2003 Jaguar X-Type Sport 2.5

Summary:

Great presence for a smaller car. Fine interior. Great manual gear box

Faults:

Transfer case case at 80,000.

Engine at 70,000.

General Comments:

I really like it, but am a bit annoyed at how much I've spent on it. Having said that, I bought the car second hand and I have a bit of a heavy right foot.

My advice is that it is a cracking car dynamically (take it around some fast bends and it gives fantastic grip), and once the car gets going, the performance is entertaining.

I don't regret the purchase, but will buy a newer one next time, and get an extended warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2010

2007 Jaguar X-Type LE 2.1 V6

Summary:

Never again

Faults:

I purchased a Jaguar X type and the engine malfunction light keeps coming on after filling it with petrol. I have been to a few service centres, and have gotten the car reset and gotten a new catalytic converter, and the warning light still appears after filling it up with petrol.

Jaguars are not very reliable or trustworthy..!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th January, 2008

11th Jan 2008, 10:36

Make sure you tighten the gas cap after a fill up!

11th Jan 2008, 12:40

The next time that the light comes on disconnect the negative lead to the battery and leave it off for several minutes and then reconnect it... The light should be off.

13th Jan 2008, 03:08

Is he/she supposed to do this every time they fill up? What about having to re-set the radio with stations, security code etc and all else that has to be done when the battery is reconnected in a techno car like this? Think I'd rather put up with the light.

I wonder what level the fuel gets to before it turns itself off, I'm assuming it does if it comes back on when filling up.

2005 Jaguar X-Type Luxury 3.0

Summary:

Buy one, don’t be another BMW or Mercedes on the road – trust me, you’ll love it!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car not only looks gorgeous, but drives even better than it looks. You can drive it like a limo with passengers sitting serenely in the back; or drop them off and head to the freeway!

Boy, what a growl the engine gives under throttle - how about the AWD handling and precision steering?! Just be careful when accelerating hard, the gearbox can 'jump' a little (this is the only grumble). The Sat Nav is magnificent, the Connolly leather even better - this car looks good, smells good and drives beautifully - you can thrash it and it responds, or cruise - you choose.

To say this car turn’s heads is an understatement!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2006

2003 Jaguar X-Type 2.1

Summary:

Good looking car that needs more grunt!

Faults:

As with many X-Type owners, my car has a noisy dash-board.

Fan belt pulleys are noisy on cold start.

'Feedback' and vibration in one door speaker.

De-mister vents on top of dash became dislodged and required replacement.

Passenger seat (front) is up so tight against the centre console, it is hard to push the seat back and forth.

General Comments:

The X-Type looks very stylish, but for the price lacks many of the features you would expect as standard.

For example, on the entry model available in Australia, cup-holders and cruise control come as optional extras!

The engine is quite 'peaky' and develops its power at very high revolutions.

The car lacks torque and even slight inclines sees the car 'hunting for lower gears'.

The handling is excellent however for a front wheel drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2004

27th Jul 2004, 19:26

I can see why you bought the X-type having previously owned a Falcon.

It is an attractive car and looks reasonably plush inside.

However, feature for feature, X-types are expensive compared to other competitors in Australia.

If you are considering an X-type, also consider/drive Audi's A4, BMW's 3 series, Lexus' IS range, Mercedes C class and don't forget Subaru's Liberty.

2002 Jaguar X-Type V-6

Summary:

Brilliant to drive and eats the BMWs and Mercedes Benz models

Faults:

No faults.

General Comments:

The X-Type was a pleasure to drive for several thousand kilometres touring Victoria over Christmas with my family.

It was quiet, comfortable, but perhaps more lumber support for front passengers.

The Global Positioning Navigation System (GPS) touch screen is light years or several generations better than the new nav system in the 4.4 litre BMW four wheel drives.

It is perfect for a tourist and I felt helpless when my six year old son turned off the voice commands and I was just left with the excellent map on a screen.

The steering is excellent, given that it is a three litre engine it has oodles of power and leaps forward ever so silently - just like a cat. On country running I averaged 9 litres per 100 kilometres, over 31 miles per gallon and about 10 to 11 litres or 26 to 26 miles per gallon in town.

It is fantastic to park in small spaces and the parking sensors are just wonderful.

The ride and feel of the car was wonderful.

It is one of the few cars in the world where one can comfortably double or triple the recommended cornering speed and still not feel like a racing driver!

I was also very impressed with the large boot that took four large suitcases and a large bag, laptop computer, briefcase and lots of coats.

Even with this load plus a family of four, acceleration was effortless, especially when overtaking.

It was also fun to be pampered with such luxury, unlike the BMW and Mercedes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2002

19th Jan 2002, 11:07

Yeah mate, but the 330i SE, is still much better. It has quicker acceleration and top speed, handles better, its engine is pointing in the proper direction, is rear wheel drive, and in my opinion looks better.

29th Jan 2002, 23:29

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, so comments about appearance are highly subjective. Personally I think the car is the nicest thing on the road in this price range.

As for comparison to the BMW 330i SE, the engine power output is the same. Torque is a little less. I don't know, but I suspect the Jag is a little heavier than the BMW. Anyway, who cares if the BMW gets to 100 kph half a second quicker, it is not a drag strip out there, and if you do stuff it up the very clever Jaguar all wheel drive is going to get you out of trouble quicker.

For my money I'll take the Cat thanks.