Daihatsu Rocky Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 2 of 3

1991 Daihatsu Rocky F75 2.8 turbo diesel

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.8 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired242000 kilometres
Most recent distance262000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Leone

Summary:

You can always rely on a Rocky

Faults:

Rattly thrust bearing in the clutch. It is not a real problem, has no effect on anything. Will be there till I sell the vehicle.

Overheating - my fault, neglected the radiator, got it cleaned out, all good.

General Comments:

This is an excellent vehicle.

It has OK power with the turbo.

It is good offroad, reliable and TOUGH. As well as having good capabilities... unstoppable on sand with tyres on 12psi. I've also found it loves rocks, suppose that's why it's called a rocky.

It does have a 'bone jarring ride'. That is the 2 inch heavy duty lift I installed. They look like scania (truck) leaf springs.

Inside the cab when cruising is surprisingly quiet for what it is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2008

17th Oct 2008, 21:20

Yer mate, I had a 84 model Rocky. Parents went traveling in it for 16 years around Oz, gave it to me, I had it 5 years, then did a valve in the motor. Picked up a 91 model turbo diesel, goes like a rocket..

A few things need doing to it, like the gearbox has had it. Can I use all the gears off the old one on this one, are they interchangeable? I have all the spare parts I'll need.

26th Apr 2012, 02:47

I liked this he is spot on with what he says, I own a rugger 2.8 turbo diesel. It goes great, rides hard, but is hard to get parts for.

Norfolk Island, South Pacific.

1983 Daihatsu Rocky 1.6 petrol

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Samurai

Summary:

A good ski wagon that starts first pop

Faults:

Gearbox isn't the strongest. Thrust bearing went.

Glove box fell out; lots of squeaks and rattles.

General Comments:

This car is a great little wagon for round town and weekend 4wding, but not too serious of road though, it will perform well, but it won't last.

Verry cheap on gas and low maintenance.

Stiff and jerky ride, but hey it's a 4x4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st June, 2007

1990 Daihatsu Rocky F70 RV 2.8 diesel

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired175200 kilometres
Most recent distance207000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Pajero

Summary:

Very surprising

Faults:

The only things that have really gone wrong have been mainly my own fault:

Exploded front left hand wheel bearings as a result of water leakage. The swivel housing needed a gasket kit.

The flange between the exhaust manifold and the exhaust pipe crumbled.

During a hard run the rear axle rode up and bent exhaust pipe pushing it on to the mud flap. The exhaust was re-routed to avoid the axle and mud flap.

Dents in petrol tank caused a small crack.

Sump bolt stripped tread. The sump was removed and a nut welded in so now we have a normal bolt.

Front uni joint on the rear tail shaft broke.

General Comments:

This 4x4 is unstoppable provided you know how to customize it I fitted lifted springs, removed the sway bar (better wheel articulation) and fitted large Desert Duelers etc.

I brought this as a ex security car and I think its the greatest shorty ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2003

1984 Daihatsu Rocky EX 2.8 diesel

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8 diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired270200 kilometres
Most recent distance274600 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Sigma

Summary:

It's not a speed machine, but it does its job

Faults:

Fuel tank is a bit on the small side, only 45L.

Tow bar was not installed properly. It has now been bent out of shape and is pointed slightly towards the side of the vehicle.

Previous owners had removed the front tow hooks. I only worked this out once I was very bogged and not going anywhere.

General Comments:

It's not a speed machine by any measure. But it does the job that was intended.

Many people riding in the back (or front even) have complained about the smoothness of the ride, but it didn't take me long to get used to it.

It was a surprisingly capable vehicle off road. The only thing letting it down was that the tyres were a bit too small for some of the larger ruts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2002

17th May 2005, 03:26

But has anything gone wrong with the engine, or anything that has been replaced or fixed on the car.

1985 Daihatsu Rocky EX Short Wheel Base 2.0 petrol (Toyota 3YC)

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol (Toyota 3YC) Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance265000 kilometres

Summary:

Thirsty, uncomfortable, but totally bullet-proof

Faults:

1st Petrol tank rusted (poor fuel quality suspected)

Automatic choke replaced by 2nd hand part twice.

Drivers seat cloth tore early.

Radiator reconditioned twice.

Rust beginning to appear in roof gutters.

General Comments:

This car war purchased new in our family and has been serviced every 5,000 kms.

Original engine still runs extremely well, although fuel consumption is poor, and the small tank allows for a max range of around 330kms. Slow acceleration, but very acceptable torque for off-road situations. Uses approx 500ml of oil every 5,000kms.

The most noticeable shortcoming since new was the standard suspension and this has not been changed. A very bumpy and firm ride, but on-road handling is good. Power steering. Excellent brakes.

Off-road ability is good, limited only by ramp-over angle in very challenging terrain. Manual front-locking hubs. Low range transfer case.

Uncomplicated design and good visibility.

Well suited to tight mountain tracks. Less suited to open desert tracks.

A good, if thirsty, city car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2002

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 12 reviews