Audi 80 Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 3 of 3

1990 Audi 80 2.0 injected petrol

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 injected petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Pajero

Summary:

A very nice car spoiled by its high running costs

Faults:

CV joints required replacement twice during my period of ownership.

All suspension bushes wore out and required replacement.

Alternator packed up.

Transmission required rebuild.

Temperature gauge would not always work.

General Comments:

A very well finished vehicle, a pleasure to drive, handles the road very well, a very safe car.

Engine performance is not too bad either.

Fuel economy very poor for a 2 litre.

Spare parts horrendously expensive, even second hand. That is, if the parts are even available at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2003

4th Jun 2005, 05:23

I have an A 80 E. I love it, but the transmission has just packed up. Anyone out there in the UK knows how I can get hold of a transmission. I don't want to rebuild or scrap. Archerfrak@aol.com. RSVP asap.

1993 Audi 80 2.6 V6 Quattro 2.6 V6

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.6 V6 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 kilometres
Most recent distance98000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Forester

Summary:

Perhaps the one I had was not a good example?

Faults:

Had to replace the power steering pump at just 90,000kms!

Fuel pump sender unit wouldn't register below 1/2 tank.

Unexplained loss of power (which even the useless local Fuel Injection 'specialist' couldn't diagnose (turned out to be one corroded joint)

Wouldn't start one cold morning.

Central locking was so slow to operate.

Front doors suddenly sagged slightly.

Big problem was finding a mechanic who really knew about these cars!

General Comments:

Over rated. Even with the quattro it didn't seem very confident in the dry and was good in the wet largely because of its lack of power!

Too expensive to run with too many major repairs for such a 'young' car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd June, 2003

1993 Audi 80 2.3 E 2.3 5 Cylinder EFi

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 5 Cylinder EFi Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance135000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz S-Class

Summary:

A good value prestige buy

Faults:

Electric Cooling fan motor blew at 110,000 km. Replaced with 2nd hand part for $700 AU.

All, but one speaker remained at the end of its time with me.

Occasionally the electrics wouldn't work when I started the car on hot sunny days. But when restarted would fix itself. Went away after one summer...

Engine would run very badly on cold mornings, and would not be responsive at all. When I put my foot down to accelerate it would almost stall before taking off. My mechanic said it was a timing problem, but it was never fixed completely.

Glove box would not shut correctly.

General Comments:

Was a great car and I owned it from new for eight years.

Drove it to Melbourne and Brisbane a number of times and the car is a fantastic cruiser with a very responsive engine and transmission. I had the 5 Cylinder version which I've heard is the best engine available in these cars, and having driven a V6 and 2.0 I would have to agree!

I had the optional leather and cruise, both which stood up very well to regular use.

Did not service at dealers after warranty expired due to high cost. Audi specialist provided better service anyway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2003

1992 Audi 80 E 2.0 SOHC Injected

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Injected Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired72400 kilometres
Most recent distance77800 kilometres
Previous carAudi 80 1.8 GTE

Summary:

Solid, safe, reliable, durable, and looks smart!

Faults:

Slight ATF fluid leak at the radiator end, problem with radiator fitting, will need new radiator (damn the automatic - never had radiator probs in any previous Audi I had, no choice - this is a Jap import with an automatic).

Slight coolant leak at the plastic coolant elbow on engine, possibly needs a new gasket.

Changed thermostat (wasn't running warm enough).

History unknown, so did full maintenance work including timing belt, fluids, auto transmission service, fuel filter.

General Comments:

Built like a tank - solid, no rattles, galvanised body won't rust.

Rigid - I bought this car because it's safe (with out paying through the nose for Swedish parts), a friend's survived a serious accident in an Audi with only a gash, he's bought another Audi.

Automatic is sluggish off the mark in city driving, but in the open road, can accelerate like my old 5-speed, thank goodness. Personally I'll ALWAYS go manual, but there are no 5-speed Audis in Japan, where this was imported from. Compromise - I wanted an Audi at a good price, must live with an automatic (Sob!)

Driving position not ideal for me - if I move the seat far enough back for my legs to be OK, I can't reach the steering wheel comfortably, must be an Audi trait.

My 4th Audi, new parts prices surprisingly reasonable vs. modern Jap cars, and reliable, none of my previous Audis ever stranded me.

Design still looks modern, doesn't look "older" than the A4, only different, dashboard well-designed, looks great.

All problems normal for its age, never serious.

Fuel consumption not too good around town (strange, a previous similar Audi auto had much better economy), but better in constant open road speeds.

I'm happy enough, can't wait for the A4's to come in as affordable Jap imports.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2001

26th Jun 2002, 23:43

27 June '02 -- mileage now at 92K km, since getting the car the radiator has been changed, one coolant hose, and I'm going to get the leak in the steering rack rubber boot fixed. The only other thing is the air direction dial was stiff and traced to a broken airbox, but haven't bothered as it requires removing the dash. I just had the mechanic set the thing to "defrost" and took the cable out. All age-related, but the car has still never stranded me, always starts, and still rattle-free and solid.

1986 Audi 80 GTE 1.8 injection

Year of manufacture1986
Engine and transmission 1.8 injection
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10

Faults:

Water pump, rear wheel bearing, worn spark plug leads. Had to re-weld a bolt in the subframe. Driver's power window, sparkie said it had some water in it. All age-related, nothing else has broken down.

General Comments:

Solid, reliable car, not prone to rust. Good performance, frugal enough. Owned since '98. Safe -- a friend survived a serious crash in an identical car, with only a small wound (and a bit of shock). Parts well-priced. Durable, well put-together. Sports seats offer good support. Still stylish for a 15-year old car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2000

10th Dec 2000, 06:35

This is really great car, I love it too.

8th Jan 2006, 08:46

I have this car. I really enjoy it!Probably the best car in the world.

1988 Audi 80 E 1.9

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 1.9
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

A very good car for a very cheap price. Its very comfortable and easy to drive, handles very well and gets good fuel economy. All you need to do is change the oil every now and then and add fuel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 1999

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 12 reviews