Audi 90 Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 2 of 2

1991 Audi 90 E 2.3

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres

Summary:

Style, Speed and Reliability

Faults:

The idle control failed last month due to general wear and tear (15 year old car). The mechanic I bought the car from is replacing it under warranty.

General Comments:

Apart from the idle control the car has not put a step wrong. The car takes off quick from the traffic lights and handles extremely well. The inline 5 engine makes a great rumbling sound that is very unique and the limited sound proofing on the engine means that everyone knows it.

The interior is nice and in perfect condition. Although the boot space has been sacrificed for more leg room.

I live 100m from the sea and there is not a spot of rust on the car.

The one draw back of the car is in unquenchable thirst, it consumes between 12-16L/100km of premium petrol; but it is definitely worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2006

29th May 2008, 00:12

I can't believe that it consumes that much. Mine is a 20V quattro and average mileage is 10.1/100

And all that with my gas lines leaking. I will get better mileage when I fix those.

1991 Audi 90 Audi 2.3E 2.3 petrol

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.3 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance148000 kilometres
Previous carToyota 4x4

Summary:

Simply the best!!

Faults:

The heater packed up so have by passed the same. It doesn't get that cold in New Zealand.

Driver seat has split, The dashboard covering has come unstuck in places, creating a bubbling effect.

But I guess for a vehicle 16 years old is to be expected!!

General Comments:

Great value for the money I paid!!

This car has everything, any driver should want in a family sedan.

Power, comfort, economy, plenty of room inside, the power delivery from the 5 cyl engine is smooth, quiet, Also the transmission is simply the best.

The paintwork is still original (black) When polished it comes up just like new.

I am fortunate that the two prior owners cared for this vehicle, as do I.

I have always wanted a European car and tossed up between a Beemer, and a Merc or an Audi.

The Beemer I took for a test drive was awful just a German Cortina in my View.

The Merc was a 2.3 but the 4cyl motor was likened to an old pack mule. Very sluggish and a tired feeling the rest of the Merc's performance at speed was top class!!

But the Audi in my opinion was in a class of it's own!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2006

1988 Audi 90 e 2.2 petrol

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 kilometres
Most recent distance223300 kilometres

Summary:

Class all the way until the sport kicks in

Faults:

The speedometer stopped working on the way home when I first brought it. This was fixed by simply pulling the instrument panel apart, then putting it back together.

The engine died when stopping or fast deceleration. This was fixed by adjusting fuel injection.

There is tappet noise when the engine is cold, but this is normal for an Audi, or so I have read.

General Comments:

I am very happy with this car. It is suitable for town driving, being pleasant under 4000 rpm. When I want to have some fun I plant my foot.

The 2.2 liter engine isn't too thirsty. I haven't worked out the mileage, but it is not much more than the Honda Civic 1.5 I was driving before.

The thing I like best about this car is the way it looks. It has class with a lot of sportiness.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2004

1991 Audi 90 2.3 E 2.3 litre 5 cylinder

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 litre 5 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 kilometres
Most recent distance117000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Tipo

Summary:

The weirdest car I've ever owned

Faults:

Radiator blew one hour after collecting from car from dealership.

Temperature gauge works sporadically.

Steering rack leaking, requires reconditioning.

Front bushes need replacing.

Strange clattering noise in engine when running cold.

General Comments:

The 90 is kind of the best of both worlds - it's the 80-style bodyshape, with the more powerful engine from the 100.

My favourite feature of this car is the 5-cylinder engine. It just oozes torque and pulls strongly from as little as 1500 rpm, with the unusual, but pleasant exhaust note unique to these cars. The broad torque curve means there's hardly ever a reason to take it all the way to redline, which is good because it's a bloody thirsty old beast!

Handling is good, but requires more steering wheel input than most cars I've owned. Steering would be the 90's biggest weakness - it's vague, flighty at speed and squirmy under braking.

Ride quality is excellent, and the cabin is decked out in plush blue velour.

Overall it's a rewarding car to own and drive, although I'm not under any illusion as to the long-term running costs of this vehicle. Having said that, the Audi 5-cyl engine is capable of racking up enormous mileages, so I think it's a good car to hang on to for a while.

It's also the most unusual car I've had, which is saying a lot after a Peugeot, a BMW and a string of Fiats.

Dealer service is truly excellent, especially considering it's a 13 year old car.

To sum it up, the Audi has the character and styling originality of an Italian car, with all the engineering hallmarks of a German one. They don't make them like this anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th February, 2004

13th Jul 2005, 08:44

A helpful review.

It played a part in the purchase of my own car.

I am now the proud owner of a 1991 Audi 90 2.3e.

Things to be wary of in your own purchase are:

* Fuel pump has a nasty habit of giving out

* Left hand window wiper arm is slightly longer than the edge of the windscreen (easily replaced)

* Corrosion can build up quickly on the windscreen washer nozzles

* Electric aerial is quite expensive to replace (approx $170 AUD)

* Watch the terminals on the radiator fan, they quickly burn out.

On the whole, a very nice "cruise" car.

Dealers are generally very nice.

I took it in for a service, and not only did they give me a loaner car (2003 Holden Astra), but after the very minor repair on the Radiator fan, they also detailed the car at no extra cost!

So :

* Diagnosis

* Repair to radiator fan terminal

* Loaner car

* Complete car detail.

Total cost : $155 AUD.

Very nice guys :-)

And as a P.S.

I'd just like to say, there's no other sound like the 5 cylinder growl of this car when you put your foot down.

It just oozes sex appeal. ;-)

Good luck if you purchase one of these. I love mine.

NR.

2nd Sep 2005, 03:27

I just bought a gorgeous 1991 A90 from an 'older' gentleman who took very good care of this beauty. It has 171k miles. This person was the original owner and had the car serviced and cared for by Audi, with the work orders to prove it! I am amazed at how well this car responds. I find myself having to back off on the pedal, she just asks for more! She is fully loaded, with the most pristine interior I have ever seen for a car of it's age. On the down side: The tranny is kicking on low gears, starting is not always on the first turn of the key and the security system is a bit tempermental. Otherwise, I LOVE THIS CAR!!

It is my GREAT small piece of German Engineering!

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 8 reviews