2008 Kia Sedona Reviews

2008 Kia Sedona LX 3.8L V6 from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

Great van so far!

Faults:

Sliding door won't catch to stay open.

Brake sensor needed to be replaced at 70,000 miles.

Sliding doors are impossible to open in cold weather.

Arm rests are loose.

Oil pan was not properly sealed.

General Comments:

This van has a lot of power.

This van has a great, smooth, car-like ride.

Interior is pretty bland.

Interior is roomy.

Third row seat is pretty small.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2011

2008 Kia Sedona LX from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired9990 miles
Most recent distance10170 miles
Previous carKia Grand Carnival

Summary:

Doubt I would buy another

Faults:

I've only owned this car for a week, and can't believe the bad gas mileage compared to the Caravan.

The automatic sliding doors FROZE, and I couldn't get them open. I had a 3 year old grandson; I had to struggle to put him in his car seat from reaching over the drivers seat. This could be a dangerous situation in an emergency... not liking it after 1 week...

General Comments:

Never gave it a thought about freezing the electric sliding doors and not having access to getting them open, even after warming up the car for 10 minutes...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th February, 2010

20th Sep 2010, 21:08

You realize there was a recall on the 2008 electronic sliding doors?

2008 Kia Sedona 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance28200 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Like a space ship, powerful and spacious!!!

Faults:

My girlfriend and I have driven our 2008 Kia Sedona for 2 weeks now, and nothing seems wrong so far.

General Comments:

We love everything about our van so far. The vehicle had 28,000 miles and have put on 200 miles. We were offered a 5 year bumper to bumper warranty or 60,000 mile warranty.

Yes, this van is quick, much quicker than other vans we test drove. Seats seem great so far, however with my business van I doubt we will rack many miles on it.

Family members have driven it and brother bought same model as ours.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2009

2008 Kia Sedona LX from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance31000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Never ever buy a KIA!!!

Faults:

I bought the 2008 KIA Sedona off the lot in January 2008; in March 2008 the engine accelerated on it's own while on the highway to over 7000 RPM, and then the engine shut off on it's own. (This happened twice!) I caused one accident as the mechanical features are messed up. For those in Ontario, imagine the car stopping on the 401 in the middle of the night! KIA's excuse: the mats were stuck! The dealer took pictures (obviously a set up to cover their end!),kept the car for two weeks claiming it was flooded, but miraculously it started for them. All of a sudden, it drives well. Hmmmm? Customer service is horrible and inconsiderate! Kia do not take care of their customers! You are on your own once the car is off the lot! Never buy a Kia! You will regret it!

General Comments:

A deathtrap in disguise, and not the safest car on the road.

Too many mechanical problems are not exposed to the public and are covered by the dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th November, 2008

26th Nov 2008, 15:32

"Never ever by a KIA!!!"

- Now you know why KIA = Killed In Action.

1st Apr 2010, 13:14

Now that we've had the obligatory comment about unreliability, I can point out that in general, Kias are much-better screwed together these days than they used to be. However, you still get the horrible dealer service you've come to expect from them. Also, in the news, Toyota dealers are pretty bad as well. Also, so are GM dealers. Honda dealers aren't much better. It's a great big level playing field out there now, with most cars being of at least average reliability, and the dealers making the only difference. It's time to stop shopping for cars, and time to start shopping for dealers.

7th Jul 2010, 14:47

I've had problems with the front blinkers on my 2008 Kia Sedona for over a year. I keep taking the van back to the dealership to get it fixed, but after a couple of days, the blinkers stop working again. It's a never-ending battle and there seems to be no remedy to the problem.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 4 reviews