2001 Vauxhall Agila Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2001 Vauxhall Agila 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance106450 miles
Previous carTriumph Herald

Summary:

Don't listen to the "knockers" - it's great

Faults:

Rotor angle sensor malfunctioned at about 50000 miles and cost £60 to replace.

General Comments:

Excellent headroom.

Fantastic luggage capabilities with the rear seats folded flat.

High driving position, and the fact that the rear seats are slightly higher than the front, allows panoramic views for passengers.

Seats a bit hard, but then all modern cars appear to be the same compared to my old Herald with sprung seats!

Slightly underpowered on motorways, but once up to speed will happily cruise at 70 very economically.

The cabin interior and seats are a bit drab - a shame Vauxhall did not keep the interior of the original Wagon-Rs with bright colours and storage nets in the roof.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2008

18th Aug 2008, 13:58

Bought a 2001 Agila 1.2 reduced from 2995 to 2495 still a bit high for an o1 but what a car, just got back from a coast run to bridlington,70 mph on motorway no problems 45 to the gallon 38 round town I let back seats down for an afternoon kip before returning home, next car will be a newer Agila, can't fault this vehicle in any way shape or form.

27th Sep 2009, 03:18

We've owned our 01 1.2 Agila for four years now, it's one of the most reliable cars we've had. The space in these cars are amazing, they are comfortable with plenty of leg room. I also like the look of them as they are different from the normal shape car. I would definitely recommend this cheap run around to any one.

2001 Vauxhall Agila 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance36567 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Nice little car

Faults:

Sometimes the reverse gear clunks, and I find it hard sometimes to block change gears.

General Comments:

Good little car and good handling. Very high up when you're driving.

Nice runaround.

It's smooth, but needs more power.

I love the PAS in it, and I think it's as light as a feather when you turn corners.

I think the cabin is very plastic, but it does the job.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2007

2001 Vauxhall Agila 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance16500 miles

Summary:

Great Little Cheap Runabout!

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

This is my first car and I have to say I have been delighted with it. I have done 1500miles in it and nothing has gone wrong yet. I use it on the motorway everyday to get to university and although it lacks speed it will happily cruise all the way at 65mph. It is absolutely superb in town and the room and comfort are great, I am 6'4 and I fit in and out with no problems at all! The specification was disappointing, but it keeps the Insurance low so I'm Happy. MPG isn't too good for a small engine!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2006

2001 Vauxhall Agila 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

Good city and shopping car, but not very robust

Faults:

Oil pressure sensors replaced due to leaks at 55000, 65000 and 75000 miles.

Crankshaft sensor faulty at 88000 miles.

Air flow sensor faulty at 73000 miles.

Cam timing chains had to be replaced at 5000 miles (warranty), 65000 and 89000 miles.

Front discs worn out of tolerance at 60000 miles.

Front nearside engine mounting needed replacing at 70000 miles.

Front offside engine mounting needed replacing at 30000 miles (warranty) and again at 75000.

Handbrake cable seized and replaced at 65000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is roomy for a small vehicle.

Maneuverability is truly excellent.

All round vision is outstanding.

Only a 4 seater, newer models are however 5.

Luggage space is excellent with rear seats folded, abysmal without.

Fuel economy is OK, but not what you would expect for such a small car.

The car is seriously underpowered.

There have been persistent rattles from the rear of the car virtually since new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th September, 2005

2001 Vauxhall Agila 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance245000 miles
Previous carRenault Renault 19 GTD

Summary:

A big capacity car for its size

Faults:

There is a fault with the gear box, in as much that you cannot drop from fifth gear to fourth gear at times without losing your gears completely. Also problems with getting the car into reverse gear. This is an intermittent problem, but can be dangerous when you have vehicles coming up behind you and you suddenly have to pull in and put your hazard warning lights on. Beware! if this happens to you within warranty period push for it to be fully investigated. Although I flagged the problem up to my dealer within warranty, they couldn't find a fault, now it's out of warranty they've acknowledged there is a fault and it looks like I'm going to be stuck with the bill!!!

Also beware that it is possible to 'lose' vehicles (as big as Range Rovers) from sight in the space taken up by the front pillars either side of the windscreen.

General Comments:

Generally a good little car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2004

2001 Vauxhall Agila 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7307 miles
Most recent distance27303 miles
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

Fantastic!!!

Faults:

Very very little. Noticed a problem with the paintwork on the drivers door, it appeared to be cracking under the lacquer. Vauxhall admitted that the car had been "smart repaired" whilst a demo, and they paid to have the door and surrounding area stripped back to bare metal and resprayed.

Other than that, just the obligitary tyres (as expected), brake pads (my fault!) and the remote control battery on the key fob went flat. Nothing serious at all.

General Comments:

Fantastic car for the price, I can't fault mine!

Although it looks small, I'm 6ft 2in and have no problems with it!

Air conditioning is a godsend!

1.2 engine highly recommended over the 1.0!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2003

18th Jun 2006, 19:15

I have just been given and X reg Agila by my partner. It really does grow on you. After losing my Mazda 626 to a broken cambelt, I quickly grew to enjoy the spacious interior, easy parking and all round view. This is a relaxing easy car to drive and it fits in to the smallest of parking spaces. O.K. - it's red and really does look like Postman Pat's van, but who cares! It's a comfortable upright back supporting drive and I'm thinking a new one in silver would be nice.

2001 Vauxhall Agila 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous carProton Proton

Summary:

Basicly a sound car

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Except for lack of sound insulation found to be allround good car

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2003

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 10 reviews