Jaguar XJ6 Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 3 of 3

2004 Jaguar XJ6 3.0 petrol

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 kilometres
Most recent distance42000 kilometres
Previous carJaguar S-Type

Summary:

The car is sublime

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The car is quick, handles like a dream.

It has every conceivable extra.

Fabulous touches like the wing mirror tilts when you reverse and puddle lights. How did I live with out puddle lights?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2007

1995 Jaguar XJ6 3.2

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 kilometres
Most recent distance111000 kilometres
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

Beautiful, shame about the electrics

Faults:

Fuel gauge malfunctions at times. Can go from full to empty in 10k's (or the other way round).

ABS warning light comes on for no reason every now and then.

LCD clock has died and gone to heaven.

General Comments:

This cars ride is the best I have ever experienced. On a good road it is amazing. Even on roads which previously resulted in loose fillings in my teeth (admittedly in an MR2), the ride is excellent. Long distance cruising is simply relaxing.

Handling is excellent around long sweeping bends, but can get a little unsettled with rapid changes of direction.

The interior space is not huge, but the leather seats are supportive and comfortable and fully adjustable. No significant wear after over 100,000km.

Feels very solid and well put together for a car over ten years old. No rust and excellent paintwork.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2007

1988 Jaguar XJ6 3.2

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired201134 kilometres
Most recent distance202567 kilometres

Summary:

Luxury at a good price

Faults:

RHS front electric window stopped working.

General Comments:

I got this car according to the bloke who sold to me as a bargain; quite frankly he was right.

This model of Jaguar is surely one of the best. It handles like a race car, and I find it easier to park then a 1999 Toyota Camry which I also drive.

It accelerates pretty effectively, and once it's been going for a while, you can really hear it purr. The drive is very even, and the car obeys everything you say.

The cabin, despite looking much bigger from the outside, is very comfortable and stylish, and looks much newer than an 88 car.

The air con has always worked, as have the other features, besides the Right Hand Side front electric window, which simply does not work.

It also loves petrol, getting up to 15 litres per hundred km's sometimes.

To sum up, when I told people I was going to buy a Jaguar, everything people said was negative, but after owning this car you can really appreciate how highly underrated this model and Jaguar really is.

I recommend this car to everyone who wants something a little bit different.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2007

1985 Jaguar XJ6 4.2 4.2L injected

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.2L injected Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired230000 miles
Most recent distance300500 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Magna

Summary:

Truly a great car

Faults:

Front stub axles and disks needed to be replaced (and of course disk pads and bearings were replaced). The disks had done a lot of miles - fair enough. However, it was a surprise to learn that the stub axles tend to wear under the inner bearing. Seems to be a known weakness. Also one of the hubs wore where the inner bearing seated into it. Again, this seems to be a known weakness.

Electric window switches all failed and needed to be replaced.

The leather seats have deteriorated, and it would cost more than a replacement car to fix them.

Look after the body - they tend to rust.

General Comments:

I love it.

The series III is a truly beautuful old car. They are now very cheap, and if you shop around you'll find plenty with nice bodywork, a good interior and a sound engine and transmission.

However, as noted above, with these old cars, the front suspension components are likely to need a big refit. Shop around for those parts - the dealer parts are frighteningly expensive, but there are enthusiast businesses in Auckland who can supply them at much cheaper prices.

The old jag is a delight to drive. Not a sports car, I guess, with only 200Hp as opposed to the 300's I hear people boasting of for similar-sized, modern cars. However, it still exhibits heaps of comfortable power, and it's a really responsive handler for such a big car (My big old Mitsubishi Magna family car was no comparison, nor is my wife's Corolla).

I'm now torn. This car's interior is starting to deteriorate. Do I buy another one? I've run mine from age 14-21 years, how would one cope as my everyday car from age 21 to maybe 30? I don't know - but, if I go modern I am really going to miss the style and comfort at a tiny price tag (I paid $3k). Did I mention they are whisper quiet?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2006

19th Nov 2006, 10:36

I am also a Jaguar lover. I purchased my first 87 Jaguar in May of 1988. It was Alpine Green with the Alabaster (white) leather seats. I had about 120,000 miles on it before I bought my second one in August 1999. Same color, same year, lighter color interior. I now have 106,000 on it. I only drive about 3500 miles a year; husband won't let me take it out of town (smile). He wants me to start looking for another car, but quite frankly, I haven't seen a car that even comes close to the 87 Jags looks and styling. Maintenance is an issue, but over the years, it is still cheaper than a new car payment. As long as I can get parts, I want to keep the car. I'd love to redo the dash, the wood trim is cracking badly, but don't know where to go. Would also like to get the seats reupholstered; that might be cheaper than buying new seats.

Any thoughts?

15th Dec 2006, 22:55

World upholstery has seat covers.

26th Dec 2008, 05:22

Keep the beauty - you'll regret selling it later on down the road. Even if it 10 years down the road.

1984 Jaguar XJ6 Sovereign 4.2 petrol

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.2 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Underpriced luxury car with great manners

Faults:

Air conditioning failed and had to be replaced (reasonable cost reconditioned)

Rear drivers side window does not work.

Electric aerial has intermittent fault.

Speedometer stops working for a few seconds now and then.

General Comments:

A real pleasure to own, this car is the subject of interest wherever I go.

Great power delivery, smooth as silk.

Handling is remarkable for a car this big.

Nothing but comfort and luxury inside, the climate control is a bonus in this country.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2002

15th Apr 2005, 02:55

I have exactly the same problems with my 1984 Jaguar XJ6: Driver-side rear window doesn't work, speedometer only works sometimes and air-conditioning doesn't work. I thought these were just age-related problem, but I've read another review somewhere with the same problems. Defaults of that year model? My Jag has no other problems.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 9 reviews