1999 Fiat Punto Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1999 Fiat Punto Sporting 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8520 miles
Most recent distance20660 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

This car is serious fun, I have done 12,000 miles in 9 months

Faults:

Had a sticking valve which was repaired under warranty.

General Comments:

Tends to go through tyres and 185/55 14 tyres are not cheap. Addition of a K&N induction kit and Supersprint exhaust have made it sound amazing under hard acceleration. The handling is not bad, but could do with a set of aftermarket gas shocks and lowering springs (Eibach or Abarth).

The gearbox can be a bit notchy, but other than that, quite good.

The car revs high at motorway speeds due to close gearing.

A must modification for any Punto is to get rid of those god awful orange side repeaters for some colour coded or clear ones.

The ride can be a bit harsh so the car can tend to rattle.

Also, if you change the discs or pads yourself, all sportings have 257mm solid discs. Halfords sold me 240mm discs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2001

18th Jan 2002, 12:31

You said you fitted a K&N induction kit to your Punto Mk2 16v.

I have not managed to find a kit.. just a K&N cone filter which the retailer said he would fit for me in the engine bay.

Would I be doing a good job?

Thanks.

DAVID

djf@onvol.net

1999 Fiat Punto ELX 1.2 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 8v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance12400 miles
Previous carFiat Marea

Summary:

Has spirit and character

Faults:

Besides a few minor trim faults the car seems robust in all aspects.

Major fault/problem is with the dealerships, who seem incapable of doing anything right the first time.

General Comments:

A joy to drive, though has to be worked a little hard in the 8V form, a delight to look at and be in - very pleasing, fun little car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2001

1999 Fiat Punto Sporting 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6500 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Cheap speed demon

Faults:

Passenger electric window slow on closure.

Driver's electric window runner broke.

General Comments:

Quick and fairly cheap car for 19 year olds like me. Get saving for the insurance though.

Easily modified.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2001

20th May 2001, 04:21

For insurance, the Punto is expensive for a 1.2.

For lower insurance and better performance, try a Micra Sport+ or Lupo/Arosa Sport.

4th Jun 2001, 13:38

Micra Sport!!!??? LOL, I don't think so.

11th Oct 2001, 12:29

Micra no way, a MG Metro Turbo more like.

8th May 2004, 16:24

As a 19 yr old myself, when I phoned the insurance company I expected a heart attack!

It did not come, I was very surprised and pleased with £525 tpft for a 99 1.2 sporting. this also covers me to drive other cars, track day cover, I can modify it and it covers my stereo, which is a good thing as it is worth almost £5000 its-self!!

2nd Oct 2005, 16:37

Well I just brought a punto sx 60 and and its true the passenger window is slow it even stopped and the insurance is very high £1500 just 3rd party, but my god it shifts I love it just don't thrash them to much the 1.2 seem to like blowing head gaskets.

1999 Fiat Punto Sporting 1.2 twin cam from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.2 twin cam Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7494 miles
Most recent distance9013 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 213S

Summary:

Bargain hot hatch

Faults:

None!!

General Comments:

Lovely little runner, spot on little Escort XR3i basher.

Looks the part, runs not far from it. A must for any want to be boy racer at my age >21!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2000

1999 Fiat Punto 55E 1.1 from Czech Republic

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

A very qood looking and quality budget car

Faults:

Hardly anything.

Adjustable driver's seats was faulty twice, but now seems to be OK.

The paintwork is quite sensitive to scratches. Very easy to dent.

General Comments:

Very reliable car, very spacious and very economical (47 MPG).

Very easy to drive. I really love this car. No other car in this segment compares to this car in rear seat space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2000

1999 Fiat Punto 60 S 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Faults:

Nothing really went wrong with it, but that's probably because I didn't give it chance to. Took it back whilst still under 30 day exchange and got a Honda Civic instead.

General Comments:

An abysmal little car. Felt like sitting in a shed attached to a go-kart chassis. This car has no acceleration, uncomfortable seats, dire spec (manual everything).

An allround nightmare. Embarassing to be seen in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2000

22nd Aug 2001, 10:17

I am very confused. You think the Punto is small, underpowered, uncomfortable and hasn't got enough gadgets, but you still go out and buy one!!!

9th Apr 2004, 15:50

Too true. Just exactly what did he do in the way of a test drive to miss all of that?

1999 Fiat Punto 60S 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

A very pleasant car to drive, willing acceleration, good cornering etc. Brakes are a bit poor though. Basic model is a bit spartan. Lots of headroom, but the positioning of the steering wheel means I can't see the warning lights or part of the speedo!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 1999

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 29 reviews