Fiat X1/9 Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 3 of 3

1976 Fiat X1/9 1.3 L

Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 kilometres
Most recent distance84000 kilometres

Summary:

A sturdy lightweight car

Faults:

Mainly only the head gasket at 82000 km.

Carburetor gasket just after I got it.

General Comments:

Great little car, the 1.3 is lacking a bit, most of the time it starts first time and flies when at temperature.

Could do with a 5 speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2001

9th Aug 2002, 09:56

I agree, I had mine converted to a 2 ltr & 5 speed 10 yrs ago, which is a really worthwhile change.

Mine's for sale now. Never been crashed.

Phil.

13th Sep 2002, 22:09

I also agree re the 5-speed. I have been told however, that despite the lack of a fifth ratio, the 4-speed is actually a more durable gearbox.

13th Nov 2006, 16:46

I agree the 4 speed lacks top end.

30th Nov 2006, 00:47

I have the 1300cc and its now for sale which is very unfortunate as I loved this car, used it as a daily until I put it in storage.

1979 Fiat X1/9 1.3

Year of manufacture1979
Engine and transmission 1.3
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10

Faults:

Only owned for the last four months but the front headlight has to be put up manually, and a leak in the radiator.

General Comments:

Fantastic around corners. Mid engined mount so there isn't a lot of spare space. Feels like a 15-1600 in terms of power, no power up hills, no acceleration, but unless it's important to you it doesn't matter... Oh yes it's a stunner of course to look at.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 1999

23rd Nov 2003, 12:51

The problem with your headlight is probably a blown fuse. In the fuse box (above the foot-well on the passenger side) are 2 mini fuses (among the other fuses). 1 of those 2 fuses has blown - even though they might look good, remove them and see.

They're a little hard to find, but they are out there.

I've got a '79 X1/9 and love it!

24th Nov 2003, 03:26

The X 19's headlights are controlled by diodes, one for up, one for down. I think they're located behind dash. This is a common problem on these. Den.

4th May 2004, 14:00

Actually the diodes are on the headlight motors themselves. The diodes are exposed to the elements and often break. Soldering new ones in (be sure they face the right way) will fix the problem in 99% of the cases. Rarely do the motors themselves cause the issue.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 7 reviews