1975 Datsun 120Y Reviews from Australia and New Zealand

1975 Datsun 120Y Coupe 1.2

Model year1975
Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres

Summary:

The worlds cheapest "Sports Coupe"

Faults:

Universal joints

Bushes in starter motor

Plastics cracked due to sun

Paint flaking

Water pump

Battery Terminals.

General Comments:

Very reliable car for a first buyer

Easy to work on

Fuel Consumption: ~7L/100Km (hwy driving)

The coupe gives the car a "sports car" look (without the performance)

Cheap to run (fuel and insurance)

Starts first time even in -10c frosts.

My first car, bought for $800 still going strong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2008

26th Jan 2009, 10:34

Yes they were known as B-210s here in the US. I agree - most reliable cars ever made.

1975 Datsun 120Y 1.2 petrol

Model year1975
Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Colt

Summary:

A credit to DATSUN

Faults:

Blown engine.

Blown diff.

Broken engine mount.

Crashed into a tree.

Heater didn't work although I am very lazy at changing fuses.

General Comments:

I only knew this car for a short time however we had an instant bond. When I took delivery of it a friend of a friend (the previous owner) had tried to kill it for about two years without success.

The body was in terrible condition thanks to a screwdriver that had been punched through every panel on the car.

I used the car for my CAREER as a pizza boy for about three or four months during which time I gently drove into a tree one night sustaining non fatal damage. OH yeah... ALL pizza boys really do drive like maniacs all the time.

I only ever remember filling the pathetically small fuel tank a few times in four months.

It was quite good mechanically with the exception of the diff which was already on the way out and due to stupid burnout antics I quickly blew it up.

I seized the engine by not checking the oil often enough.

If I actually had a mechanically sympathetic bone in my body my little car would have lasted a very long time indeed.

On the positive side it was only $500 to buy, the new diff cost $80 from a friend and I didn't put much petrol in the tank over it's time with me. It was also a fun little thing to drive, always happy to rev until valve bounce cut in or the steering wheel shake got too bad at around 170 km/h. No really that's what the speedo said.

After the engine died the car was broken into whilst sitting under a tree out the front of my house causing me to get upset and GIVE THE CAR AWAY!! I don't think anyone would have payed me to take it off my hands anyway.

It was rough, cheap, basic, dangerous, uncomfortable, reasonably reliable and a lot of fun. Given a chance though I would definitely buy another. It served me well at the time and I get the same silly grin on my face now just thinking of it, as I did when driving it as a pimply faced teen.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2006

1975 Datsun 120Y Coupe GL

Model year1974
Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired49014 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Space Wagon

Summary:

Driving this car makes me feel so young

Faults:

What hasn't gone wrong? Let's just look at two incidents:

Boiling green water:

An incident that stands out is when the heater core plumbing leaked. Hot coolant spewed throughout the cabin as though a sprinkler was on. Apart from minor burns, totally ruining my slack suit, and lots of inconvenience, there was a short circuit in the electrical system, which resulted in the horn sounding continually with a ominous electrical burning smell being emitted from somewhere inside the dash.

Rust:

As I am a caterer, and am continually on-the-go with delicacies destined for some of Sydney's most exclusive parties, I decided I liked the look of the coupe model; its huge lift back and sleek styling really appealed to me. A pity I didn't realise that this area is prone to rust. It had eaten through the back end of the car, and it was only after I had some people complain about my quiches, that I discovered that they had been eating rust as well as my delicacies. I mean that's really shocking.

General Comments:

My car has space for the kids, the shopping, the pets, as well as being comfortably cool all year round. When I bought the 120 it had this really great little fan attached to the top of the dash that blows air. Keeps me cool all year 'round (takes Datsun to think of that).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th April, 2006

4th May 2006, 09:17

Jenelle, time to buy a new car. How about something like a Cordia? You always said you wanted a sports.

6th May 2006, 10:31

If you're a top flight caterer why are you driving around in an old banger like this?

Oh, and a dashboard fan can be bought from most accessory shops for a few dollars. You can fit it into any car you want. You could even fit it into your Datsun so the existing fan will have some company. Assuming, of course, there's enough left of the scabby, 20 year old wiring loom to wire it into.

13th May 2006, 07:26

Update: My lovely 120y has finally gone, I really do miss it. The rust eventually ate through the floor. I noticed the passenger seat started to lean... it almost fell through the floor! My goodness, imagine if one of my friends was sitting in it- I don't even want to think about it.

However, I did grab the little fan from on top of the dashboard... I will have it installed in my new car.

Jenelle.

25th Oct 2007, 09:46

Update: I finally settled, after some lengthy deliberation, on going ahead with purchasing the new car. It's a smart-looking white Corona, and it only set me back $200! Now that's amazing. I've got ALL the features inc. cloth trim and 2 speaker stereo. There is a slight odour of curry to the car... not a problem as it seems seeing as I am beginning to enter into the 'exotic east' as my new flavour sensation in catering. It can only add to the whole fascination of the middle east; I can tell my friends when I pick them up 'smell that... it's the far east'. I am usually countered with oooooh aaaaahs from my friends... need I say more? And I got it all for only $200!

So far I have had nothing, but glowing looks and praise for the Corona. It's a 1984 model and it's still got two of its original hubcaps on it (thanks to K-Mart for the other two). Shine is a bit on the dull side, but I am impressed overall.

Please look under 'corona' for the model year 1984 for more info.

Big hug, Jenelle.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 9 reviews