2001 Fiat Marea Reviews

2001 Fiat Marea HLX 2.0 20v from Turkey

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 20v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance99000 kilometres
Previous carLada Samara

Summary:

A great car, highly recommended

Faults:

Nothing really has gone wrong, it's never let me down.

Thermostat for the engine cooling system failed at 50000 km and was replaced.

Both left and right rear suspension rubber stops in coil springs had to be replaced.

General Comments:

Comfy for driver and all front and rear seat passengers. Spacious enough for five adults, but knee-room could have been improved.

Long journeys made easy. Comfortable and supportive seats suitable for long journeys.

Powerful engine with pleasing sound. Becomes thirsty when pushed hard.

Accurate and responsive steering with good road holding capabilities when cornering.

Responsive and safe brakes.

All-round visibility is good except for the rear.

Steering wheel should have had reach adjustment for even better comfort behind the wheel.

Clutch is so good that I think it never needs be replaced.

I get over 36 mpg (imperial gallons) on open roads at 100 - 120 kph. That is acceptable for a 2.0L engine with 1255 kg weight.

I highly recommend this great Italian performer to anyone who does not want to pay a fortune for popular brands.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2008

2001 Fiat Marea HLX 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Cracking - wolf in a very boring sheeps' clothes

Faults:

Nothing apart from some loose interior trim around the A frame and snapped bolt holding splash guard on.

General Comments:

Goes like hot snot! Fantastic noise, nice gear change and comfortable ride.

The car is not designed for cornering at speed as there is body roll, but as an everyday car it is extremely good.

Spares are easy to get hold of though some can be expensive, I bought the car in February for £1300 and then spent £400 getting the cambelt done. Additionally I have carried out servicing myself on it which has kept the cost of running down.

It is not the most fuel efficient of cars to run - and that engine note encourages you to use it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2007

2001 Fiat Marea ELX 1.9JTD from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9JTD Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carCitroen C15

Summary:

Much better than you think

Faults:

Timing belt (not cam belt)

Rear windscreen wiper

General Comments:

The car humps heavy loads (I'm a working musician) cheerfully. Because I am always loading and unloading it in the wee small hours after gigs, the load space is seriously clashed however I bought this car because it was cheap and I did not want to be seriously worried about abusing it. It goes well, handles well, is reliable and I would buy another happily. It is a far far better car than I expected. Thoroughly recommended if you are not into image, but want comfortable, economical motoring.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2006

2001 Fiat Marea Weekend 1.9 td from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9 td Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

An excellent choice for someone looking for a decent reliable estate car... with a bit of ooomph!

Faults:

Very little has gone wrong with the car, apart from silly things like the boot catch sticking and things like that. Nothing that a bit of lubrication didn't cure.

General Comments:

Such a fun car to drive. The Weekend is a large estate, and it is easy to forget that you are in an estate. The TD engine is amazingly powerful and really does feel like a sports car. Superb handling and excellent comfort.

We tow our caravan with ease, although getting the correct towbar was expensive, because of the drop down boot arrangement. A brink detachable towbar did the job well and looks great.

We love our Marea and would love to get a slightly newer one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2006

2001 Fiat Marea SX 100 16v 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carFiat Brava

Summary:

Great under-estimated gem!

Faults:

Accelerator cable snapped, but I think my mats had something to do with this.

General Comments:

Comfortable cruiser. Great road holding with decent tyres, good on fuel also, for a full tank (60l) I get 480 miles approx. Lots of extras for bargain money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2005

2001 Fiat Marea HLX 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

A bargain against the new price

Faults:

Jumps out of 3rd gear.

Seat and cigarette lighter electrics are faulty.

Central locking faulty, Key push button's were both both broken.

Leaking Rear light.

Paintwork has a lot of chips.

Mirror paintwork is flaking.

General Comments:

On first impression, this car bought at auction for £3,000 looked a good buy for a 3 year old car.

It feels comfortable and the interior was in good condition.

Good standard of gadgets and are easy to operate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th August, 2004

2001 Fiat Marea HLX 2.0 20v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 20v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8500 miles
Most recent distance11450 miles
Previous carCitroen ZX

Summary:

One the best used car bargains on the market

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with it so far.

General Comments:

The Marea has exceeded all my expectations, it handles town driving like a small car and long trips like the big car it is. I've driven to Cornwall and back in a day on one tank of petrol so fuel economy wasn't a problem.

The interior is well appointed with nearly electric everything, much better than my old car. It can take myself and three friends plus all our fishing gear with ease and still doesn't feel cramped or closed in.

I picked this up for £7000, nearly half the original selling price and only a year old, if there's a better bargain around I'd like to see it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2003

2001 Fiat Marea ELX 2.4 20V Gasoline from Brazil

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 20V Gasoline Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 kilometres
Most recent distance52000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Vectra

Summary:

Great performance and comfort at an excellent price

Faults:

Absolutely no faults on the car since purchased.

General Comments:

The local model comes with a 2.4 l, 20V engine (160CV) which provides excellent performance on the open road.

I can't agree with reports of high fuel consumption; I do better with the Marea than previous cars such as Vectra and Peugeot 405, unless I use my right foot too much, then consumption can be frightening.

Pretty nippy in the city traffic as well.

Full marks for comfort in the front seats, but the rear is a little tight.

Material used for interior trim is a little 'cheap' and the Darth Vader stereo is a real put-off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2003

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 8 reviews