Triumph Acclaim Reviews

1982 Triumph Acclaim HLS 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Model year2010
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carSkoda Octavia

Summary:

Comfy, reliable, and a good classic

Faults:

Top of the engine was full of black sludge, and had to be cleaned out.

That's it.

General Comments:

A very good car. The engine is bullet proof, and the body will rot if you don't keep on top of looking after it.

I highly recommend one any day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2010

1981 Triumph Acclaim HLS 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 1.3 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carMorris morris 1300

Summary:

Best car bl produced

Faults:

Fuel filter blocked under r/h wheel not listed to be changed in service book other wise no problems at all a brilliant economical car.

General Comments:

A very swift economical car which if road conditions allowed would go off the speedometer overall comfort was OK and very easy for the home mechanic to service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2007

1981 Triumph Acclaim CD 1.3Petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3Petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Montego

Summary:

A very cheap and reliable runabout

Faults:

Heater matrix valve malfunctioned and was removed so heating is no on all the time. Trued to find replacement, but now discontinued by Rover and not readily available second hand.

Exhaust (rear section) fell off. Replacement obtained and fitted.

CV joints are getting noisy.

Uses a lot of oil.

Oil emulsifies on inside of oil filler cap.

General Comments:

Bearing in mind the year of this car it is incredibly well made and is in no doubt due to its Honda pedigree.

It drives well.

It is comfortable.

It returns about 30mpg around town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th February, 2005

1982 Triumph Acclaim L 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance90232 miles
Previous carTriumph Acclaim

Summary:

Fantastic, great, superb, lovely

Faults:

Nothing its great, I bought this car today, its had two previous owners has only covered 90000 miles, I drove it over 2000 miles home today & I am in love, what a great car.

General Comments:

I cannot praise this superb car enough.

The fuel economy is fantastic.

The ride is great.

It performs well on the motorway & on country lanes.

A bit plasticky, but its 22 years old & was cheap so I don't care.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2004

1982 Triumph Acclaim HLS 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Ugly Rocket

Faults:

No problems at all.

General Comments:

This car lacked style, however it drove really well, and was quick up to 100mph. Beat a lot of hot hatches away from the lights. Gear ratios were very well spaced for acceleration. It was 100% reliable. When I bought the car it had one lady owner from new & was like brand new. I only paid £240 for it. The only reason I don't have it anymore is because someone wrote it off for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th March, 2004

1982 Triumph Acclaim CD 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carTriumph Herald

Summary:

Fast, reliable, comfy and cheap

Faults:

33,000: rear door lock button fell into door panel (quite easily remedied).

33,000: Heated rear screen only working on 3 bars (not bothered to fix).

33,000: Driver's mirror vibrates (not uncommon, not fixed).

35,000: CV joints replaced after starting to click.

General Comments:

Surprisingly quick. Will cruise at 70 all day.

Very comfortable. Controls well laid out except for HRW and rear fog switches which demand a bit of a fumble.

Good road feel, no PAS, but steering plenty light enough. A joy to drive.

Well ahead of its time.

So good I bought another two!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd February, 2004

1981 Triumph Acclaim HLS 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership1991
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles

Summary:

Under-rated

Faults:

Carb diaphragms split at circa 30000.

Ignition switch jammed solid at 25000 leading to starter-motor failure.

Dropped an inlet valve at 40000.

Fuel pump failed at circa 50000.

General Comments:

If you can put up with the image and bland looks, you get a nippy, comfortable well-built car that is leagues ahead of its Astra/Escort contemporaries.

Its Honda engine a was torquey and free-revving little thing.

The chassis is fairly refined and the steering is sharp which makes it entertaining to drive.

My abiding memories of owning one were that it was exceptionally smooth and very tightly built. More BMW than BL.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2003

1983 Triumph Acclaim L 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Fast car if you want to go to the scrapheap

Faults:

Everything. Here is a list

The coil.

The wheels.

The exhaust fell off.

The electrics went wrong.

The flimsy seat covers split.

The clutch.

The boot leaked so badly there may as well not have been one.

And more...

This may be my driving style, but my old astra never went wrong.

General Comments:

This car is very quick for its age and for its engine size.

It drives very smoothly and the acceleration isn't half bad either.

Other than that there is not many good things to say about it. It cost well too much to run (Having to get new parts all of the time.) It just was not worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd October, 2003

27th Mar 2004, 13:45

You bought a 20 year old car - do you seriously expect nothing to be wrong with it?

4th Apr 2004, 11:16

I'm 28 and I remember about 10 years ago, my mate getting one of these as his first car. We all took the mickey (pensioner jokes etc etc), but to be honest, it was a great little car. For a 1300, it absolutely flew, and was actually really good fun to drive.

Haven't seen one on the road now for about three years which is weird when you think they used to be everywhere.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 15 reviews