2002 Holden Frontera SE 3.2

Summary:

Great car, but needs a specialised repairer

Faults:

Oxygen sensor failing.

Check engine light on.

General Comments:

The Frontera has a 20 ltr reserve, so you only fill to 60lts normally.

Base your kms on 60 Lt's, and I get 100km per 10 litres (600km).

Repairs are hard; Holden can't fix my problem (O2 sensor).

Anyone know a Isuzu petrol repairer in Adelaide?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th February, 2011

6th Jun 2011, 21:28

Changing the O2 sensor is like changing a spark plug.

You need following:

O2 sensor - rockauto.com. Look up Isuzu Rodeo V6 6VD1 (same car), look up O2 sensor and select the one for your car. Buy OBD2 diagnostic kit from Tandy or search online. Plug the kit into the plug on RHS of steering wheel (in fuse box) and read code: Bank 1 Sensor 1 is driver's side (screwed into exhaust under driver's seat), Bank 2 sensor 1 is passenger side (in exhaust under passenger seat) - there are only 2 sensors on a Fronty.

Get under the car (raise securely with stands first), remove the plug from the faulty sensor and unscrew the sensor from the exhaust as you would a spark plug. Screw in a new sensor, then plug it in. Job done! Either reset the computer or drive 3 times and the light will go out.

The cost will be about $150 versus $400 from Holden.

6th Oct 2011, 23:51

You seem to know a bit about the Frontera model; was just wondering if you could figure out what has happened to my engine? It starts fine with oil pressure, and then slowly loses pressure as I go down the road, say two minutes. I stop the car, then start it again; I have oil pressure again. I'm looking to replace the engine if it's not a cheap fix. Do you have any idea where I could get a 2.2 engine for my two door Frontera 2000 model?

17th Jan 2013, 20:51

Any help on a fuel pump earth fault on a 97 Frontera?

2002 Holden Frontera SE 3.2 V6

Summary:

Good mid sized 4x4, comfortable on road, and capable off the beaten track

Faults:

Fuel gauge reads incorrectly.

General Comments:

Purchased this vehicle just 2 weeks ago, and took it on a trip to the Gold Coast. Covered 4000 kms without a hitch.

I couldn't believe my eyes when the fuel gauge plummeted over the first 200 kms. I started to think that I couldn't afford this trip, but much to my amazement my first fill only took 30 litres. This happened throughout the trip, and overall consumption was 12.5 - 13 litres/100k, which I reckon is OK for a car of this type.

Highway cruising was good and overtaking effortless.

I was a little concerned early on with the transmission lag, but I'm told that this is normal, and I'm now used to it.

Upon returning home from Qld, I took the Frontera down to a well known track used by 4x4s near where I live. It was pretty wet and muddy, and I was pleasantly surprised by the ease with which the "new" car handled the steep hills and wet terrain. The TOD setting is great, and inspires confidence offroad.

My Frontera came fitted with Pirelli tyres and 16 inch mags. Not sure if that's standard, but they surely work in the mud and are quiet on the road.

The level of equipment in the SE is great, with the cruise control working very well on the trip. The sound system is very good, and the radio reception excellent, picking up regional radio stations easily.

The only gripe I have thus far is that the rear tail gate swings the wrong way, making roadside use dangerous.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2007

2001 Holden Frontera SE 3.5lt V6

Summary:

Good solid car that suits the purpose I use it for

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

The Holden Frontera that is sold in Australia is a rebadged Isuzu Rodeo.

Overall the build quality is fine with minimal rattling and good alignment of external and internal body panels. A higher quality carpet would have been beneficial as the current carpet wears very quickly.

Performs exceptionally well with a high power output. Handles highway driving easily and allows for safe and easy overtaking. Fuel usage is good for the type of traveling I do, a fully loaded car will exceed 800 kms on 80 litres of fuel (petrol)

General ride is spoilt by the transmission lag on take off from a standing start. This occurs even on the gentlest take off. The shortness of the wheel base leads to an over amplification of minor road contours, but your ride can be softened by reducing tyre pressures slightly. The ABS system seems to find it difficult when travrelling on dirt tracks with corrugations and a softer brake pedal is noticed in these conditions.

Seats lack sufficient support to your legs as the seats seem marginally low which results in no upper leg support in a normal seating position for an adult.

The cabin is laid out extremely well with all controls visible and accessible from the driving position.

The automatic transmission performs well in city driving however on highway driving with the cruise control even the slightest incline or decline causes the gearbox to search for gears. This can be overcome by using the power switch.

The Frontera features a Torque on Demand system that allows for the easy cross over from bitumen to grassy, dirt, or sandy tracks with a minimum of fuss. The Low range function works well for heavier off road excursions.

The use of the winter traction button works quite well when off road and are faced with a situation that requires a creeping action with no wheel spin. this function disables once you are traveling at approx 30 kilometers per hour.

Off road activities are reduced by the positioning of the mid mounted fuel tank. This allows for only 200 mm (8 inches) clearance and can cause off road hangups on rocks and acts like a bulldozer blade in soft sand. The tank is well protected by a tank guard.

Power windows cannot be operated without the key in the ignition and partially turned, this is off putting as forgetful owners may find they need to reinsert the key to close windows when they are parking.

The headlight throw could also be improved to prevent the necessity of having to fit driving lights.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2005

4th May 2006, 07:29

Hi,

I have an August 1999 3.2 litre V6 Frontera LWB, which I have found to be a very versatile and capable vehicle, however I struggle to get over 450km from the 80 litre tank. I have only ever put 67 litres into it so maybe my gauge is reading incorrectly and I am refilling prematurely. Have you done anything to improve the fuel economy of your car?

AG.

2002 Holden Frontera SE 3.2 petrol

Summary:

A high-quality versatile all-rounder of a vehicle

Faults:

The car has been completely faultless. There has not been a single problem with it since delivery. The car is screwed together very well and the engine is an absolute gem - sounds fantastic and goes beautifully.

We had leather fitted to the car and it is wearing well.

General Comments:

This really is a very good car. The engine always fires immediately. When the auto is in 'sport' mode it goes like an absolute rocket - 0 to 100 kms in under 10 seconds - that's quick for a 4WD.

The only minor gripe I have is with the suspension - it seems to be a little on the soft side and the car can wallow when going over uneven surfaces. This is probably due to it's American origins. This can be easily fixed by changing the shocks - but the flipside to this is a beautiful ride on highways so I'm not going to change the setup.

The 'fly-by-wire' throttle (no cables) also works very well and as a result of this the cruise control is extremely accurate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2003