1996 Ford Falcon Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 5 of 5

1996 Ford Falcon GLI EFI CTC 4.1 inline 6 efi

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.1 inline 6 efi Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 kilometres
Most recent distance198000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Sigma

Summary:

Great family sedan. great towing car

Faults:

Transmission went.

Tyres bald.

Numberplate lamp blew.

Seats are a little worn.

General Comments:

Great car for towing and family.

It gets used every day about 6 times so its good.

The interior is much better than the sigma I previosly sold (2003).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th April, 2004

15th Jan 2005, 05:09

Bald tyres? More a case of wear and tear than something gone wrong.

8th Sep 2006, 06:34

Transmision is simply the fact that you must use it to tow often. Autos wear out allot faster when constantly towing. Not to say they are bad at it.

1996 Ford Falcon EFII Futura 4.0i

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0i Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance170000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

Full size family transport

Faults:

Twice I've had to replace the head gasket, firstly at 90,000klm which was due to one of the cylinder head bolts shearing off, and again at 150,000klm when another cylinder head bolt came loose.

I've had to replace the ignition leads every 50,000klm due to excessive wear and repeated failure.

Parts replaced due to the cars age include radiator, power steering pump, fuel pump, brake rotors and the exhaust.

General Comments:

Still the best looking Falcon ever made.

Great towing ability.

Did I mention it was a good looking car?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th April, 2004

4th Jul 2007, 04:55

Personally I feel the EL Series would have to be the best looking model Falcon in the E Series, especially the EL Fairmont with it's chrome grille and sleek headlights. I have a 1998 EL Fairmont sedan. It has been a great car and a real pleasure to drive. I have done over 50 000km since I have owned it. All it has cost me is a new exhaust system and just regular scheduled maintenance including Auto Transmission Servicing, Brake Pads and Rotors. If you want a good reliable workhorse that has plenty of room for the average family, will tow anything, with heaps of torque, you can't go past a Falcon!

1996 Ford Falcon EF series 2 6 cylinder

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance109000 kilometres
Previous carFord Cortina

Summary:

This car has been nothing but a pleasure to own and drive

Faults:

At 60 000km the radiator developed a slow leak which I was able to repair myself at low cost.

The strut which keeps the boot open had to be replaced shortly after buying the car.

General Comments:

The car still looks as good today as the day I bought it.

I have made many changes to the car, with improved lowered suspension, cam shaft upgrade and performance exhaust and air filter fitted.

The car drives and handles very well and performs very strongly for a six cylinder. The upgrades give the falcon all the power I need while driving on the highway, at no increased cost to the fuel economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2003

1996 Ford Falcon GLi 4.0 S6

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 S6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

A Good Car with some problems

Faults:

From New Indicators wouldn't work.

After 200km the bumpers were falling off.

Tyres were wearing after 500km.

Transmission warning light continuously flashing at 1000km. Took back to Ford dealer. Said nothing wrong. Driving to Melb one day from Adel, transmission blew up at 1500km.

Release valve dropped making clicking noises on mud flap.

Cooling housing cracks so Ford GLUE it together TWICE! causing major overheating problem losing all cooling fluid.

Transmission at 10000km having trouble changing gears (Gears kept surging)

General Comments:

This car is fairly powerful (157Kw engine) and is fairly comfortable.

If it wasn't for all the probs at the start this would have been a good car.

At least its better than the AU!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th November, 2002

12th Dec 2002, 20:35

Well Written Review.

The EF Falcons did have problems with transmissions due to the transmission oil coolers. This was a common problem in taxis.

I agree the AU is crap, but the BA should be good.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 13 reviews