much.

Bodywork dents very easily - I nearly dented the bonnet while polishing it once.

General Comments:

I bought this as a cheap car so that I could get around while saving for a house - so far it is performing well.

It is very cheap to run - I estimate that I get 45mpg when I drive economically, and two services in 18 months have revealed no major problems.

Car is touch slow for my liking, but my previous car was an MR2 so perhaps this is to be expected. It doesn't seem to mind a full load of passengers and luggage.

Very comfortable ride and can be fun round corners - steering is accurate and better than most cars I have driven.

Image is a bit old-fashioned, not a car for those requiring a car to enhance their ego.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th September, 2002

1996 Citroen ZX Elation II 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Performance for pennies!

Faults:

Starting was quite difficult at about 70,000 miles. This was fixed by replacing the glow plugs - about £20 for 4 (Citroen dealer quoted £200 for the job!)

The front discs and all tyres needed replacement at 98,000 miles. These were the first new tyres since the car was new (I've got all previous bill!)

General Comments:

For an 'old technology' diesel, this is a seriously quick car! Many BMW drivers have been embarrassed! Take the spare wheel out, and it can get under 10 seconds 0-60!

I've got upwards of 50 miles per gallon on longer motorway trips. The average is about 500 miles from a 47-litre tankfull.

My wife and I find the seats rather unsupportive. Its more like sitting on the seat than in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2002

2nd Jul 2002, 10:32

No way can anyone get 98,000 miles off a single set of tyres! If you can, you should work for Michelin or something!

1996 Citroen ZX Avoriaz 1.4 from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16500 kilometres
Most recent distance21000 kilometres
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

A quick and comfortable travel mate

Faults:

There's nothing to complain about this car, it drives perfect.

General Comments:

The car is a little tuned up, it's got high speed tires and some other sport articles.

The seats are comfortable.

The car is steering very smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2001

1996 Citroen ZX 2.0i from Malaysia

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carProton Proton

Summary:

Value for money

Faults:

The disc brakes are not doing their job at 150km/h and above.

I was doing 120km/h when I hit a car in front of me applying a sudden emergency brake.

General Comments:

This car is something when you are in the 3rd gear. It leaves behind the cars in its class miles and miles away, especially on twisting roads or going up hill.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2001

1996 Citroen ZX Avantage 1.9 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Durable simplicity from the masters of complexity!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is reliable, comfortable, economical to run and cheap to buy. What more could you ask for?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2001

1996 Citroen ZX TD SX Estate 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carCitroen ZX Hatchback

Summary:

A swift, small estate car that's as good on the motor way as well as twisty roads

Faults:

4 glow plugs at 55000 miles (to be expected).

1 Front suspension anti-roll bar link at 48000 miles.

Hand brake cables required replacement at 48000 miles due to wear.

Car was wired incorrectly from new allowing the electric windows and sun roof to be operated independently when ignition was switched off. Although fault was not fixed under warranty, Citroen UK authorised the work when I advised them how dangerous this wiring fault could be eg. if children were left unattended in a car!

General Comments:

The car has phenomenal mid-range overtaking performance in its day: It's losing ground against the equivalent cars built today.

The estate version is not seen quite as much as the hatchback so, this adds to its uniqueness.

Despite its size, it makes a good long distance commuting car with reasonable comfort and rear legroom.

The turbo engine can have a bit of turbo-lag compared with its peers but, it is refined and economical. Fuel consumption never below 38 miles per gallon, more usually it's 41-42 miles per gallon.

The Citroen ZX is identical in dynamics and chassis to the Peugeot 306: I suppose it's the Peugeot's not so good looking sister!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th March, 2001

11th May 2001, 15:32

I had a ZX Aura TD Estate - bought a 1.6 16v petrol Scenic, which is quieter and nicer to drive but lacks the overtaking grunt. The ZX was one of the best cars I have ever had in nearly 40 years of driving many. Reliable, economical, quick, not too noisy, well built - rather wish I still had it!

1996 Citroen ZX SX 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A brilliant performer

Faults:

Two new glow plugs and cold start relay recently.

Radiator replaced at 50,000 miles.

Clutch needed replacing at 40,000 miles, probably due to the previous owner!

General Comments:

Fantastic car, a pleasure to drive. TD performance is fast & frugal, mid range torque can't be beaten.

Not the most reliable car I have owned but well worth the few niggles I have had.

Handling and ride are well above average. A lot of fun for a bargain price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2000

1996 Citroen ZX Memphis 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42 miles
Most recent distance70 miles
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

If you enjoy your driving find one before they have all bitten the dust

Faults:

New radiator required under warranty.

New sunroof mechanism £500 ouch!

General Comments:

This car is an unbelievable blend of mid range performance and handling. Performance with so much torque in a body this light is hard to match in the mid-range, a GTi would need to be pushed to its rev limit to make the same progress. Performance is weaker over 100mph but hey what's the speed limit? On sweeping A roads you can make fast progress in this car. Cheaper and mechanically identical to the sort after 306 D turbo. Niggles worth it.

Brakes are not good enough for a car this quick - get them uprated.

These engines if well serviced go on forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2000

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 14 reviews