2003 Kia Rio Reviews - Page 13 of 16

2003 Kia Rio from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Previous carDaewoo Nubira

Summary:

Would buy a Kia again

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Outstanding value! I am in sales and drive over 80 miles a day. To date, I have been very pleased with this car. It is Peppy, fun to drive. It also comes with a great stereo. It is also very stable on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2004

2003 Kia Rio RX-V 1.6 Dual OHC from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Dual OHC Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance8600 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Neon

Summary:

A well appointed value

Faults:

I can report in the first few months of operation, there have been no problems at all with the car. Other than oil changes, nothing else has been required.

General Comments:

This car has a small horsepower output, but because of its low curb weight and high tech engine, it is surprisingly quick. The lack of a bigger engine only comes into play perhaps when traveling on the highways, but even then it holds its own. For around town, it has no problems getting up to speed.

For the money, it is quite roomy and quiet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2003

6th Dec 2009, 19:52

It's not a high-tech engine at all.

2003 Kia Rio LX 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance10500 miles

Summary:

Great price for a great little car!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I have nothing, but praise for this little car. At first I was skeptical. I am in sales and drive daily over 100 miles a day.

The heater works like a champ, as does the air conditioning.

The fit and finish is as good as anything I have seen.

Great on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2003

25th Mar 2008, 17:35

I could not agree more about the heat this thing throws. It's fantastic--especially in a Canadian winter when you regularly wake up to -20°C.

2003 Kia Rio from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired47 miles
Most recent distance2056 miles
Previous carMercury Lynx

Summary:

A great value for a low budget

Faults:

No known items have been found so far.

General Comments:

This vehicle has been a pleasure to own and drive. This is my first brand new vehicle, and it drives like a champ. I travel every weekend approx. 250 miles one way, and it is very comfortable and enjoyable ride. The gas mileage is running around 36 miles to the gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2003

2003 Kia Rio Base 1.4 liter from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 liter Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

The KIA RIO is an annoyance

Faults:

The brakes squeak continuously and were "turned down" at 11,000 miles and sometimes the automatic locks do not lock unless you push them down as hard as you can.

General Comments:

I tried on several occasions to get the dealer and the manufacturer to do something about the brakes and the locks. They told me nothing was wrong with the brakes even though they already had to be resurfaced. They blamed that on me driving two-footed, which I do not. They said it was normal for breaks to squeak especially in the morning. The brakes squeak all day long. As for the locks, they could not get the locks to act up in their presence so they refused to do anything about it. I talked to the dealer and the manufacturer and no one will do anything. I guess I just have to live with the fact that I bought my very first brand new car and I have the same problems as I would if I had a used car. I will never buy a KIA again and will encourage everyone I know not to either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th September, 2003

3rd Feb 2004, 15:31

The squealing brake are becase they are matallic brakes. My mom has a new Ford does the same thing. I have had my Rio for 2 years not had on problem. My best friend has had his for 3 still not problems.

6th Dec 2009, 20:05

Metallic brakes? No - those are not used. The dealer really cannot do anything about your locks if they cannot duplicate the problem. I do not like dealers, or mechanics for that matter - but that's just how it is.

2003 Kia Rio S 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired23 kilometres
Most recent distance4000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

A super budget rocket

General Comments:

The car is great. It runs well, fun to drive and very reliable. The dealership has excellent service. The 106 HP engine is quite quick and runs smooth. I love my Rio!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2003

2003 Kia Rio RX-V LX 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired150 kilometres
Most recent distance3300 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

The RXV is an all round sharp deal

Faults:

Recently brought in for routine three month 15 point inspection and oil change.

Nothing was wrong with it at all.

General Comments:

This model is really fun to drive.

The sunglasses holder, driver side & passenger side cup holder are real pluses.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2003

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 53 reviews