1990 Daihatsu Charade Reviews

1990 Daihatsu Charade G 102 1.3 from Indonesia

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 kilometres
Most recent distance388000 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu Taft GT

Summary:

ROCKS

Faults:

CV Joint Boots are went bad

Tachometer is dead

Main lamp cables are burnt out.

General Comments:

This car is a little mini bullet proof, cheap gas, maintenance, and parts.

I use it for daily office commute for almost 100 Kms, via the Jakarta traffic and highway with 140 km/h for top, and it still keeps the performance good.

The service regularly 5000km changing the oil and the filter, following what the records book said. I hope nothing is seriously happen with my charade until I change it to YRV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2006

1990 Daihatsu Charade TS 1.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres

Summary:

Want performance spend the $$$$

Faults:

Both CV's have been replaced

Clutch has been replaced

Seats are completely shot

New suspension all round.

General Comments:

Have done some performance work to the engine with some head work, a decent cam, free flowing exhaust which helped heaps

Trying to find an imported turbo engine has been a big hassle and the same for a bodykit

The changes in the suspension have made it handle like nothing I have driven except the new Mazda Sp23.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2004

1990 Daihatsu Charade GLX 1.3 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired204000 kilometres
Most recent distance214000 kilometres
Previous carSeat Toledo

Summary:

Dollar for dollar, the best car I've had

Faults:

One thing, the air conditioning causes the car to stall at idling.

General Comments:

It's just a terrific car, gutsy, given its size, so easy to drive, darts in and out of traffic great. Easy to park.

Can use a bit of extra fuel in city driving, but open road gets 5.5/6 liters to 100k. It's a great, great, great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2003

1990 Daihatsu Charade SX 1.3 EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

An excellent bargain and fun to drive!

Faults:

CV boots replaced at 100,000 miles.

Front discs replaced 105,000 miles.

Brake pads and shoes replaced at 60,000 and 105,000 miles.

Factory tires (155 80R13) replaced at 60K with BFGoodrich TA Radials (175 70R13) and at 80k with Pirrelli 175 70R13.Lowered fuel economy a little, but improved handling.

Struts are starting to show signs of fatigue at 108,000 miles.

Spark plugs, timing belt, alt belt, ac belt, fuel filter, oil filter, oil, transmission fluid, all replaced per factory specs.

Seats have been wearing since 60,000 miles, but have covers on them.

Added a pop-up sunroof first year at 500 miles, really adds to the fun of the car.

General Comments:

This 1.3 Ltr EFI Automatic has been a great little car for the last 12+ years. Bought this over a Honda Civic. Unfortunately, with the pullout of Daihatsu from the US market, most parts such as struts are difficult to find.

No matter what we do, driving 30, 55, or 85 mph we still get 28-30 mpg. On long trips, if you clean and wax the car before the trip, we get an additional 2 mpg. Only real complaint is that it would be nice to have some more horsepower under the hood for merging onto the highways.

So far, zero engine problems, zero transmission problems.

If they still sold here in the US, I would definitely buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2002

1990 Daihatsu Charade SE 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance235000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Great bargain. Costs less than expected to run, and runs very well

Faults:

Replaced radiator, alternator, water pump, CV joints, starter solenoid.

General Comments:

Very quick 16 valve engine. GREAT technician at the end of Daihatsu America's 1-800 line, saved me $$$$. Example, mechanics wanted to replace the starter for $350, Daihatsu said it's probably just the solenoid, cost $65 with installation. Great parts on this car, had good luck and great tech support.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2001

1990 Daihatsu Charade GTti 1.0 petrol from Singapore

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres

Faults:

Brake calipers leak (rear).

Damper leak.

General Comments:

Fastest car (1.0), can kill lots of Honda ESIs, CRXs etc. Pickup takes 7 seconds if fully modified.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th February, 2001

1990 Daihatsu Charade SE 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Best car I've had yet

Faults:

Okay, it has some quirks:

A couple of shorts in the dash wiring.

A worn CV joint.

Nothing out of the ordinary with over 200,000 miles.

General Comments:

I wish they'd made more of these little sedans, they run on and on. I don't see why people didn't buy into a car this good. Cars these days usually have major motor or transmission work done by now. Not this one. Still runs like a top.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2000

17th Nov 2003, 16:32

Those are the exact problems I have had with my daihatsu charade. I'm looking for parts now. this car seems like it will last forever.

12th Dec 2007, 17:37

These little Charades are top little cars. I have had a few cooling system dramas such as a eroded radiator hose connection and thermostat housing bolts shearing, partly my fault, however the car just soldiers on. I need some advice on suspension upgrades though, so if any one has some part numbers, manufacturer's that they believe are worth the $$$ then please let me know. Long live the G102.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 7 reviews