2002 Holden Astra Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 8 of 13

2002 Holden Astra CD

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

An excellent all round package

Faults:

Noise in rear brakes when new. Was repaired at 1500klm.

Otherwise no faults at all.

General Comments:

The body is strong and rigid with no rattles or squeaks on rough roads. Build quality appears to be high and there are no wind noises inside the cab at higher speeds.

I have taken this car on numerous longer trips over the past 8 months and have found it to be an excellent performer on the highway. It is more than capable of maintaining highway speeds when fully loaded and pulls the box trailer along as well. The engine is quite flexible and the auto is excellent with well suited ratios and smooth changes. This is one of the best autos that I have come across.

The interior is quietly classy and provides excellent comfort for longer trips and interestingly, the back seat is one of the most comfortable on the road. Rear leg room is ample. Instruments are first rate and the cruise control works simply and well. Other manufacturers should look at how simple it is to use the cruise control and immediately copy it!

Handling is first rate and tyre wear appears to be minimal. My tyres have travelled 20,000klm and are no were near half worn yet.

Fuel consumption is very good with a tank giving you 600 klm on a trip with a large safety margin.

Overall, I love this little car and would recommend it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2003

25th May 2003, 01:37

I have an Astra as well and agree with the writers comments. They are a good car and up to the standard set by similar Euro models.

22nd Oct 2005, 23:37

What was wrong with your brakes?

2002 Holden Astra SRi 2.2L

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance9369 kilometres
Previous carFord lazer

Summary:

A nice drive, but poorly manufactured

Faults:

Snapped air filter mount bolt on delivery.

Drive shaft leak @500km resulting in leaking gear box oil.

Glitchy gearbox 1st to 2nd not smooth, especially when cold.

Groaning noise from rear brakes, when brakes applied in reverse. Started to occur @4500km. Damper kit applied partially fixed the problem.

Numerous rattles from inside the car, just as one was fixed another would be found.

General Comments:

If your looking for a car with a quick take off, then this car isn't the car for you. The car is more suited for highway driving.

The car is very smooth, handling is great, and it really takes a bumpy road for you to have an uncomfortable ride.

The wing at the back of the car obscures your view partially, but after a while you get used to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th April, 2003

21st Apr 2003, 07:17

Just had my 2002 CD in for the same problems, noisy interior trim and the rear brakes. The solution with the brakes is the replace the "outer" caliper and do some other tweaks to the pads. I believe quality is an issue with these cars and frankly even though it is a good car, I'm going to sell it and buy something made in Japan.

2002 Holden Astra Equipe 1.8

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance7000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

The Astra Equipe is tremendous value for money

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

The Astra has been a surprise package. After coming from a 6 cylinder Falcon I am surprised its performance is little different The cruise control is brilliant. I thought with manual transmission it would die on the hills - it doesn't!

It is so much more fun to drive than the Falcon; much more economical to run and just as comfortable on a longer drive. I thoroughly recommend it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2003

2002 Holden Astra TS 1.8

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired24 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

This car is a BMW beater

Faults:

The rear washer would clean the windscreen of cars behind us. Took me about 30 seconds to fix that.

General Comments:

Had this car for a few months now and am really pleased with it. So far we have had no problems of any sort. finish and quality impressed me, and is what I would expect from a eurpean car. although not a fire-breathing monster from the lights, it has plenty of poke to keep me happy and more than keep up with traffic. Handing is second to none, especially through the corners, there is some cost here in having quite stiff suspension, although I like this anyway.

All in all this is a great package and I would recommend this car to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2003

19th Jan 2003, 22:29

I absolutely and completely agree!!! An excellent car!!!

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 35 reviews