1986 Ford Fairmont Reviews

1986 Ford Fairmont XF 4.1 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.1 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired253284 kilometres
Most recent distance253527 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

A exceptional cruiser

Faults:

This car has been completely trouble free.

General Comments:

This is the second Fairmont I've owned.

My previous Fairmont was an '86 XF.

I have found this car to be very reliable in terms of cold starting, driving etc.

In terms of space and comfort, I would give ten out of ten on both.

I've also found when cruising around town, engine and road noise are almost inaudible.

In summary, the XF Fairmont is reasonably powerfull, very roomy, comfortable and is an all-round beutifull car.

I also love the exhaust note, the sound of power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2007

1986 Ford Fairmont XF 4.1 Carburettor Crossflow from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.1 Carburettor Crossflow Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired333800 kilometres
Most recent distance345680 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Great car, good amount of torque for towing heavy trailers

Faults:

Glass windows smashed, replaced.

Wheel alignment, aligned.

Blown tyre, purchased new one.

Air conditioning not working, regassed.

Rust in quarter panel, common fault, repaired.

Gearbox slipping.

Terrible fuel economy.

General Comments:

Nice car to drive.

Light steering.

Built like a tank (in a good way)

Comfortable on long distance driving.

Bit smoky when started, goes away when running.

Excellent safety rating (the car was involved in an accident and not much damage compared to other car!)

When stopped working, easily fixed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2005

6th May 2006, 14:56

Rust around boot lid seal is also a common fault leading on to water entering tail lights. Good quality tail lights are hard to find. Also idle control valves are hard to find second hand and are expensive brand new ($285).

1986 Ford Fairmont XF 2.8 diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8 diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

Its a good and reliable

Faults:

When I got the car it was petrol and that was the only fault. It was a 4.1 petrol.

I changed the front seats cause I think they should have never had a bench seat in them

I have never had a spanner on the motor since I've had it.

I put a turbo on it which made a notable difference.

General Comments:

The cars not the quickest car on the block, but I didn't want it for that reason I got it for cruising not racing.

I think the the re-power with the nissan motor is one of the best there is.

It"s reasonably quite for a diesel and you can't hear it much when your driving.

You've got comfort of the big car and economy of a four cylinder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2004

21st May 2005, 05:31

Hello. I was wondering what sort of diesel motor you put in the Falcon and how much it cost you.

1986 Ford Fairmont XF Ghia 4.1 EFI from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.1 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired210000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Summary:

Good car if you can afford the fuel

Faults:

Door handles breaking, 5 all up.

Digital dash flickering and not working.

Electric window button breaking and a window jamming.

Radio turning off when high beams flicked.

Indicator module breaking.

Voltage regulator on alternator frying.

Poor fuel consumption 18L 100k highway driving, 20 city.

General Comments:

As long as you can afford the fuel it's a nice roomy car.

It's not awfully quick, but has been reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2004

1986 Ford Fairmont Ghia EFI 4.1 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission EFI 4.1 Don't Know
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired165000 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

A great cruiser

Faults:

The E.F.I. relay and idle control valve went when I got it.

The Auto Gearboxes are too weak blew 3 in the first couple of months I had it.

Also blew a diff.

General Comments:

On long trips the car is good on fuel it's terrible in town.

The E.F.I. 250 has good performance with a T5 cog swapper it can keep up up with anything up to 2001 model Holden or Ford stock 6 cylinders.

Get rid of the 3 speed automatics, single rail 4 speeds and light duty 5 speeds they are rubbish put a T5 in and you will never have gearbox troubles you can't break them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2004

1986 Ford Fairmont XF 4.1 carby from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.1 carby Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Drive it anywhere with no worries!

Faults:

Rocker cover gasket needed replacing as oil was leaking onto the engine and exhaust, causing smoke and fumes!

The carburettor is on the way out.

The door handles are a very bad design.

Overheated once, but that was my fault for not checking the fluid levels.

General Comments:

Extremely reliable. Starts first time every time regardless of temperature.

Definitely not the fastest ford around, but very smooth, quiet and very comfortable for 4 adults.

Get one with power steering.

Likes to drink the petrol around town. 95km/h has proved be a good economy cruising speed with the 3 speed transmission.

Make sure the front of the car sits lower than the rear, or they look terrible.

Looks very smart with polished Ghia mags.

Cheap and simple to service.

Great first car, family car or workhorse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2003

18th Apr 2009, 06:50

Clear and detailed. Reminds me of my lovely XF.

1986 Ford Fairmont XF from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance175000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Gemini

Summary:

Costly to maintain

Faults:

The automatic was rebuilt at 8000km and again at 150000km.

The air conditioner was replaced.

The digital dash would flicker on and off.

The units on the digital speedo were very dim.

The central locking failed.

The engine would idle rough.

Water would run down the radio aerial cable through the wall and onto the computer causing the car not to start.

Engine started to chew oil.

General Comments:

Costly to run and repair.

Chew petrol.

Comfortable and smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2003

1986 Ford Fairmont Ghia EFI 250ci Straight Six from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission EFI 250ci Straight Six Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired230000 kilometres
Most recent distance308000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Great value, new car mechanicals in a older body

Faults:

The computer had to be replaced at 280,000kms.

Water pump at 295,000kms.

Idle speed control valve needs work.

Mechanically these are a very strong car.

General Comments:

This car is a perfect solution for anybody out there who wants something a little less average than a Commodore/Calais.

This car is lighter than it looks and with a good set of tyres will corner surprisingly well with consistent drift in the back end when under power in the wet.

I have tested mine against many a car and the EFI big six surprises many.

A very comfortable, enjoyable and easy to drive car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2002

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 8 reviews