2003 Hyundai Santro Reviews

2003 Hyundai Santro from India

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14 kilometres
Most recent distance96000 kilometres
Previous carMaruti Zen

Summary:

None of my future cars will be from Hyundai

Faults:

Alternator had to be replaced after I drove through a rain filled road for 5 kms. It cost Rs 7000, which I got to know was available outside the Service Centre for Rs 3000.

For over THREE Years, my car has a problem with the ignition. According to the Service Adviser, the coil does not get the correct position in every turn on the key, and that is why it happens. I got a part replaced, but it still comes back now and then, and keeps me stranded on the road.

Service charges and general maintenance are VERY expensive as compared to the other cars of the same category.

General Comments:

It was working fine for the initial 2-3 years, but beyond 50000 kms, it needs regular services, which involve high repair costs.

This car chickens out at speeds beyond 80 kmph, and seriously vibrates, indicating its weakness.

Also, this car is not made for Indian road and traffic conditions.

One thing I have always admired is the power steering, and the way it can be parked so deftly. I will miss this power in my future cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th December, 2009

2003 Hyundai Santro Club 1.0 EFI from Pakistan

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.0 EFI Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance37000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Khyber

Summary:

Satisfaction at its best

Faults:

Not a single problem.

General Comments:

Very nice piece of equipment. Totally satisfied with the performance and reliability.

Had no problem for last 3 years and its much better then any other same priced hatch back in the market.

Highly recommended :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2006

4th Apr 2008, 02:26

I bought a Santro Club almost four years ago! Found it OK to drive, but since it is only 1000 cc and I have driven V8s also, so I miss the power. Otherwise, for smaller cars it's a better choice than Suzukis and the Coure, because it has more space. It's also good for a couple who want to buy a neat clean new car within a limited budget!

3rd Apr 2009, 04:56

Best in 1000 CC cars in respect of comfort, space and drive.

What else one needs if he can have good pick from a small engine with reliability and joyful drive. This trendy and good looking car with big red brake lights looks stylish.

Only drawback is limited space for legs in rear seats and slightly hard steering.

Again :-) Best in 1000 CC cars...

2003 Hyundai Santro 1 litre MPFI from Pakistan

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1 litre MPFI Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired55 kilometres
Most recent distance35000 kilometres

Summary:

Cost effective

Faults:

The back seats are uncomfortable specially for longer journey.

General Comments:

The car is the best value for price so far. Engine is very smooth and reliable. Cost effective on fueling. Cabin is huge with lots of small storage compartments.

The only drawback is the rear seats. very uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2005

14th Nov 2005, 15:14

Rear seats are a pain. They curve upwards which makes your back curve and that makes it very annoying for long distances. Ended up in dire need for an upper back massage... felt like sticking needles in my back for relief.

2003 Hyundai Santro club 1.1 from Pakistan

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance21000 kilometres
Previous carToyota corolla

Summary:

Won't buy koren's technology in cars

Faults:

My brake disks worn out after 7000 km. Whenever I push brake the car shivers. My car gets hot the dealer says fault of heat sensor. or may be the main computer which costs about $400. or something else. Most uncomfortable car I have experienced. Staring is too hard. difficult to maneuver in rush areas. Fuel consumption is low. It's about 8km/ liter. This car has a bad leg room for the rear pessengers.

General Comments:

The car has a room for going on picnics. This car is good for internal cities due to it's size. It's a powerful car, and climbs easily on inclined planes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th December, 2004

2003 Hyundai Santro Exec 1.0 EFi from Pakistan

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.0 EFi Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres
Previous carHonda City

Summary:

Excellent buy. Would highly recommend

Faults:

Seats creakes and had to be replaced. Were promptly replaced as the car was under warranty.

General Comments:

It is a very comfortable car. A pleasure to drive and the finishing and accessories are excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2004

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 5 reviews