1996 Renault Clio Reviews - Page 10 of 10

1996 Renault Clio 16V 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

A high performance, high insurance car

Faults:

At around 50,000 miles I had new disc's and pad's all round.

Hand brake cable went at around the same time.

Rocco cover cracked which cost £10 to fix.

General Comments:

This car gets through brake disc's and tyres like there's no tomorrow.

The car doesn't like being driven at low RPM which is terrible when driving slow, and also the clutch is very heavy which is also a pain in slow moving traffic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th May, 2001

1996 Renault Clio RT 1.4i petrol from Turkey

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4i petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance56000 kilometres

Summary:

It's like Asterix: Cunning little warrior car..

Faults:

Although it was equipped with power steering, I always had the feeling that it was not - especially when parking.

The handbrake gauge began to display during driving after about 50,000 km.

General Comments:

Even though it lacked some comfort, I loved my car. It performed well on road and it was economical. The equipment level was OK (there had been no power mirrors on any other super mini rivals then).

The cabin was roomy enough for a small car.

The heater operated superbly on winter days (no air-con fitted).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th February, 2001

1996 Renault Clio 16V 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired54855 miles
Most recent distance55100 miles
Previous carCitroen AX GT

Summary:

Stylish hot hatch

Faults:

Bumpers dropped slightly on the driver's side, Renault dealer called it 'normal'.

General Comments:

Doesn't feel as fast as it is.

Very nice handling, sticks to the road.

Brilliant seats.

57i Induction Kit makes the engine sound amazing.

Turns heads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2001

7th Jun 2001, 15:20

Further to my previous review:

Main shaft in the gear-box snapped.

Both wheel bearings have gone.

Clutch has started to go.

Since I first got the car 4 months ago, many things have gone wrong, meaning a lot of cash spent.

1996 Renault Clio Williams 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra GSI

Summary:

Williams mean's brilliance

Faults:

Electric windows gave up two weeks after buying.

Have done the head in (owners fault due to high revving).

Wheel bearing on the rear left wheel.

General Comments:

Fantastic performance, but a true car for a girl. Handles like a go-kart, rev's to the heavens and screams like a baby.

A bit cramped in the back, driving position isn't right but I do recommend this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd November, 2000

3rd Jun 2001, 04:08

The man doesn't know a performance car when he see's one. I have owned my Williams 3 for a year now. And having owned many different sports cars, I love this one the most.

22nd Oct 2002, 13:55

Anyone heard of a clio elf special edition.

5th Aug 2004, 08:29

I'd just love to know how he's managed to do 52,000 miles in 2 years!!!

1996 Renault Clio RC Manager 1.9 diesel from Portugal

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance133000 kilometres
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

A very good choice

Faults:

Nothing went wrong with the car.

Some small noises inside the front doors that were solved on a visit to the dealer.

Changed rear shock absorbers with 90.000 Km.

General Comments:

A very reliable car, confortable and with low running costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2000

1996 Renault Clio RT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

Brakes, fading in excess, and nothing else....

General Comments:

GREAT GREAT GREAT CAR it makes you feel too sure in driving and lets you forget the matter of brakes .

I have had two Clios and I always have been happy... BUT I SEE THE NEW ONE IS UGLY AND SO WHAT CAR SHALL I BUY ??? Shall I be so lucky as I was with my Clios?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 1998

22nd Jul 2001, 15:39

I've looked at all the other cars on the market and they just don't match the clio.

1996 Renault Clio RL 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

The factory forgot to connect the starter motor properly.

General Comments:

Good small car, it has the best roadholding of any similar small car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 1997

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 33 reviews