Hyundai Elantra Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 3 of 3

2002 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 petrol

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 kilometres
Most recent distance111000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

Very impressed!

Faults:

Fuel leak at 101,000km - replaced under warranty

Front headlights started to fade - replaced under warranty.

Front brakes or suspension loose and noisy - replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

This car is a great mid sized car.

It has all the features I need except cruise, passenger air bag and ABS & traction control.

It looks great with good handling and grip to the road.

Fun to drive, with low costs for running and maintenance.

Quite powerful and smooth for a 4 cylinder.

Enough room to support me, with a great sound system, and the cooling and heating system make you feel quite happy.

Transmission sloppy every now and then.

Overall a wonderful, fun car to drive, that not only looks good, but feels good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2007

2002 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0L petrol

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0L petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 kilometres
Most recent distance107000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

Well worth it! For sure

Faults:

Fuel leak at 101,000km. Replaced under warranty.

Front headlights laminating started to peel. Replaced under warranty.

Side door tape started to peel off. Replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

This car has been great so far.

It handles very well, cornering and traction is great.

Engine performance is excellent for a four cylinder, it responds to my every action immediately.

General ride is very comfortable, smooth and quiet.

Brakes are excellent. No ABS, but they pull me up in a flash.

The car has a real classy look to it.

Interior is good looking and well presented.

6 speaker CD sound system rocks.

Air Conditioning and heating works magic.

Steering feels quite heavy at times.

Great fuel economy. 580km per 55L tank. Avg.

Hyundai has come a long way, and I recommend this car as a great car for all types.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2007

2002 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 petrol

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 kilometres
Most recent distance106500 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

Great small car

Faults:

This car is great all except for one thing; when I accelerate harder and the tacho reaches 3 1/2 to 4, if the windows are down there is a strong smell of fuel throughout the passanger cabin, in the boot and sometimes outside the car. If anybody knows what this is, please let me know, I'm yet to take it to a dealer about this problem. Otherwise the car is great.

General Comments:

I am really happy with this car. It handles really well, and is quiet and smooth driving all round.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2007

6th Dec 2007, 11:20

It is probably the fuel relief valve or the evaporative expansion can. I just had the same problem and both those items were bad. The check engine light was coming on and going off while driving and I smelled gasoline.

2002 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 petrol

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 kilometres
Most recent distance105000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

A Absolute Pleasure To Drive

Faults:

Nothing So Far, Touch Wood.

General Comments:

This car is a dream to drive. I previously had an Excel, even so it was a great car, my Elantra handles beautifully. On the Freeway it is whisper quiet and so smooth I couldn't believe it.

The engine is extremely smooth, with great power for a Hyundai. Hyundai has certainly come along way. Today Hyundai are matching Toyota, Holden and Ford.

The stock sound system is awesome, no need for custom sound.

The interior is great looking with every feature you can think of.

Very comfortable seating on long trips and short trips.

Very Spacious for a small car with a storage area everywhere you look.

A good solid build to the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2007

2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance116000 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu Charade

Summary:

Poor build quality ruins an otherwise good car.

Faults:

CD player jammed at purchase.

CD player jammed again at 60,000 (CD player consequently replaced with aftermarket unit)

Split in fuel pump seal at 70,000.

Split in fuel pump seal at 90,000.

Blown headlight at 90,000.

Clock stopped working at 90,000.

Cracked dash at 90,000.

Power window motor died at 115,000.

Overall paint quality poor.

General Comments:

The original attraction was the size and the number of features compared to similar priced vehicles.

To me it seems clear that Hyundai have reached this level of affordability by using very poor quality components.

The car drives well and is quite comfortable, but the number of minor faults that require trips to the dealer is ridiculous.

I would seriously caution anyone considering purchasing one of these without a warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st December, 2005

2004 Hyundai Elantra XD MY04 2.0L 16v

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0L 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2 kilometres
Most recent distance15000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Zero image, but good value

Faults:

Drivers seat a bit loose - yet to be seen to.

Paintwork has blistered and flaked off in places on all the flat panels; the bonnet, boot lid and roof. After a little fight, Hyundai Australia are now repainting the above mentioned panels, not under the 5 year warranty, but as a "good will" gesture...

Other than that, its been an OK set of budget wheels!

General Comments:

Cheap car, for same price as a Jazz, less than a Fiesta, and much much less than similar sized Golfs and Focus', a load of kit for the money.

I got the windows tinted so no one can see me driving it, I'm the only other male under 55 I've seen in one ;-)

Seriously, so far, apart from the paint issues, its been a good experience.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st February, 2005

8th Apr 2005, 09:14

Why would you buy a car you don't want to be seen in? by the sounds of things you would have been better off with a BMW wagon or something... you know, wouldn't want to destroy your image.

I own a Hyundai Elantra Elite, and it's an excellent car. and I'm only 17 and choose to buy this as my first car because I loved it.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 13 reviews