1994 Mitsubishi Montero Reviews

1994 Mitsubishi Montero SR 3.5 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

100% reliable, taking me places that I never dreamed of seeing

Faults:

Routine maintenance. Never replaced a light bulb.

Like brand new after 18 years.

General Comments:

The Montero is built like a tank. With proper maintenance, this SUV will last for decades.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2012

1994 Mitsubishi Montero LS 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

It's a Swiss Army knife on wheels

Faults:

I replaced the radiator thermostat by myself at 70,000 miles: $18.

Oxygen Sensor failed and was replaced free by dealer even though warranty had expired.

That's it. Not bad for 10 years.

General Comments:

After 10 years of ownership I can only conclude that this has been an extremely trouble-free vehicle. No reason it can't go another 10 years.

Cosmetically it is durable too: Not a hint of rust and it polishes up like new each spring.

This is a very capable off-road vehicle. The 5 speed standard is perhaps the most capable and versatile 4X4 ever made.

It also looks formal enough to take to fancy occasions.

Seats up to seven people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th June, 2004

9th Nov 2004, 12:06

I also own a Mitsubishi Montero LS 4x4 (1995) - this is without a doubt the best cars I have ever own, 150K miles, use for off-road and city - great vehicle - I changed the thermostat myself a couple of months ago, and replaced the fuel filter as well. - Runs and looks like new.

29th Dec 2004, 23:18

My family and I also have a Montero{LS} it has gave me the worst problems anyone can imagine. I have had three engines put into this SUV and it is still in the shop back and forth. Minor things also occur on this SUV:windshield wipers, rattles, starting, and also low idiling. I will NEVER BUY a Mitsubishi EVER in my LIFE.

1994 Mitsubishi Montero SR 3.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

A nice SUV that may last forever... or die tomorrow

Faults:

Uses large, expensive tires often.

Must check oil every time you fill it up.

NO LOW OIL LIGHT!

Oil pressure gage failed to read low when out of oil.

Ran out of oil and killed 1st engine at 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

Expensive to maintain.

Must be vigilant to avoid running out of oil and killing the engine.

Great stereo system.

I love driving my Montero and I hope that it lasts forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd October, 2002

1994 Mitsubishi Montero LS 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

Pass this one by

Faults:

For the first three years I owned the car there were relatively few problem.

An intermittent problem with transmission lever position switch preventing the engine from starting - took three years and numerous trips to the dealer to resolve.

Serpentine engine belt replaced 3 times and the tensioner twice.

Both front window regulators broke - expensive.

Engine started smoking at 50,000 miles -dealer told me that the valve seal and or valve guides need replacing - very expensive.

General Comments:

Generally smooth operating vehicle is marred by frequent engine and other mechanical problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd January, 2002

1994 Mitsubishi Montero LS 3.6 gas from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.6 gas Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired55 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Potentially dangerous vehicle from an indifferent manufacturer

Faults:

Engine blew (bad exhaust valve) 2000 miles past the warranty. The factory showed no interest in helping - in fact blew me off along with the problem.

Repair cost $1400.

Recently, the hood spontaneously popped open at 70 MPH covering the windshield and nearly killing my family. Very scary.

Electric motor failed on the driver's side window.

Manufacturing defect causes the serpentine (fan belt) to wear unevenly and squeal after 10,000 miles of use. Must be replaced.

Consumer support philosophy: "Don't call us, and we won't call you".

General Comments:

Mitsubishi has received a lot of bad press for poor/indifferent customer support. They deserved it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th August, 2001

1994 Mitsubishi Montero SR 3.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carMazda 929

Summary:

An all around good vehicle

Faults:

New battery, new timing chain at 105,000, new A/C belt, burns oil badly.

General Comments:

Don't take sharp corners fast with this car, check the oil every day, really reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2001

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 6 reviews