1999 Vauxhall Tigra Reviews

1999 Vauxhall Tigra Cheqers 1.4 i 16 V from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 i 16 V Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Good looking, quick, smooth, a real pleasure to drive and be in

Faults:

I have not owned the car for long, but I cannot spot a single fault. It's just had it's 6th service, so it's going well.

I am pleased with the performance and with new wheels, I think she handles great. The cabin still surprises me now when at speed it seems like your just ticking over.

General Comments:

To start off quick is not easy, however, don't worry, you will soon have a clear road ahead of you. Mine always seems to want more, and when I'm smiling I do not care about the two cramped in the back. It's a great little sporty number and I have no regrets and would recommend to all... if it's a good one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2004

1999 Vauxhall Tigra 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

I find the car very reliable and I do not regret buying it one bit

Faults:

My head gasket blew recently.

Why is everything such a big secret at vauxhall? They wanted £500 to do the head gasket, and there is no Haines manual on it. If you can fix engines, get your hands on an auto data book and do it yourself for a fraction of the price.

Got a few scratches on the doors. Found it hard to get the paint as all of the shops i went to said the colour wasn't out yet. I managed to get some mixed for me.

Air con is not working. Sounds like the fan is chaffing, will have to get this checked out. Im not too bothered about this though as i dont wish to use it.

Bulb blown in temperature control dial. Not a big problem, can easily be fixed.

General Comments:

A very nippy little car, i probably think this as my previous car was a diesel Corsa.

Great to drive, nice smooth ride and comfortable - unless you are sitting in the back, but if you don't like it, its too bad because I bought the car for me and I love it!

Looks great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th November, 2004

8th Nov 2004, 09:15

Regarding problems with the Tigra - just source a Haynes manual for the Corsa, underneath the body, it's virtually exactly the same car.

1999 Vauxhall Tigra 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired11700 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Terrific car with lots of go.

Faults:

Have had nothing go wrong with it so far, a very small fault - had difficulty in closing the boot properly - lock did not connect.

General Comments:

A fast number when put to the test particularly good on motorways. A slightly bumpy ride, but would highly recommend its looks - very zooty and dashing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2003

1999 Vauxhall Tigra 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

A dream car which turned into a nightmare

Faults:

I received the car in 1999 on the mobility scheme. I was absolutely over the moon. The day I got it I had to call out the RAC because the car would not start, it was totally dead. The RAC found that the battery terminals were not tight enough.

In August 1999, the car started to cut out on me, whilst driving along my hand brake light would flash, I would lose my PAS and then my brakes. This when on for months and Vauxhall kept taking the car in but could find nothing wrong with the car.

At the start of this year, my battery light flashes this time and the same thing happens, unfortunately this now tends to occur at 40mph.

Vauxhall put a computer fault detector in the car, and what do you know it has not failed on me, typical.

General Comments:

This may seem silly but I am petrified to go out in the car, you see I am a 21 disabled woman, I am so terrified of breaking down on my own.

I have a major problem because I only lease the car from mobility, and they will not supply me with another car, they keep telling me that I need to give Vauxhall a chance to fix it, but I have had the car over a year and the problem has not been recified.

The Citizen's Advice Bureau have been supporting me, but it seems that my only choice is to terminate the lease on the car, and then Mobility will send this faulty car to auction, and if they don't get the price they want for it I will have to pay the difference and only after this will I be able to have another car. By this time I will have no independence left.

Does anyone have any advice to give me?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th July, 2000

15th Jan 2002, 12:09

Have you tried contacting Watchdog at the BBC? They may be able to advise further. The URL is http://www.bbc.co.uk/watchdog

4th Aug 2002, 08:29

Also erm... It's a Vauxhall.

'Nuff said.

21st Aug 2002, 07:20

Not much help, but had the same problem with Motability, though with a Renault, they didn't help at all and ended up with a £2000 bill for the loss made at auction, so my advice, don't give up on the lease, ask for a replacement.

1999 Vauxhall Tigra Chequers 1.6 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v petrol
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10

Faults:

I've had this car a month, it's my second Tigra and nothing has gone wrong with this one.

General Comments:

On my previous Tigra (N reg) it had a lot of faults. I think the earlier models had a lot of problems but my S reg has been great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 1999

1999 Vauxhall Tigra Chequers 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10

Faults:

Both seat belts have been replaced as they were difficult to engage. Paint laquer missing on part of bonnet.

General Comments:

Stylish and sporty. Very nice to drive and get noticed in. Looks very smart.

Dealer has been very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 1999

1999 Vauxhall Tigra Chequers 1.6i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 1.6i petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

This is my third Tigra and I am very pleased with it. My latest one has aircon which I hope we get the summer for. I have fitted a fully colour co-ordinated body styling kit on it comprising of a boot spoiler, roof wing, front air dam, side skirts and colour matched mud flaps plus a multiplay cd player as well as the standard radio/cd player. I will take some piccys to send for you to put in your picture gallery.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 1999

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 7 reviews