1985 Vauxhall Astra Reviews

1985 Vauxhall Astra Mk2 L 1.2 OHV + LPG from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 OHV + LPG Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired210000 kilometres
Most recent distance280000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 440

Summary:

It's cheap to drive

Faults:

Rust - just like any older Vauxhall :-(

Starter - still didn't fix it - sometimes it just won't start - I open the boot and hit it slightly and... it works again.

Left front brake locked - just needed some cleaning.

Speedometer failure.

Exhaust system - all rotten -I'm just at the pint of exchanging it - planning to use a Nova GSi rear silencer.

General Comments:

It's CHEAP.

It runs only on LPG (half the price of petrol here).

Plactic panels squeak all the time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2003

1985 Vauxhall Astra GTE 2.0i 16v turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16v turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

The animal

Faults:

All these faults only occured on the new engine.

Head gasket.

Piston rings.

Lots of rot needing a lot of welding.

General Comments:

Bring on your Cossies, they are no match for this Calibra Turbo powered nutter.

In standard GTE form these cars are quick anyway, but I definitley recommend fitting a turbo lump, it's just as quick as a Cossie, cheaper and a lot more rare!!

What are you waiting for, get on the phone!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2001

12th Aug 2003, 09:14

Cool car. Have you transplanted the 4wd system as well? Can't imagine it's easy to get off the line without it.

22nd Jun 2005, 16:20

Must be a right laugh, but I bet half its power goes up in tyre smoke off the lights.

1985 Vauxhall Astra L Estate 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance115500 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 216Si

Summary:

A complete waste of garage space!

Faults:

Got a bad habit of blowing head gaskets.

Suffers with repetitive tappet rattle.

Drive gaiters split, they are too short and are made to stretch too far.

Water keeps getting in through the front wiper mounting, and flooding the driver's floor pan out.

Seat material is flimsy and wears easily.

Generally a flying workhorse of a rust bucket.

General Comments:

Always found it to be a bad starter.

Really flies when warm, but sways like a fat duck on any cornering.

Even after a short journey my back suffers in the sadly designed, poorly padded seats.

You spend all your hard grafted money to constantly pay out for endlessly required second hand bits to just keep it running.

Spending 20 times what it's worth, wouldn't dare sell it now!

Could be worth lots of money if it lasts 200 years!

And the only reason I still have it is I owe so much on repair bills! But that could change!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2001

7th Sep 2004, 15:01

You bought a 16 year old car. Did you seriously expect it to not have any problems?

25th Jan 2005, 05:30

I agree with the above comment.

It never ceases to amaze me how people can buy an old car and then grumble when it suffers from faults.

1985 Vauxhall Astra L 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles

Summary:

A piece of crap

Faults:

What didn't! This was my first car and every month I forked out money to get the thing fixed. Head gasket, wheel bearings, CV joints, radiator, alternator etc....

General Comments:

A piece of crap!! Maybe I just got a bad one but I'll certainly not buy another. The body work was also crap. Rear wheel arches and front wings rotted away to nothing! Seats broken, interior rattled like mad and the speedo read 10mph too fast!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2000

1985 Vauxhall Astra L 1.3 twin cam petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
Engine and transmission 1.3 twin cam petrol
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

The rear brake drums tend to lock and give you a nice fright, but that's about all.

General Comments:

Great car, fast, 1st time starter, sounds good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 1999

1985 Vauxhall Astra GTE 1.8i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
Engine and transmission 1.8i petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

Since buying the car, I have replaced the following:-

Battery, Alternator, Earth Leads, Fuel Pump, Oil Pressure Switch, Fan, Starter Motor, Brakes, Front Break Calipers, Front Disks, Rear Break Cylinder, K&N Air Filter

General Comments:

The car runs really well, it starts every morning, nice to drive and quite fast and best with the LCD Dashboard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 1997

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 6 reviews