2000 Kia Sedona Reviews

2000 Kia Sedona GSX 2.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.9 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carNissan Serena

Summary:

Unreliable

Faults:

Back brakes worn shoes.

Back brakes cylinders leaking.

Front brakes caliper jammed on pads and discs required.

Automatic gearbox lost reverse.

Headlight relay switch broke.

Handbrake doesn't hold.

Sunroof stopped working while slightly open.

General Comments:

Decent amount of power for such a large van.

A comfortable ride with plenty of room even in the back row.

Fuel economy isn't bad for a big people carrier.

It looks pretty good considering the price.

Rust appears to take hold really quickly.

For all its good looks it has a very tacky feel inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2005

2000 Kia Sedona LX 2.9 TD from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.9 TD Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carSeat Alhambra

Summary:

Great car let down by things going wrong

Faults:

New front disks fitted

New gearbox fitted

Pipes to power steering split

Pipes to power steering split again 1yr later

Rear shockers both leaking oil

Rear heater pipes corroded.

General Comments:

Great vehicle, but I am not happy with all of the things that have gone wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th December, 2003

2000 Kia Sedona S 2.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz S-Class

Faults:

The front brakes wear out every 5,000 miles. And at 75 pounds a set plus 20 pounds fitting charge, it gets very expensive. I now import my own brakes from South Korea at 13 pounds a set, to save being ripped off.

The fuel filter has blocked up twice and had to be replaced. At nearly 40 pounds each, I had to find a cheaper copy. Fram do one for 17.50.

The car has to be serviced every 6 thousand miles, and it's not cheap. £28.50 for semi-synthetic oil. I cannot understand why you have to use semi-synthetic oil if it is getting replaced so frequently.

The carpet by the pedals has worn a hole in it, and was replaced. Six weeks later it has a hole in exactly the same place. It could do with harder wearing material in these areas.

The driver's seat has split, and is due for replacement.

All this from a vehicle that is less than 9 months old. If you are considering buying one, don't look at the cost, look at the cost of the parts to keep it on the road. That is where Kia is extortionate. It's not a lemon, but I am sorry I bought it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th June, 2001

2000 Kia Sedona SX 2.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission 2.9 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

Well specified people carrier for a cheap price

Faults:

Both Front headlights suffered from slight condensation. Both replaced under warranty without any argument from dealer.

Tailgate metal a little weak, slight dent caused when closing the door. Fixed by dealer.

General Comments:

Seating and luggage capacity excellent, Will genuinely carry 7 adults with room for three of their bags! Local Taxi firm has bought three so must be cheap and reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2001

12th Jan 2003, 10:53

If you do read this... are you by any chance from Darlington.

I have noticed a local taxi firm have also got a few Sedonas' too.

2000 Kia Sedona SX 2.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.9 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carFord Galaxy

Summary:

The best value MPV in the world. Thanks, Kia

Faults:

The car has been perfectly reliable.

General Comments:

Over 33mpg for an automatic car of this size is phenomenal.

The diesel engine has so much torque, it feels equally spritely when fully laden as when empty.

It knocks spots off my previous car, a Galaxy, which was overpriced, depreciated like a stone, and had 14 trips back to the supplying dealer in the first year.

The three Kia dealers I have visited have all been professional, courteous, and offered excellent value for money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2001

2000 Kia Sedona GSX 2.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.9 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance3800 miles
Previous carCitroen XM

Summary:

Great car, needs slight refining. Watch out for newer models that iron out the glitches!

Faults:

Defective air con.

Various dashboard rattles and resonance.

Rattling/squeaking passenger side airbag and cover.

General Comments:

Upon collection (a Friday evening) I found the air con not to be working, on the Monday I returned it to the dealer to be told it was working when I picked it up as the mechanic had tested it (yes, OK, it must have been me! did I break it daddy?) Since, it has driven me mad with rattles and squeaks, the service manager told me "it's a Kia" insinuating that I got what I paid for and a "Galaxy would have been 3 grand more" and I suppose without rattles and squeaks.

The dealer is rubbish, twice after having the A/C fixed the car has been returned to me slightly damaged (minor scratches)which they didn't do! And I was even told that a paint work blemish that I spotted after only 10 days ownership was because of bird crap! Must be crap paint to suffer so easily! Plus I had no occasion to remove any bird crap from the car in those 10 days, must be see through crap. Kia if you are reading, the car is good, it represents value for money but your dealership in H*****, Ess** leaves a lot to be desired, when ever I go there I feel intimidated and ready for an argument!

Back to the car, fuel consumption not as good as I was lead to believe on the motorway (lucky to get 30/33 mpg @ 70/75 mph) and that turning circle! It has shown me up several times! And of course the squeaks and rattles, can't Kia sort this or at least advise their dealers on how to deal with the squeak/rattle problem without the service manager sitting in the car saying "Nah, that was your leather shoes creaking" or in response to the squeaking "Is that your mobile or mine?"

Nice car, shame about the dealer!

NB: you can have your Sedona serviced by any VAT reg garage, if like me you require trusted hands to look after your investment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2000

7th Aug 2001, 13:10

Hi, I can't pinpoint the rattles but if you use red rubber grease or rubber grease on all the rubber parts on the doors tailgate etc it might help.

Hope this helps.

Russ T.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 6 reviews