Chrysler Neon Reviews from Australia and New Zealand

2000 Chrysler Neon SE Unleaded

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission Unleaded Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance148000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Neon

Summary:

Great for its age

Faults:

Had it for 14 years.

Major faults - radiator cost $2000.00.

Electric windows have a fault.

Bad oil leaks - still not fixed; I just use stop leak!

Very cheap to maintain! Cheap parts.

General Comments:

14 years and still going hard.

Maintenance - new brakes and rotors (twice).

New tyres (3 times all 4 tyres in 14 years).

New spark plugs (1 in 14 years).

Air filter (1 in 14 years).

Oil filter every oil change (5 times in 14 years).

1 battery change in 14 years.

Maybe spent $2450 on maintenance in 14 years.

Costing $145 per year.

I would recommend buying this car again, even 2nd hand, only the SE model - if buying, get a mechanic to check it out and check the spark plugs for oil on them.

For its age it's done well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2014

22nd Apr 2014, 15:06

So why did you rate running costs as 0? A radiator for $2K (whether it's AU$ or NZ$) is pretty dear - a BMW or Audi radiator only costs from $450-650 depending on model and gearbox). Still, good to know it's served you well - I did wonder about 7 oil filters in 14 years, so you changed oil once every two years?

1997 Chrysler Neon LX 2.0

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance197000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Be wary of the 1997 models

Faults:

FEB 11: The car cuts out when at lights, turning into car parks.

The car stopped when slowing for a roundabout or going up hill.

The car completely stopped. New fuel pump was NZ $870+GST & labour.

Seatbelt has failed warranty, NZ$300 to replace new.

Speedometer not working correctly, drive gear worn out in gear box (currently unable to source a replacement in NZ).

The car was serviced, air conditioning turned on, then when stopped - gurgling sound round glovebox end - turned out a new radiator cap was needed, as the pressure was no good, and it was draining water from the water reservoir (luckily found the issue, otherwise it may have caused the engine to cook).

All the above needed fixing within the last 3 weeks; an expensive month :( Could have bought another car with the repair costs.

General Comments:

Took my car in for warranty the day before the devastating Christchurch Earthquake - and my Chrysler, which is in the North Island, has never ever been the same since.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd March, 2011

27th May 2011, 23:23

My daughter purchased a 97 Neon. It was a good looking car, actually got a great safety report from our RACQ magazine as the best second hand car for safety.

Since she has had it, it has cost a fortune to run. Brakes, front bearing, speedo, auto, new radiator, now something wrong with rear shockers as it crunches onto the tyres.

When she got it, it only had 98000klms on it. Being a 3 speed auto, it is not cheap to run, and you can never get a part easy, plus the paint is peeling off. Parts are too expensive, and it uses top grade oil, and it eats it; no leaks. She went to trade it in this week, and without the dealer knowing, a whole $1000 trade in. What a joke.

1998 Chrysler Neon SE 2L OHC Four

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2L OHC Four Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired31828 kilometres
Most recent distance103000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

I will not be buying another American car. Terrible experience!

Faults:

Power steering system ruptured at 53,000km, causing a total loss of fluid. Made an enormous mess of the engine bay.

Fixed under warranty.

Head gasket blew at 60,000 approx. Out of warranty. Cost AU$1200.

Both front wheel bearings fell apart. Cost a massive $500 to replace.

Fuel pump stopped at just over 62,000km. Replaced it myself, but the part cost me $400!!

Transmission leaked badly. Fixed 4 times in 3 months. Constant shuddering in reverse.

Speedometer failed at 68,900km. Never got it fixed - 'no parts'. Had to guess my speed all the time!

Horn button got stuck.

90,000Km:

Radiator fan stopped, overheating the engine again! This time, $1500 to do the gasket and flush the radiator.

Finally, driver's seat belt came undone while driving.

Got worse and worse, until it wouldn't buckle at all!

General Comments:

When I bought my Neon, it was 3 years old, with 2 months still left on the New Car Warranty. I chose a Neon, because my young family and I were amazed at the roomy interior. My wife loved the cute looks of it, and I had grown up with American cars, so I wanted a Chrysler of my own.

Needless to say, it was a big mistake!

The car was okay until the warranty ran out. Then it just started falling apart. Looking through my receipts, I have spent over AU$4900 just keeping the stupid thing on the road!

The interior was the best part! Plastics could be of a higher quality, but it's airy, well designed, and parking visibility is excellent! Luggage boot is massive for a little car and the air con is very cold.

The horrid vehicle now sits on my lawn, with weeds growing under it. I now have an ex-lease Camry Altise, and I plan to dismantle the Neon and sell the parts.

GOOD RIDDANCE!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th November, 2007

29th Apr 2011, 12:59

Never heard of such outrageous repairs on any Neon ever.

30th Apr 2011, 17:09

Thankfully this experience with the Neon (or Chrysler in general) is not that common. I advise many people on purchasing cars, and in 2001, based on nearly a quarter-million trouble-free miles on my own Dodge, I recommended a Neon to a handicapped friend who absolutely has to have a reliable car. To date he has well over 100,000 miles with absolutely zero problems. He has not even had the timing belt replaced yet, which should have been done at 60,000-70,000 miles.

1998 Chrysler Neon LX 2.0

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40 kilometres
Most recent distance48000 kilometres
Previous carJaguar XJ6

Summary:

A good looking, affordable car

Faults:

Nothing much has gone wrong, except for I've had problems with the gearbox slipping gears, also the reverse gear originally got stuck before 10,000 kilometers.

General Comments:

Overall the neon is a very reliable car with very few problems. Although I have found it difficult to find parts.

It is a very nice looking car, that performs very well and has a very luxurious interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2002

1998 Chrysler Neon SE 2.0

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 kilometres
Most recent distance25000 kilometres

Summary:

Love how it looks.... but everything else is crappy

Faults:

Both front passenger doors rattle... a common trait of the Neon.

Mechanics have no clue on how to fix any problem and it takes ages (months) to get in a spare part.

It's getting bumpier every day even though I check the air pressure.

Wind coming through the doors..

Radio stick fell off.

Driver's seat is practically flat although I'm only 75kg.

General Comments:

The only reason a person would buy a Neon is due to its looks. Although many have praised its driving performance, I've driven better.

Don't know about the Neon 2000 though.

Its engine, although a 2.0 litre, doesn't have the zip of most 1.6 litre engine cars. Now that's an embarassment. Doesn't change gears when you want it to (auto).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th September, 2000

26th Dec 2003, 23:39

Maybe you need to go to a different mechanic! If they can't figure out the problems your having with it... well that's just not right, isn't that their job? Its also very odd that it takes them months to get spare parts. The Neon is a VERY common car and there are tons of spare parts around.

Average review marks: 4.8 / 10, based on 5 reviews