1990 Nissan Pathfinder Reviews

1990 Nissan Pathfinder 3.0 litre V6 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 3.0 litre V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carGMC Sonoma

Summary:

Quality and reliability, through simple, intelligent engineering

Faults:

My passenger rear window regulator broke at 170000.

General Comments:

This is such a well running and reliable vehicle. It is 22 years old now, and everything works. It is a fully loaded model, and every switch, every bell and every whistle still works.

Beside the radio, a dash pad, and some lift gate shocks, everything inside is as it came from the factory.

I am a car guy, and have owned many makes and models. I love this SUV. I jump in it every morning, confident it will start right up and get me where I am going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2012

6th Mar 2014, 19:00

Hey, do you still have this car? What's the mileage at and how's it doing? I'm looking at a 1990 with 175,000, owner is asking $2450, a bit high, no?

Any insight/advice would be awesome!

Thanks, Ryan.

1990 Nissan Pathfinder XE 3.0L V6 Vg30e from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Vg30e Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired315001 kilometres
Most recent distance315656 kilometres
Previous carNissan 280ZX

Summary:

One of the best SUVs, even for its age!

Faults:

Drivers side rear park light ground had corroded and stopped working. $4.59 new bulb socket fixed the issue LOL.

Awesome trucks. Starts in -35oC without block heater!!! Drives through snow like it was a grass field.

Fender wells started to rust out, but just cut 2 inches above rust and sprayed with BEDLINER and it's been perfect.

General Comments:

Awesome truck. sprayed fender wells and fenders with Bedliner as well as first 4 inches of front of hood to prevent rust and rock chips. Frame is solid.

Not a single leak from the transfercase, differentials or engine. 315000km on it and running strong. Still gets 125km per $10 (10L) of gas. Awesome little truck if maintained.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2009

10th Dec 2009, 16:16

Bedliner to protect from rust.. a creative idea if I've ever heard one! Now, how do you do it without ruining the paint job? Is it clear bedliner or what? (or do they even make such a thing?) The only spray-on bedliner I've seen or heard of is matte black!

1990 Nissan Pathfinder SE 2.3 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carJaguar XJ6

Summary:

Low Maintenance Dependable Machine

Faults:

Particles in the distributer that caused ignition break up.

Squeaky fan belts.

Hinges for the hatch window broke.

General Comments:

This has been the most dependable car that I have ever owned.

It's not a power house, but it will always get you where your going.

It's roomy comfortable and difficult to justify replacing since it just won't quit.

The paint looks great and the interior has held up perfect except for minor cracks in the armrest. Take care of it and it takes good care of you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2006

1990 Nissan Pathfinder 2.4 from Egypt

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired173000 kilometres
Most recent distance208000 kilometres
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Great car that needed to be marketed better

Faults:

Fuel pump died suddenly.

General Comments:

A very good car, but underpowered for its weight.

I changed all the original suspension with Old Man Emu shocks and the results were beautiful.

I also installed Warn manual hubs and this improved the gas mileage by 10%

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th April, 2004

1990 Nissan Pathfinder XE 4x4 3.0 liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance245000 miles
Previous carVolvo 760

Summary:

A roomy, dependable 4x4

Faults:

I have replaced (2) fuel injectors (180,000 miles) and the alternator (200,000 miles). The body, if not taken care of, will rust. That is something to look out for especially. The speedometer is starting to not read correctly (approx. 240,000 miles). Speed 4 (highest speed) of my fan does not work.

General Comments:

This is a very sturdy, robust machine. I could not be happier with the Pathfinder. It has been very dependable up to this point. I am still running on the original engine and automatic transmission. The 4x4 still functions properly. As long as you change the oil at 3000 mile intervals and change the timing belt every 60,000 miles, the Pathfinder will treat you well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2004

1990 Nissan Pathfinder XE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles

Summary:

Strong as a tank

Faults:

The only bad thing to happen to me with this car was when my transmission went out at 175,000 miles. It was repaired for under $1000 and hasn't given me any trouble since.

General Comments:

This car is the most solidly built, longest lasting, and most totally dependable car I have ever seen. It's nearly up to 200,000 miles and still starts with ease and runs like it was brand new. Definitely 2 thumbs up and would recommend this car to anyone.

All dealers are creeps, but Nissan dealers around here aren't as bad as the rest of the pack.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2001

7th Feb 2004, 00:33

I second that, I got in a wreck with a 2002 dodge dakota because I ran a red light. I just about flipped the guy and I wrecked his front end to bits, but when I got out to check my nissan patty I was like "is that it?" I came out with a smashed in headlight, parking light, and i bent the hood to the size of my fist.Minimal damage i say, minimal. It looked like I took a baseball bat to the front of my patty, but I actually smashed in a Dodge. Tank is right O brother! Oh yeah, I was in a parking lot and smashed in a civic (i think it was a civic) and I came out with a bent in bumper! The civic was wrecked. That's my story. Buy a Nissan Pathfinder 1990. Army should ditch jeep for their body and switch it up with the hard body from Nissan. Tank indeed.

1990 Nissan Pathfinder LX 2.4 z24 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 z24 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired235000 kilometres
Most recent distance275000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Look for the V6

Faults:

Fan Belt tension due to someone who didn't know how to adjust it.

Wheel alignment due to spring sag.

General Comments:

Good car, not good for the back, pretty underpowered, high fuel consumpsion. Good off road, and a bit noisy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2001

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 7 reviews