1971 Datsun 1200 Sedan? 1.2


High revving fun for youngsters


Wear and tear and the odd ding.

General Comments:

I worked for a local newspaper outfit selling ads. There was a team of lads like me, all in our early twenties.

We soon discovered that these unbreakable little Japanese masterpieces babies could spin, slide and drift, all while revving their heads off. To say they were highly chuckable and hugely thrashable would be an understatement.

They felt like dodgem cars. We hit things from time to time, and the company mechanic used to give us grief, but we were soon back on the road - yippee!

I gave mine back when I left the company in the mid 70's. I know the plate prefixes, and I still see them around. Unbelievable. They must have a million miles on them by now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2007

1975 Datsun 1200


Bloody load of junk (some good advice -never buy one)


This car had nothing but problems from the time I bought it.

First the engine karked it after about 58000k. I think this is one of the quickest engines I have ever gone through.

Then the wiring went haywire, and nothing worked except the headlights.

I then had to have the suspension re-done after that karked it.

General Comments:

This car was the worst I have ever owned. It drives like a blind monkey and handles like a dizzy elephant. I sold it after 7000k as I had had enough of the bloody thing.

I had driving my dad's 79 Hilux a year before I bought this lump of junk, and I regret every second of not buying it off my dad for the same price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th May, 2006

1971 Datsun 1200 Coupe A15


My Datsun 1200 Coupe is worth its weight in gold


It took three secondhand gear boxes before I got a good one.

I also had to replace the differential around 40000 miles.

Radiator started leaking, needed replacing at 45000 miles.

Door hinges are also a problem.

General Comments:

The greatest cheapest car I have ever owned, unbeatable value for your thrashing dollar.

Very reliable economical runabout.

Dirt demon for sure and just eats up asphalt.

Underestimated! Was my first car and has outseen a few others, clearly my favourite.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2001

1973 Datsun 1200 B110 2 door Sports Coupe mild A12


It's a race car all in all


Only stuff that was of my own fault. It was rebuilt with new pistons/rings/bearings etc and freshened head with new valves the week I purchased it. I managed to bend a push rod through over revving of the engine :)

General Comments:

The best car I have ever owned, full stop. Never let me down, I drove it 200+ k's each way nearly every weekend for almost a year, to see my girlfriend and it never once let me down.

It had the power after some modifications to be safe and be able to really turn on the heat when haste was of necessity.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2001

4th Jun 2014, 08:02

Funny, I had a similar experience, my Datsun Coupes, 6 in all, so far varied in engine size from stock 1200 to 1300 mild tune, to 1500 medium tune, and just recently an 1800 injected turbo.

First time I remember meeting my to be girlfriend, I picked her up in my 1300 coupe, and eventually did the 200 miles a week driving to and from to picking her up, and now after 28 years of marriage, she has let me buy a 1800 turbo 1; a match made in heaven me thinks :)

1972 Datsun 1200 1.2


Built to be thrashed


Rust on the front quarters and in the engine bay above the firewall.

The engine is a little smokey, probably has never had its head off since new.

Original shocks are worn.

General Comments:

Fantastic reliability and low running costs.

Great handling and extreme chuck-ability.

Excellent control under all driving conditions, especially dirt.

An under-estimated driver's car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2001

15th Dec 2005, 23:04

I'm about to buy a 1973 Datsun 1200 2 door coupe with 61000 original miles needs carb rebuilt, but otherwise runs perfect, paint is kinda faded and has only one small dent. The guy wants $300.00, is it worth it??

18th Dec 2005, 19:45

Hel..., er, heck yes! Any time you can get a car that runs and moves under its own power, especially with only 61,000 miles, it's worth it for $300. Of course, you have to be prepared for the possibility that within 6 months after you buy it, it will need some things. All used cars do. Assume you'll have to give it a tune-up, buy a new alternator and starter, replace the belts and hoses, and probably change the engine coolant, transmission fluid, and the brake shoes. Routine maintenance, but stuff that generally has been neglected by somebody selling an old car for $300.

6th Jan 2006, 00:30

One of the best cars I have ever owned! Wish I still had it...30 yrs later!