Chrysler Sigma Reviews from Australia and New Zealand

1979 Chrysler Sigma GE Series Wagon 2.0 litre

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired149000 kilometres
Most recent distance151000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Awesome car. Love it to death!

Faults:

Hole in muffler, no big deal.

Few small paint chips. Again, no big deal.

Side trim on bottom driver's side fell off, but it's hardly noticeable.

Other than that, she looks good and runs great.

I also plan to keep her looking good and running good for a long time to come.

General Comments:

I got lucky and found one that is still in excellent original condition. Paid $1500 for it. Insured by Shannon's. Haven't had any major problems yet. It's a dream to drive.

I've gone from Newcastle to Port Macquarie and back again several times. Plenty of power and great fuel economy.

If you can find one of these in good condition (4 speed manual is a must!), go for it. Not good on the resale value (unless you find someone who's a bit into older cars like me!), but this is not the kind of car you would ever think of selling if you find the right one.

I've owned a few muscle cars in the U.S. (Camaros, Corvairs), and I must say this car has been just as much fun to drive. It's worth paying the money to keep her going, because it's a nice looking car, a bit rare to find these days, with good fuel economy and plenty of room in the back for storage or camping.

I would have a very difficult time selling it for twice what I paid for it, it's that good!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2010

1979 Chrysler Sigma GE SE 2.6

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres

Summary:

A fantastic car if you've got the money to really fix it up - engine-wise and exterior-wise

Faults:

Head gasket blew from overheating.

Blows smoke when started/goes through a lot of oil.

Headlining has fallen down.

Fairly rubbish radiator.

Lots of exterior rust and therefore leaks.

Air-con doesn't work.

General Comments:

I have a 1979 Chrysler Sigma. Bought it a year ago for $900. She's now had her day!

Blown a head gasket and can't afford to get it repaired. She constantly overheats and often is only running on 3 cylinders. The speedometer said she's only done 100000 KM when I bought her, but I reckon the car yard wound it back. That's virtually impossible for a car that's 30 years old. Blows a lot of smoke when I start her and goes through a bottle of oil a month.

Despite the "problems" (I like to think of them as nuances, and find looking after her special needs a "labour of love") she's been a fantastic car.

A lot of power, good brakes, good handling (I quite like not having power steering).

She was top of the line back in her day, with reclining seats in the back, reading lights, plush interior, tinted windows. So awesome!

A fantastic first car. I am sad to see her go. However I'm hoping to keep her and do her up over the years. It's not worth selling because only a wrecker would want her, and I don't want a scrap yard to be her fate. She's too beaut of a car!

As my first car I'm really sad to see her go.

Up the Sigma!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2008

1979 Chrysler Sigma GE SE 2.0 Ltr 4 Cylinder

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 2.0 Ltr 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired280000 kilometres
Most recent distance290000 kilometres

Summary:

Good old car on its last legs!

Faults:

Brakes failed due to loss of brake fluid. Had to 'pump' them to get them to work!

Had a couple of water leaks - one in the cabin, the other in the boot.

Used quite a bit of oil and also blew smoke when started.

General Comments:

This car was really ready for the scrap yard when I bought it as a (very) cheap runabout for my girlfriend who just got her licence. For $500 I got the car, road worthy certificate and 3 months rego. Not too bad really!

This was the top of the line Sigma with plush interior, rear reclining seats, rear passenger reading lights etc etc. The old girl had seen better days though. The motor was clagged and tired, but it never broke down the short time I had it. It always blew smoke when started, but when warm it used to drive rather smoothly for an old banger!

After 6 months we were sick of the faded paint, tired trim and sooty rear end. I detailed her up and sold it for $700 privately. We had already purchased a Corolla as her replacement.

This Sigma would have been a really nice car in its hey day. If they still exist, a nice low kilometre example would be worth hunting for. Go for the 2.0 litre example as it is quite smooth and has reasonable power without drinking as much as the 2.6 litre.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2006

17th Nov 2006, 06:00

The sigma was my first car and I've been using it for 6 years.

The 1.6 Eng has to be the best I cannot kill that little car.

Long live sigma.

3rd Sep 2007, 05:31

I have a 1979 Chrysler Sigma and it is a great car that has never missed a beat. I would go for the 2.0 litre 5 speed manual, because you don't use as much juice and you still have the power. It is a great car and I wouldn't trade it for anything, YET.

P.S.

It does great burnouts.

1980 Chrysler Sigma GL 2.0L

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 kilometres
Most recent distance136000 kilometres

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

Only had to replace brakes, after normal wear and tear,

General Comments:

The most reliable car, starts first time every time. Has never let me down. I love it, and will never get rid of her. She was a gift and the best gift I have ever had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2006

1980 Chrysler Sigma GL 2.0 petrol

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 kilometres
Most recent distance203000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Gave Many years of good service

Faults:

Engine Started Blowing Smoke at approximately 195000 Km

2nd Gear Syncromesh Wear

Starter Motor Replaced at approx 160000 Km

Roof Lining collapsed at approx 200000Km

Rust in parts

Heater Stopped Working.

General Comments:

It was a car that had a high amount of kilometeres on it when it was acquired. gave us good service for a number of years before it started to deteriorate, especially the gearbox and engine, however this was due to the tough life it had as a fleet vehicle when it was new. could be very uncomfortable on hot days due to the lack of air conditioning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th January, 2004

1978 Chrysler Sigma GE 2L dual petrol/LPG

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2L dual petrol/LPG Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 kilometres
Most recent distance300000 kilometres

Summary:

I could never replace her as she is the best car ever

Faults:

I once blew a head gasket due to the fact I overheated her. Apart from that, she is mechanically sound. The engine is wearing a bit, so I am rebuilding another engine for her.

Slight amount of oil on the rear brake drums, means the car stops better!

General Comments:

This car is very quick, accelerates well and will handle light towing loads. Handles long trips well, very reliable.

Her steering is very good.

The interior is in good condition, the only flaw is the headlining fell down 3 years ago.

As she is on LPG, she is extremely cheap to run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2003

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 6 reviews