Daihatsu Applause Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 2 of 2

1989 Daihatsu Applause Xi 1.6 EFI

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired203000 kilometres
Most recent distance285620 kilometres

Summary:

Good, reliable car

Faults:

Had reconditioned motor installed at 220,490km. Original motor suffered cracked engine block.

Replaced CV joints.

New water pump.

Had replaced struts all round and worn steering rack.

General Comments:

Bought this car second hand in 2000. I finally had to sell to wreckers recently in 2004. A generally reliable car (auto), but I wouldn't own another one. In the last two years, had to spend a lot of money on mechanical repairs. Car had a bad rough idle in Drive even though it had been extensively tuned. Was slightly better in warmer weather!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd December, 2004

1992 Daihatsu Applause Xi 1.6i

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance275000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Pickup

Summary:

A reliable performer at a reasonable price

Faults:

C.V. joint replaced at 245,000Km.

R/Rear shock absorber replaced at 250,000Km, (other shocks getting tired)

I removed the catalytic converter at 260.000Km ant noticed a marked power and fuel economy increase.

The drivers door elecctric window has started to fail.

General Comments:

This car was used as a rental car until I purchased it at an auction. It appears to have been serviced well and I have continued to service it every 5000Km. I find it extreemly reliable and although I drive it hard it is reasonably economical.

The suspension is getting tired and needs new springs and sway bar.

I plan to keep it till "death do us part" (mine, or the cars!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2004

1991 Daihatsu Applause Li 1.6L

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 kilometres
Most recent distance240000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

A reliable little car I've done heaps of highway driving in

Faults:

Not much has gone wrong with this car up until now. Unfortunately it looks like all four shock absorbers are now in need of replacement - however, they are the original shock absorbers, or so I am told.

Vinyl on driver's side seat is starting to crack near the door.

Replaced the water pump bearing at 230000kms.

Replaced radiator at 215000kms.

General Comments:

This car has been reliable and pretty cheap to run.

I found the seats particularly comfortable.

The most annoying feature was that the back doors don't open very wide.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2003

1992 Daihatsu Applause Xi 1.6 EFI, 16v

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 EFI, 16v Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

A fantastic value for money motor car

Faults:

CV joints while still under warranty.

Head cracked or corroded allowing oil into the cooling system at about 108000km. Less than a year later (120000km) it now seems to have a head gasket leak. I suspect this is poor workmanship when replacing the head. It has oil leaks since that time. I will fix it myself this time.

General Comments:

If I recall correctly I think they advertised this as a "small limousine". It has lived up to to this. When I first got it I loved driving it and ten years later I still love driving it.

I had a Camry before and since, as well as a Ford Falcon. They are no longer with me, but I still have the Applause.

I would buy a new one if they were still available and perhaps a little bigger. Even though I have had some recent head trouble it is too good a car to get rid of.

It is surprisingly nimble and the auto is well matched to the engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2003

25th Feb 2003, 03:09

Yeah, I myself I've got a Daihatsu Applause 1992 in Mauritius, which I adore.. Really it's a fantastic car. But I got a little problem my signal lights (on the right from front view) has been broken and I'm not getting a spare from the seller here in Mauritius. If someone may help me for this please don't hesitate contact me by mail at kavi@blue-sign.com thanks a lot.

1990 Daihatsu Applause Xi 1.6 Fuel Injected

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Fuel Injected Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance258000 miles
Previous carDaihatsu Charade

Summary:

Yes, Indeed I would buy another Applause, it is still great!

Faults:

Bad oil leak traced to break in head gasket resulting in loosing lots of oil while driving, I did the job myself with the advice of Toyota Australia (who owns Daihatsu) I cannot express how much I thank one guy there, Josh, he helped me so much with technical advice and understood why I declined the dealership servicemen.

Josh, you are a "legend" man!

Had to replace all shock absorbers after traveling on Kangaroo Island (off the coast of South Australia) K.I. has some of the worst roads I have ever traveled upon in my 34 years of driving.

Driver's seat broke, I had to weld it up, however, since I am a huge guy, maybe my weight broke it, I expect it was designed for small light Japanese.

General Comments:

Folks, apart from the oil leak at 209,000kms and the damaged shocks at 179,000 kms, 10 years of trouble free motoring, without a doubt, the best car I have ever owned, 10 year without having to put a spanner to it! Now that is awesome. serviced almost 10,000 kms every time, oil filters at 5,000Kms and I added ROIL, a metal conditioner 6 years ago, it goes like a rocket, had to lower the revs several times as it freed up. It corners like it is on rails and you point it, it goes, brakes could be a bit better, or I should slow down. Maybe I slow down.

It travels quite well at 140-155 kph 170 with no effort, at 258,000km that awsesome! (when cops are not around) fuel economy about 11km/litre city driving and 12 on trips. I still own and do all my own servicing. I do not trust the dealers, I have been ripped off too many times by one very shady dealers, claiming dud injectors, how do I know this, I have the supposed injector running since mid 2002 and the new one packed away in a box. You really have to watch car servicing Dealerships, most are shady.

Anyhow, the car, an Auto, which I drive like a t-bar manual, goes well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2003

8th May 2003, 07:59

I have the same car although a manual. Made a few modifications though, ripped out the air cleaner box and replaced with a KN air filter. Had extractors fitted which lead into a 2.5 inch sports exhaust. Tell you what would recommend it to anybody, my baby now can pull a jetski and you don't even know she is there. When not towing and on the open road I get 589Km to the tank, that is nearly 100Km more than she normally did. The whole thing cost me just over three hundred dollars money well spent. When you want to put your foot down she goes. Like you it has been a fantastic car and I have had no problems at all.

1991 Daihatsu Applause Li 1.6 fuel Injected petrol

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 fuel Injected petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired119000 kilometres
Most recent distance170000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Sigma

Summary:

Very cheap to run car with plenty of carry capacity

Faults:

CV drive-shafts became noisy on cornering, so had them replaced ($650aus) Mar 2001.

For a long road trip I had the timing belt replaced, but mechanic overtightened the fanbelt. In middle of Australia the water pump failed. Mechanic paid all costs. June 2002.

Clutch release fork broke suddenly. Cost of repair approx $1000. Bit the bullet and replaced it myself. Easier than I expected. Also cleaned and freed solenoid on starter motor as it was sticking.

General Comments:

Not the most attractive looking car, but it has huge boot space and fantastic economy. Long road trip cost me so little in fuel I was amazed.

Its looks stop it from being stolen.

I am over six foot tall, but very comfortable car for me to drive.

Has reinforced doors for side impacts!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2002

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 11 reviews