2003 Subaru Forester Reviews - Page 4 of 5

2003 Subaru Forester XS from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles

Summary:

Price was a little high for quality, but the AWD is great!

Faults:

I have had several rattles develop in the cabin area that I cannot quite pinpoint. I have gone to the dealer for major service (15, 30K) and felt the price was outrageous! One of the front speakers on the "premium" sound system have already blown and of course right after the bumper to bumper warranty was up. The middle seat in the back is not leather (even if the car has the leather package) and has began to crack. If you are looking at a used Subaru watch for this in the Forester.

General Comments:

I like how this car drives. It feels a lot like a car, and the storage is a great plus. We haul a lot of stuff in this vehicle -- including our Siberian Husky dog. I have the leather package and the seats are a little bit uncomfortable after 40K miles. The all wheel drive is a plus and obviously a big selling point for Subaru - it is great in the winter!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th November, 2004

2003 Subaru Forester SX 4 cyls from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cyls Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance14750 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Fraud

Faults:

Check engine light went on at 14250 miles.

The engine noise and vehicle vibration.

General Comments:

This car is very unreliable.

Spend in the repair shop 31 days and still has the same problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th June, 2004

12th May 2014, 15:12

What was the fault code?

2003 Subaru Forester X 2.5 from Qatar

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance10000 kilometres
Previous carJaguar XJ40

Summary:

A great all-rounder

Faults:

Mechanically = excellent.

Only problems = paint seems to chip/scratch very easily, almost on a weekly basis.

General Comments:

Overall = a fantastic family car, especially here in the Gulf.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2004

2003 Subaru Forester X 2.5L from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance5500 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Loyale

Summary:

A well thought out wagon for a reasonable price

Faults:

Two weeks after purchase, it started stalling on startup. The dealer then had the "idle valve" cleaned and now it no longer stalls.

Loss of coolant and engine overheating on very cold days. The dealer tightened a coolant hose clamp which was causing a leak.

General Comments:

I love the look and the handling of this station wagon. It is not as practical as the old Loyale wagon was, mainly because it has less cargo space and no mat to protect the carpet when the back seats are down to transport a dirty bike, wheelchair, gardening equipment, etc. The interior is comfortable and practical, with plenty of leg room front and back. Rear visibility is not as good as with the previous Foresters, because of the high backseat headrests and smaller cargo side windows.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2004

2003 Subaru Forester XS from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

A rational SUV alternative

Faults:

The front speakers have twice blown. Annoying, but not the end of the world. The dealer fixed the problem.

General Comments:

If you are finished worrying about having a car as some sort of status symbol and are looking for an exceptionally reliable, well-built small SUV, this is the car for you. The trim is hardly luxurious, but this car runs very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2003

2003 Subaru Forester STX 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

Excellent performance and reliability

General Comments:

We will have put 30,000 miles on the Forester in its first year. It has been very economical and reliable. Comfortable. A great car so far.

You get what you pay for. And this Forester is more expensive than comparable models from Honda or Toyota. That is the only drawback for me. I don't expect resale to be as high as the others - but am not planning on selling either.

We have changed the oil every 3,000 miles. That has been the only maintenance cost so far. Excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2003

2003 Subaru Forester VR MT 2.0 non turbo from Italy

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 non turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

A good 4x4 at a reasonable price

Faults:

Nothing have gone wrong with this new car, is still rather new, only 3000 Km.

General Comments:

I've chosen this car after a long search between different Sport Utility Veicle's type and characteristic. I've been impressed by the structure of this model and by the good balance between on road and off road performance.

After 3000 Km of mixed terrain drive (highway, light off road and normal road) I can assess that the first impression that I feel driving this car is Very Good.

The car fells a little bit stiff for the first 1000 - 1500 Km, but after the very initial period improve fast giving good response in different road condition.

Comfort is ensured by a good conditioning system well performing also during this particularly hot summer joined with a good suspension that promptly react even on bad surfaces.

A lot off room also for big mountaineering hard-wear and for my "heavy friends" have been strongly appreciated during our travel around the Alps.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2003

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 23 reviews