1989 Vauxhall Astra Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1989 Vauxhall Astra GTE 2.0 8v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 8v petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra SRi 1.8

Summary:

Fast and unreliable fun

Faults:

Starter motor.

Welding in the wheel arches which is quite common in Astras.

Trackrod ends.

General Comments:

Once I got it tuned, it performed much better than I expected, it pulls through all the gears and with a K&N air filter it gives it a low grunting sound.

What a belta.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2000

1989 Vauxhall Astra GTE 8v 2.0 8v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 8v petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance130200 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra SR

Summary:

An affordable head turner

Faults:

Engine managment light and wiper level lights keep coming on.

Sounds a little bit gravelly

General Comments:

I owed an SR before but this car is MUCH faster. Bought it de-locked with a 16v body kit and Kent cam. A real looker and the performance is fantastic.

The 16v is faster, but at the right price the 8v version is just as nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2000

1989 Vauxhall Astra GTE 2.0 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance144000 miles
Previous carBMW 328i Coupe

Summary:

Keep hold of it - one day these are going to be very sought after!

Faults:

A few perished hoses.

General Comments:

This is my fifth Astra but the 16 valve is just THE business! I've sold my other car (a "newish" BMW 328i Coupe) because it was just too boring by comparison.

Widened track and lowered suspension make this the fastest thing ever on the twisty bits. Bad news is: Vauxhall have never made a car like it since. Drove a new one recently, yuk! - told the salesman to call me when he had a better car to sell me than my 11 year old 16 valve. Don't think he was too impressed - until I took him for a ride...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2000

1989 Vauxhall Astra Tiffany 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles

Summary:

A cheap thrill

Faults:

Brake calliper seizing.

Unknown fault to the starter.

General Comments:

The Tiffany is a cheap runabout, with a workhorse engine, it has a fairly decent spec on the inside for its age and the exterior is also surprisingly clean with its alloy wheels and metallic colour-coded body.

After overlooking the minor problems, I feel it should easily go over the 150k mark.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2000

1989 Vauxhall Astra GTE 2.0i 8v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0i 8v petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance102500 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 820i 16v

Summary:

Money well spent

Faults:

Just the engine managemant light and water coolant light on at the same time, due to not enough water/coolant.

Intermittent on the wipers doesn't work at the moment, need a new part for it.

General Comments:

Nice car, looks, performance, plenty of grunt, LCD dash is wicked.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2000

1989 Vauxhall Astra GL 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Mini

Summary:

Beats any Ford

Faults:

Not a lot really in the 2 years I have had it, starter motor went but was cheap to fix. Brakes needed changing once. On the whole, very good.

General Comments:

Good performance, cheap insurance, poor brakes for the size of car, very reliable. Excellent interior with all mod cons, pick one up for around a grand - bargain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2000

1989 Vauxhall Astra Swing 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 miles
Most recent distance112500 miles

Summary:

Good run around for a first car

Faults:

Water pump packed in, leaking oil from gasket head, both calipers seized (I have had them fixed but they still go every now and then), various rust marks around the body especially driver door (rust so bad some of the door has fallen off at the bottom!), rust around the wheel arches, front wings and boot and bonnet, chassis leg had to be welded for the MOT, petrol gauge has broken, tendancy to overheat if stuck in traffic jams, brakes are absolutely terrible - can't slam them on in case the calipers jam again!!

General Comments:

I love my car to pieces (it's my first car). Considering that I only paid £200 for it I am not that bothered about the things that have gone wrong with it. The interior is sound inside. I have been offered money to sell it (more than I paid for it in the first place) but I would never part with it. It's a lovely runner and always starts first time. Insurance is cheap as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2000

1989 Vauxhall Astra SRi 1.8i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8i petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance13500 miles

Summary:

Bargain bucket!!

Faults:

Water hose, CV joint (d/s) bottom wheel pully(leading to a new engine!), the paint work has been peeling for months now, d/s wheel hub and bearing, rear arches rotting, new front discs.

General Comments:

With a few exterior modifications, this car can out look (and perform) some of the newest of today! Don't know about the group 13 insurance(especially with 9 points on your licence), still not bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2000

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 26 reviews