Kia Sorento Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 2 of 2

2005 Kia Sorento EX 3.5 V6

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance1760 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Excellent vehicle

Faults:

The Sorento is a wonderful vehicle.

It handles very well on and off road. The interior is dynamic, prestigious looks and comfortable seating.

General Comments:

I absolutely love the vehicle and I would certainly buy another Sorento for sure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2005

22nd Oct 2006, 21:13

The Kia Brand has no street cred and they make rubbish cars like the Rio and the Optima (ready for scrap heap as soon as they come off production line). It baffles me that anyone would buy a Sorento (which has poor ride, is heavy and thirsty) when you can buy a Suzuki Grand Vitara (which is a great car) for the same price. cheers.

5th Nov 2006, 21:32

I don't agree.

I test drove both before deciding on the Sorento.

I found the Sorento to have a more solid feel when driving.

For Quality I found both to have the same interior finish, but the exterior finish on the Sorento I thought to be superior.

Bang for buck you get a lot more on the Sorento. Mine came with leather seats.

Reputations change. What was bad 10 years ago might not be bad now. I don't care if people laugh when I say I got a KIA. I remember the same thing when I bought a Skoda Octavia. Best car I ever owned.

If I remember rightly Suzuki was a bit of a joke until time and good cars removed the stigma.

I notice KIA is beginning to pick up some customer satisfaction awards. This will probably mean a price hike. Time to find another 'underestimated' car brand?

2005 Kia Sorento EX luxury 3.5 litre petrol

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5 litre petrol Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Acclaim

Summary:

It is a seriously good car

Faults:

Nil.

General Comments:

The Sorento has exceeded every expectation I had. I have never owned a 4 wheel drive before and so I test drove a Mazda Tribute V6, Mitsubishi Outlander, Hyundai Santa Fe and Nissan Xtrail. I found that the Sorento surpassed all of the other vehicles in all of my key areas, size, power, features and value for money. Like most Australians, I had previously owned large 6 cylinder cars and the Sorento came closest in size and features. So far it has been an absolute pleasure to own and drive. It is so comfortable and quiet that it is like driving a normal passenger car. The only difference is that it has seriously good off road capabilities. All of my friends agree that it looks great. This car is a winner!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2005

2nd Sep 2005, 04:42

There is a 5 year Manufacturers Warranty, not too shabby!!

31st Oct 2005, 14:56

Even a wheel barrow has a warranty and it's no doubt much more reliable.

5th Jan 2006, 08:01

Got my Kia Sorento new in August 2003, 73000km done, nothing has gone wrong. Been to the African bush on bad dirt roads numerous trips; no creaks nor cracks on the car.

That proves it...

Ingo Steinhage

Cape Town

South Africa.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 7 reviews