1975 Ford Cortina Reviews from Australia and New Zealand

1975 Ford Cortina XL

Model year1975
Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10

Faults:

The brakes squeal really bad and it's just getting worse.

It needs new suspension.

General Comments:

Overall the Cortina is a cool car. It's comfortable and is an enjoyable drive.

It has excellent interior and there is very little rust considering its age.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2007

11th Feb 2010, 05:57

Please could you give more information? Engine size e.t.c, its very lacking in detail, thanks.

1975 Ford Cortina TD XL 3.3L Straight Six.

Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3L Straight Six. Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired156000 kilometres
Most recent distance156100 kilometres

Summary:

Awesome old car! Recommended first car!

Faults:

Nothing, the clutch squeaks a bit and I'm getting the radiator replaced, but the car runs like a dream.

General Comments:

Awesome old car, can get the 4.1ltre straight six slotted straight in and can fit an 8 clyinder easy. Lite weight and beautiful body. I love her.

Goes pretty hard too if you want it to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2004

1975 Ford Cortina xle 302 boss

Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 302 boss Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired33980 kilometres
Most recent distance45870 kilometres
Previous carFord Capri

Summary:

Fun

Faults:

I have bent the two rear axles, first burnout I done.

Over heated sitting in traffic once.

Replaced both head gaskets 1 month ago 22/12/03.

Two pack paint work starting to get stone chips here and there.

Both rear tires always bald.

General Comments:

The cortina has more than enough power.

It is a very good performer, 360kw 10sec@135mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2004

1975 Ford Cortina XL turbo 4 cylinder

Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission turbo 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired175300 kilometres
Most recent distance270992 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

I have only paid $350 for the car all up

Faults:

My radiator blew.

Gearbox and clutch blew up.

General Comments:

I replaced the radiator with one out of a HQ Kingwood, so it's not totally Ford.

The seats are very low set in the car.

Once you do a few things to the suspension it handles corners like a dream.

I have replaced the rear suspension with King springs and new shocks.

I have also had the camber on the front adjusted slightly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2003

1975 Ford Cortina TD 4.1

Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance82000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Glaint

Summary:

A well built car that goes hard

Faults:

The gearbox is a bit slopy.

General Comments:

The car has lots of power due to the 4.1 litre motor, very quick in a strait line.

The car lacks handling tho sway bars my help.

It has lots of under steer tho if you drive it nicely you would not know.

I think the TD Cortina is a very well build car with lots of power (if you have the six cylinder) and very comfortable.

I payed $1,300 for my Cortina I take it drag racing every second thursday night and never had to fix a thing. You get a lot of car for your money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2002

1975 Ford Cortina XLE 3.3L

Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.3L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired144000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres

Summary:

70's pump sucker

Faults:

Nothing, except for brakes (the brakes overheated and failed).

General Comments:

I got the car for $500, and it has only done 144000, I think it's been sitting in a shed for some years.

The car is very original and reliable. The 3.3L in-line 6 has no problems pulling the load, the car feels like its built for high speed pursuit (I can get a top speed of 170Km/h out of it), not bad for an oldie. The car has the most solid structure out of any car ever made, it's virtually bulletproof and assembled by hand.

What can I say, the car kicks ass.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2000

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 6 reviews