1995 Fiat Tipo Reviews

1995 Fiat Tipo i.e. 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Fine car

Faults:

Please help, Fiat Tipo 1.4 i.e. Why have I only got front brakes? Rear brakes don't work fully, handbrake is fine, but nothing on the pedal. Bled them thorough, newish shoes, no leaky pipes or cylinders, tried everything.

If you have an answer, please mail me at richardcompton@hotmail.co.uk, much appreciated. Urgent as I must get it MoT'd.

General Comments:

Great other than that, in all aspects.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2006

1995 Fiat Tipo SX 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance101600 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Fast and reliable for pocket change price

Faults:

Wheel rims leaking due to rust.

General Comments:

Car is quick off mark.

Could have done with higher ratio gears as hits red line to quick trough 1st to 3rd.

Car still has no surface rust even though had deep scratch on rear quarter panel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2004

1995 Fiat Tipo 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.7 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carFiat Panda

Summary:

Good at first, now downhill all the way

Faults:

The reliability seems to flounder with every service. Head gasket blew very recently after a catalog of engine stall problems.

The electrics are the imagination of Leland and alternator, starter motor and earthing problems are a constant bottomless pit into which much money has been thrown.

My Father-in-law has the same model and his has now developed the same starting/cutting out for no reason problems.

General Comments:

Must be to do with M reg Tipo. I had years of happy motoring with my previous Fiat Panda.

Has anyone out there got the same problems relating to this year? If I could only have reliability for more than three months I would be a happy man indeed. I've decided to cut my loss it and sell if anyone wants it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th September, 2002

1995 Fiat Tipo SX 1.6 petrol from Argentina

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 kilometres
Most recent distance41000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

A very comfortable car with a good cost/price ratio

Faults:

They have some electrical problems.

I have some problems with the suspension, especially in the front.

General Comments:

I really enjoy driving this car.

It has a comfortable cabin, specially a big space with well finished seats.

The model 1.6 SX has a complete instrument panel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2002

1995 Fiat Tipo SLX 2.0 from Brazil

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 kilometres
Most recent distance65000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Tipo

Summary:

The best Fiat ever produced!

Faults:

Nothing but normal maintenance.

General Comments:

It's a good car, my second one. It's a "small Tempra", cheaper and as comfortable. It runs like hell (2.0 engine only).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2000

1995 Fiat Tipo S (Pop) 1.7 diesel from France

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.7 diesel Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 205

Faults:

Almost everything. The car was in a fairly poor state when I got it (for a low price). But the problems have been continuous, among others:

- Gearbox is hard and cracks loudly when the car is cold.

- Ignition is very difficult in cold weather.

- Several leakages of diesel.

- Electric windows would not close anymore.

- Severl little failures inside the cabin (material used inside the car is of very poor quality and things tend to break easily).

General Comments:

The car was cheap. Although it is not very old, it is more of a kind of early eighties car by this poor overall quality.

Car shows low running costs though, as its consumption is very reasonable (but it is also very very slow!). Moreover, spare parts are easily available and very cheap (at least in France).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd July, 2000

1995 Fiat Tipo ies 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carFiat Panda

Summary:

Very reliable and comfortable

Faults:

A lot of minor problems electrically, such as bulbs blowing all the time. Suspension failure on the rear left.

General Comments:

Generally this car has been very reliable, it has not failed me yet and is very comfortable for the engine size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd June, 2000

25th Jun 2003, 15:45

You have to look for the electrical ground close to the lamp. Make these groundconnection and where they must connect on (on the body of the car) clean these and you have less problem.

1995 Fiat Tipo ies 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

A good price when initially bought and it has served me well so far

Faults:

Fuse box had to be replaced.

Flexi centre piece of exhaust had to be modified to fit when needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

Generally a good all round family car. I was a bit surprised when I had problems with the electrics, but was informed that this is not uncommon with Tipos. The car still holds its stylish looks, even in 2000! It's a pity that there is no real resale value for this type of car as FIAT have that name from the past. I picked this car up for £5,300Ir a couple of years ago, and will not see much above half this when I decide to sell it this year!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2000

3rd Mar 2001, 04:45

With regard to the exhaust problem - I had to replace the front down-pipe on my 1993 1.6ieSX (including the flexible section which was the cause of failure) at 36,000 miles and it cost me £170! Is there a way of getting just the flexible section repaired??

29th Mar 2004, 16:50

That flexi-central pipe can be replaced with an inexpensive flexi pipe from a mid 90's Cavalier. The cost is around £40-50 for the part.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 8 reviews