2000 Isuzu Wizard 3.0 turbo 4JX1

Summary:

Good car, badly built engine

Faults:

Injector pump failed.

Oil pressure problems.

Starter motor failure.

Water leakage.

Intermittent ABS warnings.

Final straw; cracked cylinder head.

The vehicle was nice to drive, powerful, quiet, and economic on fuel

It towed very well, though was very slow and hard to start.

4JX1 engine is a failure.

Wrote the vehicle off as it is too expensive to fix, and who wants the trouble?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2012

2001 Isuzu Wizard 3.0 4JX1

Summary:

Rubbish

Faults:

The biggest piece of rubbish I've ever owned!

Hard starting, glow plugs snapped off in the head. Expensive to repair...

Injector seals leaked, replaced injectors and sleeves.

Oil pressure sensor leaks, damaging injector harness.

Oil pick up o-rings failed, sucking air.

Using the correct oil, the vehicle still has the same problem...

Gearbox changes gear randomly.

Elect suspension failed, massively expensive to replace.

TOD failed, no-one can sort the fault out, engages TOD when driving up a slope, causes a banging in the transfer case.

Alternator failed.

Wipers stopped, was the body module $$$$$.

General Comments:

Never buy one, unless you want to waste lots and lots of time and money.

I would never buy another Isuzu because of this vehicle; these failures are not acceptable with the normal standard of Japanese engineering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th November, 2010

1999 Isuzu Wizard 3 litre turbo diesel

Summary:

Good value 4WD

Faults:

After about 10,000ks, the engine refused to respond to the accelerator. After much back a forth to servicing, the agents 2nd upgrade to injectors was done at my cost.

Since then one rear wheel seal kit. Regular oil and filter changes, but otherwise only service.

Eleven litres per hundred Ks normal average fuel consumption. Can be less than 10 on long runs lightly loaded.

General Comments:

Wizard is used as a hack to tow boat trailer, 1.5 ton, and as a general run about

Still have my V8 Soarer after 11 years, great engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2007

14th Oct 2014, 03:34

I'd like to add to my previous review from back in '07.

Had to have a rebuilt ABS module; that cost about $1200.00 plus about $600 to finally get the problem diagnosed. That was in 2010.

Body is fine, no rust. Went to Kaitia & returned from Auckland in June. Purchased in 2002, first N.Z owner, 73,000km. Had to pay for the injector upgrade soon after, so I missed out on the factory recall later.

It's now done 230,000km, just tyres and the usual oil & filter changes.

1998 Isuzu Wizard 3.0 turbp diesel

Summary:

Good family car

Faults:

Have had the injector recall done 4JX1 motor. Also had to have the oil sensor and wiring harness replaced (oil rail pressure sensor leaking oil into wiring harness)

Water pump replaced 81,000 ks.

Currently have a problem with vehicle just cutting out, immediatly (not a fuel problem, oil pressure to injector rail all OK) it will restart straight away then run and then cut out. Tech 2 computer says no trouble codes.

Any others had this problem? Would be interested in feed back to help fix problem.

General Comments:

Has been a great family wagon apart from above.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th March, 2006

11th Jul 2006, 22:17

When was the motor recall for the injectors?

9th Jun 2008, 03:19

Have just encountered the same problem; fixed by tightening the earth cable from the computer to the gear box.

26th May 2009, 20:58

Same work done as above, my problem is when the vehicle stands for 3 to 4 hours, it will start and idle OK, but there is no throttle response for about 20 seconds after putting into drive. The vehicle has been back to the agents six times without any improvement.

2000 Isuzu Wizard LS 3.0 turbo diesel

Summary:

An excellent all rounder for on and off-road

Faults:

Absolutely nothing. No problems so far.

General Comments:

This is the 2nd Wizard I've owned. The first gave me no problems in 4 years, and I'm confident this one will be the same.

The 3.0 litre 4JX1 motor has been the subject of recalls to do with the injector seals. Just make sure you buy one that has been recalled, or was made after the problem was rectified. In any case, they MUST have 5-30W or 5-40W oil in the engine, to prevent injector problems.

This truck has a good tough interior that stands up to dirt and mud well. The surfaces are easy clean plastic that doesn't mind muddy boots.

The rear seats can fold flat giving heaps of carrying space.

The engine is rated at 118KW (160HP), and performs very well. Keeps up with nearly everything else in normal driving. Economy is not too bad for a heavy vehicle, about 11 litres/100km around town. (26 mpg) Maybe 9 or 10 litres/100km on the highway (30 mpg).

Off road it's almost unstoppable. Haven't driven it in snow or ice yet, but everything else, and it just goes!

I have done several trips in this truck of over 800km in one day, and arrived feeling fine. The ride is fairly firm, of course, but perfectly acceptable.

I'd recommend one of these to anyone who wants a good reliable tough 4 x 4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2005

28th Jul 2006, 22:10

I agree. My Wizard is a beaut. Much more grunt than the Surf I had before. Tows the boat (16' fibreglass with camping gear) as though there is nothing on behind. Most noticeable extra performance is towing up the Kaimais or Bombay hills etc.

15th Jul 2007, 04:55

My 2000 Model Wizard has now covered 60,000 kms, and is proving to be a reliable, comfortable and strong vehicle.

I have previously owned "Surfs" and "Hi-Luxes", and find the Wizard has more power and stability. It also has more leg-room in both the front and rear - great for taller people! It tows my 16 foot jet-boat easily.

When first purchased, I experienced starting problems, but this was cured with an oil and filter change, including the by-pass filter, fuel and air filters (- all genuine Isuzu filters and not cheap!) I have changed to Castrol Magnatec 10W-30 oil, which seems to be O.K. and change the oil and main filter every 5,000kms. (Others at 20,000 kms). I'd appreciate reading what oil others use / recommend.

1999 Isuzu Wizard Aero 3.0 turbo diesel

Summary:

Terrific car flawed by unnecessary quality issues

Faults:

Shock absorbers.

ABS acts strangely over bumps.

General Comments:

This car is Japanese domestic version of Opel/Vauxhall/Holden Frontera with 4JX1 (BigHorn) engine.

Excellent engine (which does however have long-term reliabilty issues, the subject of a factory recall) which propels the car very nicely for a diesel. It is surprisingly "clattery" for a modern diesel.

Build quality is disappointing with rattles and squeaks abounding, worsening since purchase due to poor local roads.

Comfort: the Tata was streets ahead for knee room and seats as well as general on-road poise.

Dust sealing seems poor.

Quite economical.

Switch gear is poor quality, badly placed and really old-fashioned.

Nice styling, especially in the rare "Aero" form like mine, although under the cute exterior it's somewhat primitive.

Despite negative comments, a fun car to drive, with a gutsy and relaxed engine, which when combined with an automatic gearbox, makes for a much less frenetic driving experience compared to the Tata. Pity Isuzu couldn't talk to Tata about the seats!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2004