2001 Daewoo Nubira CDX 1.6


It's been a very good car, reliable


Head gasket blew at 230,000 kms.

Bush nuts always need doing, but I've got a bad road to travel on.

General Comments:

Bit of a bumpy ride.

Have had it for over ten years, and have only done the head gasket.

It has been a very reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2012

2001 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2.0L DOHC


A brilliant cheapie!!!


After an amazing 300,000+ kilometers, the transmission does sometimes miss a gear.

Some computer difficulties at about 285,000 kilometers.

General Comments:

Although Daewoo has one of the worst reputations in the car industry, this expectation has been proven wrong by our surviving Nubira. After 305,000 kilometers in just 7 years this car is still going strong.

Rarely is any maintenance needed. No oil or water checks for this 'newer' car.

Quite quick for what it is, our 16V 2.0L does the 0-100Km in 10 seconds, faster than our Impreza RS! Has no trouble getting to 180km/hr. The sedan is quite lighter then the station wagon that we own, and I can only imagine it would be even faster.

Not super fuel efficient for a 2.0L, about 10L/100km. Still better than most cars out there. When it was first purchased we were getting 800km out of the tank.

Lots of space and storage makes this car amazingly useful and perfect for a family with drivers who want some fun too. However the inside really lets the car down with classic 'Korean' looks. Seats are a little hard.

Handling isn't all that amazing as you would expect, however I believe the sedan is much more impressive as speeding round a corner can lead to the heavy back end of our station wagon losing grip.

Overall this car has proved to be a brilliant purchase, and since buying it new we have only been pleasantly surprised by its quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2008

30th Jun 2009, 03:51

320000 kms, not one days trouble from our wagon. Yes there are more dynamic wagons out there, but at what price. A truly under rated car. Thanks Daewoo for ten years happy motoring.

As a matter of interest, have you looked at the suspension on these cars? You will only find such on much more expensive cars. Stiffen the rear and what a difference. Will get another to keep for replacement. Wife won't drive anything else. Space etc fantastic.

Neil Paterson, Port Elizabeth SA.

2001 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2.0


Performance, economy, comfort is excellent


Fan switch is faulty since first day. 4 speed fan, but when speed number 4 selected the fan switches off.

Warning signal within the security system has started to fail in all aspects.

General Comments:

The accelerator return spring is very light and I get cramps and aches in my leg from holding my foot off the accelerator. The spring needs to be less responsive.

The after sales service is almost non existant in that the dealer has never contacted me to see if I'm happy with the purchase.

The dealer spare parts and service section at Pt. Augusta (South Australia) leaves a lot to be desired. I recently ordered a tow-bar and replacement fan switch and booked the car in to have the task carried out. I drove 186km to the dealer only to find they hadn't booked me in and the parts hadn't arrived. That was a week ago and I still haven't heard from them in regards to this request.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2002

21st Dec 2002, 17:38

Try being a UK Daewoo owner!! Daewoo UK have gone bust, so the service centres have all been closed down. Servicing is supposed to be taken over by certain Vauxhall (our equivalent of Holden) dealers, but my local dealer is refusing to book my Nubira in because they haven't been paid by Daewoo's administrators for the last dozen or so cars they've serviced. So, I'm stuck with a car which needs a service, a wiper motor and some suspension work, which nobody wants to touch.

So, when can I expect to be able to get my year old, 10,000 mile car looked at? I guess that'll be the Daewoo!

29th Nov 2009, 21:22

Hi, I've got a 2002 Nubira CDX and my fan speed selector refuses to work on setting 4 also. It will come on on the odd occasion, but usually just send static thru my radio and then refuses to engage. Any idea's on whether replacing the control unit will help? Apart from that she runs really well, good on long trips, great lumbar support. Just a little cheap and nasty on the electrics methinks :-)

2001 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2.0 Litre DOHC


Bargain beast


Within a few weeks of acquiring the car, a rattling noise started somewhere in the dash.

General Comments:

Very nice car to drive, however the mirrors on the sun visors above the seats in the front are extremely distractive and annoying.

It's a quick sharp car, and looks really good.

Although only a 4 cylinder, it beats heaps of cars out of the lights.

Engine has a disgusting strangled noise... sounds like a dying cat, might get new exhaust or something.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2002